This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Herts

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Namibia Sept 2017

Namibia between 21 Sep 2017 and 5 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our expectations of the trip were either met or exceeded, It is a great country to visit still largely unspoilt, and I hope that it remains so. The scenery and the wildlife are stunning. Having seem some of the other modes of visiting the country I think that self drive is best even the sand and gravel roads are an interesting way to get about (including the C35 and D854 !!) and it is good to drive on uncongested roads for a change.

The itinerary was well balanced with a mix of accommodation and locations offering different alternatives. We met a mix of visitors from different countries, and Namibia has it own special feel to it reflecting its history and development, and I think this all adds to the holiday experience.

I would just like to say a big thank you to your ground agents Wildlife Safaris particularly the lady at their airport office who was exceedingly helpful and also to their staff on the emergency line who responded to our call on the 28th Sept.

This was a memorable holiday."

Galton House

Galton House

"Excellent stopover after flight to Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"Galton house was very comfortable and provided us with somewhere to relax after our flights.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was of a high standard. The provision of evening meals was very welcome as we had no desire to go out into Windhoek that evening to find somewhere to eat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Very homely and welcoming stay"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"This was a very homely and relaxed place to stop at. On both evenings we sat outside for dinner with our hosts and enjoyed excellent food and company.

We walked one of their trails on our own in the morning and in the afternoon we were taken to Quiver Gorge and walked about half of the way up with a one of the staff. This was not on their list of activities but when we said that we didn't want to do the whole of the trail from the top the owners offered to do this for us. The Quiver trees, Baobabs and other sights in the gorge were stunning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Great views of the Dunes "

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"Stunning location like something out of 'Star Wars' top class site and facilities but still with the personal touch have been to Wilderness Safari sites before and they do have a distinctive feel to them.

Visit to and up Big Daddy was excellent despite the mist as was the desert game drive and sunset. Food very good again and the staff entertained us after with local dances and songs which my wife was encouraged to join in with.

Just a quick point for info re the journey to Kulala the D854 was particularly rough, although they had the graders out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Very good location for Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Cornerstone was very comfortable and accessible, located just off the main road and close to the City Centre.

They provided info on restaurants and other points of interest.

The Museum and the Krystal Gallerie are both well worth a visit,, and although we didn't get to the Tug or Jetty, Kucki's was very good.."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Great sunsets from the hilltop viewpoint"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"The accommodation in huts with outside bathroom facilities need to be experienced along with the views and sunsets from the camp.

Great guide for the visits to see the Desert Elephants and Petroglyphs. The visit to the elephants was particularly memorable and during this we had an opportunity to see the magnificent landscape of Damaraland finishing up with a drive up a dried up riverbed where we saw this magnificent Kudu bull.

Just a quick point the C35 was particularly rough, not just because of our problem on that road, the guide at Kipwe commented on it as well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"The waterhole at the Camp is a must see"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2017
"The site is very different to the other camps/lodges catering for larger numbers of visitors but was well organised and our accomodation was very good.

Its location in the Etosha NP is its major advantage and in particular the waterhole which adjoins the site and is floodlit at night.

This provides an opportunity to see a wide variety of game at close quarters, how they behave and interact with other species."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"A 'colonial' style lodge"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"Had two great game drives from Mushara into the National Park great views of Lions some elusive views of a Black Rhino and finishing with views of a leopard in a tree, stunning, We had a very good guide from the lodge.

The facilities, food and service were of a high standard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Fantastic sunset to end the holiday off with"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"Only time for one game drive but had some close up views of a leopard and a pair of cheetahs followed by sundowners on the crest of the ridge to the west of the lodge. The sunset was magnificient.

The dinner in the evening was particularly good and there was local entertainment and also excellent company with some visitors who we had met up with in Bullsport.

Just one point when we arrived we had been allocated to a leopard drive, rather than the cheetah one. We were not aware of this distinction assuming that all drives were the same. We tried to change this because we wanted to see the cheetahs but this proved to be not possible. As it turned out we saw both on our drive, plus the sunset, but thought we should mention this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team