This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs F & Mr N from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

We loved Namibia!

Namibia between 24 Sep 2017 and 7 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved the country - overall a great experience and would plan to return. Visually incredibly rich, areas with no wifi which was refreshing and a complete change.

Returned full of admiration for the place, it's people and conservation strategy. Would usually travel independently without using an agent but Expert Africa made it very easy and were generally helpful with itinerary planning."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

"Great views"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"Clean hotel, great views as on a hill.

Only negative was that we arrived on Sunday after a long journey and the restaurant is not open on Sunday evenings. Helpful staff dropped us off at a local Portuguese however, so dinner was solved.

Excellent early breakfast before our trip commenced"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Good walking base"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"We only had 1 night here but would have liked 2.

Well ordered farm with a small swimming pool and large lounge area in the farmhouse to si read, drink, wifi etc. The owners were friendly, lovely dinner outside that included zebra and helpful staff.

Several self guided walks and we did one after breakfast before leaving. Horse riding options, even for beginners, that I would try if we returned"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Go to the dunes!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"A long drive to get here...and not great signage from the road. Lovely chalet with option to sleep on the roof which we tried!

One of our more expensive stops, I think but work it for the Soussvlei dune trip early morning-not to be missed.

Good food and wine and generally very relaxing. Pretty hot here in late Sept and we slept in the afternoon"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Organic Square

Organic Square

"Good location for the town"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"The room was smaller than most of our other stops but not a problem as we were out so much!

Helpful staff, tasty breakfast with fresh eggs and juices. It's an easy walk to the excellent Swakomund restaurants and a break from/the heat here....quite different to the rest of Namibia.

We had a great day with Mola Mola at Walvis Bay - seal and pelican cruise with oysters for lunch, then 4x4 trip in Sandwich Harbour dunes - such fun! Dinner at The Tug (best table ever over the Atlantic Ocean) and Ocean Cellar where the grilled seafood was top quality"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Didn't want to leave!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2017
"Incredible place - the happiest, most positive staff we encountered!

Wonderful chalet with outdoor shower and massive bed that we rolled out onto the veranda to sleep under tthe stars. Highlights were the staff singing after dinner, click language spoken by some, desert elephant trip with Reggie as guide ealy morning, views from the lodge. Expensive option but lasting memories - wonderful.

Our mistake- we were a little short of petrol so decided not to drive to the rock paintings, which was a shame but a reason to return"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Bush chalet close to the waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"It's pretty busy here but a great base and the bush chalet option worked well. The waterhole chalets have people walking by 24-7!

Fridge in the chase so worth bringing food or buying basics in the camp shop for lunch. Meals are all buffet style with choices- not the best quality but absolutely fine and it's quite a fun atmosphere in an incredible park.

We went out for 3 separate self drive trips from/the camp - buy a map in the shop and there's no need for anything else."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"More formal style camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"It was good to have non driving options - we did a bush walk and spent time in the excellent hide by a waterhole.

Service is more formal here and I am less comfortable with that but plus points were the enormous chalet and really good food and wine.

Dining area by a waterhole and a swimming pool here so quite relaxing after lots of driving in Etosha"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Good rooms"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"Mixed feeelings here - standard rooms are anything but - really large and quite private chalet with good view.

Could easily have had 2 nights as would have liked to looked at African. It feels quite large with the/assumption that they will tell guest what trips to go on. Having said that, the leopard tracking was superb.

Big negative was this was the ONLY place that would not cater for gluten free - I am coeliac- although it was marked on our booking, we checked on arrival and when we came to dinner. Waitress insisted the filo pastry cup starter was gf - obviously not so could nt eat and no alternative.

Main had a sauce that I chose not to eat, she offered fruit salad for dessert - fine - then turned up with panda cotta and said it was only eggs and cream so would be ok. No confidence at all so did not eat.

It was a shame that it spoilt our last night and they need to train staff"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team