This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs J from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Very interesting tour of Namibia

Namibia between 26 Sep 2017 and 12 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We are very pleased that we did and saw all that we did and truly appreciate the efforts put into its organisation by Josh Flatman and the Expert Africa team.

In retrospect we wish that we had decided either to do less or to take longer because we found the amount of travelling done on gravel roads very tiring. We were generally very pleased with the accommodation organised, all of a very high standard. One thing which would have been helpful would have been precise addresses for the guest houses in the towns. This was given for the first one but I hadn’t checked the others and we did waste some time trying to find the location – but no doubt we could have looked it up on the internet in advance! The only real problem we encountered concerned the pick up of the car on our last afternnon / evening in Windhoek as detailed in our comments. Not the fault of Wilderness Safaris but something to feed back to the hire firm we feel.

We would certainly use Expert Africa again and would recommend your services to friends. Thank you."

Galton House

Galton House

"Lovely stay at Galton House"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"An excellent, very high standard guest house.

The manager and all the staff were delightful, very welcoming and friendly. Everyone seemed to work happily together and the interaction between staff and guests led to a very relaxed,homely atmosphere.

Very spacious room with comfortable beds and all the facilities one might require. We wished that we had been able to stay longer"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"A very pleasant stay at Elegant Guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"A well positioned guest house with pleasant, helpful staff..

Our en suite room was comfortable and contained all the facilities one might expect"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Lovely family atmosphere at Bullsport"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Bullsport.

We particularly enjoyed the family atmosphere where we were greeted by Jonathon and his dad who also joined us for our evening meal.

We didn't take part in any of the organised activities but enjoyed walking along the well sign posted trails around the estate and enjoyed the views as well, as seeing some "plains game" on the way."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"A pleasant coupe of days spent at Hoodia Lodg"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2017
"We were greeted by a very welcome cold drink and chat with Thomas who told us all about the excursions on offer.

The location of the lodge is quite stunning with wonderful views all around it. A good location from which to visit Sossussvlei. We opted not to join the organised excursion, preferring to spend part of one day relaxing at the lodge and walking around the site.

On our second day we went to Sossussvlei where we were so impressed by the different dunes and the amazing variety of colours."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"A most welcoming guest house "

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"We were welcomed by the owner, Jean, who provided us with very helpful information on things to do / see and places to eat in Swakopmund.

The guest house is well positioned for visiting the town since the promenade which goes all the way into town can be accessed within 5 minutes of the house - a very pleasant walk, ideal.

The atmosphere is very homely, our room and bed very comfortable and the service excellent"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Old Traders Lodge

"Pleasant staff and plenty of animals at Erind"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"We were rather surprised at the size of Erindi game reserve - we had expected something much smaller.

That said the lodge was excellent with excellent views of the main watering hole where it was possible to have a drink and watch the animals (mainly hippos) enjoying the water in front of us.

We enjoyed the game drives but had hoped to be able to do more on our own. Again that said, the guide was very good and very informative."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Not long enough at Etosha - park is so big "

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2017
"We felt that we needed more time at Etosha. The reserve is so vast it would certainly be best to spend several days, probably at two different lodges, in order to take full advantage of what it has to offer.

Although initially well signposted from the main road, we found the length of the journey over gravel roads rather off putting since there were no signposts to assure us that we were on the right road! We were also rather put off by the number of administrative procedures to be followed in order to be admitted and the fact that the administrative staff were not at all welcoming or helpful.

Our chalet, however, was comfortable and well positioned for visiting the watering hole from which to view game (mainly a lone elephant and some giraffe) drinking in the evening.

We enjoyed being able to drive ourselves around the reserve"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Wonderful to see cheetahs from so close up"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"This was one of the highlights of our tour.

Our room was excellent, very spacious with all the facilities we might require and a huge window from which to view passing plains game. The cheetah tracking which we did on our first afternoon was both informative and exciting as we walked very close to two resting cheetahs who did not appear to be unduly bothered by our presence.

The following morning we also enjoyed our visit with guide, Matthew, to the rehabilitation centre where we saw cheetah at various stages of rehabilitation and then visited the Africat foundation and learned more about the foundation and its work which was very interesting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"Information provided earlier in the review because we stayed here twice. [Ed: see below]

Generally good but marred the second time by the problem concerning the pick up of the hire car - not at all the fault of the guest house"
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team