This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs T from Reading

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2018 trip

Namibia between 4 Jul 2018 and 22 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip exceeded our expectations and indeed blew them out of that water. This was high bar to set as we had travelled to the Galapagos Islands last year and had the the most amazing adventure.

It is horses for courses but for someone who adores remote raw landscape and tries to get to places relatively untouched by human interference Namibia delivered. We felt so welcomed by all the people we did meet who in most circumstances were going above and beyond their job descriptions and genuinely cared about showing us their country in the best possible light. I hope it remains a difficult country to travel in and the creeping influx of tick box tourists is held at bay.

Were appalled by some of the behaviour we witnessed of folk who clearly didn't appreciate the country for what it is. How difficult it is and how hard people work to provide what we thought were amazing facilities under challenging circumstances."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2018
"Only comment to make is that the safe in the room was not attached to anything which negated its usefulness.

We were there so briefly after our missed flight that I can't really comment on many aspects."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Good
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Stunning introduction to Namibia"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2018
"We were bowled over by the incredible location of this place.
I could have stayed for weeks.
All staff were super friendly and totally on mission to make sure we had the best possible stay.

Only comment I would make is ditch the tea cups and saucers and serve a decent mugful of tea or coffee!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2018
"Absolutely delightful, tremendously warm welcome again with a team who couldn't do enough.

Loved the trip to Sossevlei just disappointed by how many other people were there too.

Would happily have paid to get ahead of the rush and have the dunes to ourselves!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Great seaside location"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2018
"We really enjoyed this as a short break from the camps and great place to catch up with the football !!
Teenage boys enjoyed the beer and burgers.

Breakfast buffet was the best we have EVER had and we are pretty extensively travelled.

Staff in the restaurants were a bit ditzy, not very attentive or switched on!! Only thing which let this place down."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Gobsmacking location"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2018
"The location of this place took our breath away. It was very cleverly located on and around the boulders and we could not believe how utterly glorious it was after we entered the gate and wound our way towards the lodge. Staff team again superb, food delicious and guide brilliant. Only regret was that we only had one night.

The 'lodge' rooms however were least favourite on the whole trip. They were a bit like a static caravan with a tent over the top and under the heavy wind we had during the night rattled extremely noisily. I will never forget my 19 yo sons face as he came back to ours after unpacking and asked if we had a dead zebra on our floor too??"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

"Ozondjou Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2018
"We didn't think it could get better but it did. Stunning location, superb team producing fabulous food in difficult circumstances.

All the staff teams at all the camps were brilliant but we all felt that this welcome was the most genuine, they really cared but without the suck up factor that was evident from the perhaps the Wolwedans team.

Sitting on the wall overlooking the riverbed with the baboons playing below as the setting sun turned the rocks a glowing pink will stay with me for a very long time. The fires that were lit to give us hot water were very clever.

The mad day with Mateus elephant & giraffe tracking and then talking to the miners and the showing us how they did for stones was truly memorable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Interesting!!"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2018
"This place does the job it sets out to do

The cleanliness couldn't be faulted especially with the volume of people passing through but the service at mealtimes was dire. Utterly dire, so bad it was hilarious. We got fed and watered but we spent quite bit of time debating whether the girls serving just didn't give a s**t or were very stupid and we couldn't decide which.

No issues with security and when I did go to report certain items missing from the room inventory when we checked in I got ushered into a side room as I think they thought I was making a big complaint. Deposit given back without a quibble or check the next day.

The waterhole was a joy, we sat and watched the nights coming and going for hours."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2018
"Again utterly fabulous. Everyone was delightful and the rooms heavenly, food super.

The one comment I would make in terms of planning a trip was that for us it was more of the same in terms of getting in truck and going out looking for and seeing zebra, elephant, giraffe etc which sounds a trifle complacent.
However in hindsight I would have not bothered staying here and had 3 nights at Okonjima instead which offered the cats at close range which is totally unique and we didn't have nearly enough time to do properly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2018
"Loved this place but sadly had very little time here, that was determined by our schedule but I wouldn't send people here for less than 2 nights.

I know it was due to availability but would go to bush camp next time as apparently less kids.

Service was a little lackadaisical but they are in to different market with a lot more people being processed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team