This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr K from Maidstone

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Apr 2018 trip

Namibia between 18 Apr 2018 and 4 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have described it to others as 'a total experience' as distinct from purely a 'holiday'. We knew we were on a long distance trip and apart from thorough 'African massage' therapy on the roads, we were always alert to our surroundings, and often rewarded, on our drives. The choice of accommodations was varied and fitted well your conservation/ecology driven underlying principle.

Interestingly many we spoke to did the same tour only clockwise, but we felt the reverse suited us better. Also, when we questioned some of the directions we were given we found they worked well when reversed!

Whilst we missed out on elephants and did not take every activity going, we had a well-balanced tour on which we had choices as to how to spend our time, and enjoyed taking ourselves on one or two adventures. The guides we had were without exception professional, informative, knowledgeable and thoughtful.

Thank you"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2018
"Well-sited and secure. Service excellent and rooms well-equipped if functional in design - never seen a concrete bath before!

We added dinner to our B&B on each stay here and all meals were excellent, with breakfasts having a 'worldwide' choice. Lots of really nice special touches - the breakfast menu has an outline of main features of Windhoek as well as mini map, after dinner a complementary mini carafe of port and a couple of chocolates - nice small touches.

Staff extremely friendly, efficient and informative"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp"

1 night Arrived 20 Apr 2018
"Major plus at beginning of our tour as 'notched up' leopard, cheetah, rhino for a start. Accommodation in View Room superb and ambience welcoming and efficient.

Restaurant meals very good and overall public area decor very clever and informative too. Our game drive activity topped it all as we were the only two with our driver/guide (Matthew) who was determined to locate the leopard, which he did and was the only one that afternoon to achieve that. We were out for probably a good hour beyond the norm and squeaked back in time for dinner, amazing.

This Camp now boasts a large pool in a landscaped area not mentioned in your itinerary. Also the photo in the itinerary does not do justice to this location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 21 Apr 2018
"One night only so took opportunity to relax, swim and watch the waterhole.

Excellent dinner and breakfast and good service and facilities"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2018
"A complete change of attitude so that the odd friendly smile and conversation was the exception rather than the rule.

We paid our N$500 deposit, but there was no inventory to check (nor was there a physical check at any time) and equipment in the chalet was basic - nothing not 'fixed'. There are two pools, one more like a pond with growth and the other not clear.

The food was very 'school dinner' self-service and reminders to re-stock needed, quality was way down on the two previous stops. Breakfast for the later guests on our first morning (us at around 7.30 only) was virtually without choice. A disappointment in that respect.

The waterhole was sadly bereft of wildlife but an enjoyable 'sundowner' setting watching weaver birds."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Apr 2018
"Visible from miles away, the views when in the Camp lived up to expectations.

Neither the book, nor our itinerary warned us that driving up is a not really an option, and everyone takes the shuttle. This needs to be pointed out in your itinerary. The chalets and facilities are very good - tented bar and restaurants appropriate - but there is an element of fitness required to get between chalets and these facilities. Paths long and at up to 20% incline in places - of maybe it just felt like it!

No-one asked for a deposit although there was an inventory! Staff extremely welcoming and helpful as we needed to plan for a tyre replacement (previous day's puncture plus, by adhering to 'do not get out of your vehicle', needed to drive on it for a while before able to stop) and assistance given with telephone as no mobile signal available.

Meals excellent and delightfully served, pool not used, but beautifully maintained and welcoming."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2018
"Shuttle from base works well (and staff even cleaned the car before we left!). Truly ecological site and staff proud of their record on this. Lack of electric sockets in chalets, which look like Hobbit houses from a distance, was a little disconcerting but we were forewarned.

The Lodge now has an infinity pool, which was not advised to us, requiring a return to the base for swimwear! The views were, as promised, spectacular. We opted for the sundowner drive rather than the elephant tracking, possibly we should have gone for both as elephant were located given the skills of the guides.

First dinner was rather mediocre and no choices, but ambiance delightful and staff without exception friendly and helpful (some obviously still in training but that was good to see). Sundowner was a true bonus as we and our four French companions watched a pride of lions for a good 45 minutes (they were spotted by an eagle-eyed fellow tourist), by which time the message had gone back to base and the entire population of the Lodge turned out to see them. A very good second dinner and some staff entertainment to round it off.

Guide Moses was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2018
"The main building on approach looks rather like the Alamo, defended on top of the hill. The open air setting is very well designed for maximum viewing and each chalet has utmost privacy.

To be greeted by a staff choir was a little disconcerting (they are called up every time someone arrives) and the level of bureaucracy and waiver signatures needed seemed a little excessive (and was repeated at Kulala in exactly the same wording).

Obviously a regular feature, the evening meal was a 'secret' and a trek by torchlight for a few hundred yards to a fully equipped BBQ, a bar and a long table for everyone, encouraging conversation (as it did) and fully staffed service - excellent and utterly efficient. Other meals were also very good and pleasantly served.

The pool again well used and well-sited. Very relaxing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2018
"Full and fulsome report entered on TripAdvisor so not re-written here. Lovely people, great service and breakfasts and location perfect for walking into town. Now advised our review has been published"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2018
"Another amazing setting in the dune corridor. The recently extended deck for meals is a delightful feature as unlit except for table lanterns and the remainder of the internal decor is very attractive.

Accommodation well appointed save for coffee and tea provided, but no kettle! Did not avail ourselves of the rooftop sleeping option - ladder a little tricky if needing a mid-night visit! Excellent pool.

Activities on offer early morning dune excursion (which we took) and hot air balloon rides (three operational). Our guide, Castro, was exceptional - knowledgeable and thoughtful to the extent we had some hangers on at some points! Meals again very good and service relaxed and friendly (see note re paperwork on Doro Nawas)

This Lodge now has wifi but of a fairly intermittent variety"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove Guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2018
"See previous entry at start of our tour. [Ed: See below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team