This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by M B &C from S Cheshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Amazing Southern Africa experience

Namibia between 16 Sep 2018 and 28 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Awesome- we were able to feel relaxed because our trip proved to be so well planned with very dependable accommodation and other suppliers - from our greeting by EA's agents at Windhoek airport to the end. The quality of customer service - apart from airport staff / waits at Windhoek and VFA - was outstanding and reached a level unusually good in our experience at Safarikoek

We needed triple accommodation which was not easy to source but in hindsight if available would have gone to Safarihoek last in Namibia, it seemed later accommodation though very good was not quite as special.

Guiding was exceptional and we were able to enjoy not only wildlife but a sense of Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

2 general comments: you may be a bit over generous , in common with other writers , about Namibia's gravel roads and those within Etosha. While much better than sand roads in Botswana, some of those we had to use to reach accommodation were badly corrugated or pot holed and we felt descriptions were a touch over positive.

Other review sites mention airports: we found immigration delays at Windhoek and VFA to be a bad as anywhere in the world and check in at VFA was also a challenge. We may have had bad luck but if not you may want to think about alerting customers. However we didn't follow your advice on checking luggage to JNB then rechecking: in our experience there were no problems at all in checking through to Windhoek from LHR and from VFA to LHR.
But these niggles aside_ it was amazing and your choice of providers very well considered.

And we saw 5 black rhinos....."

Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Restful stay at Hilltop"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"Very comfortable guest house, attentive staff who weren't intrusive, wonderful views but when we went a little cool for the pool.

Breakfast was excellent and very filling.

Amazing views from the balcony."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima cat safari"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"We went with some apprehension after reading other reviews but we found Okinjima and its staff very warm and engaging. We arrived in time for lunch and were able to arrange salad and sandwiches rather than the set 2 course lunch - which after our generous breakfast at the previous accommodation was just as well. The leopard tracking was well orgainsed and we were able to see 2, one hiding under a bush but another very happy to pose for cameras in the twilight. On our return to camp we also came across a cheetah (which the guide no doubt had the experience to locate without radio tracking). Pleasant sundowners.

We found the accommodation in a standard room fine with amazing views over the savannah, clean and comfortable. Meals were good and service was personable - I didn't recognize comments from others about impersonal service despite the turnover of guests"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Safarihoek was fabulous"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"Safarihoek was outstanding in our view not only because of the quality of the accommodation but also the assured and confident approach of the staff.

Our room was well equipped and maintained, a very comfortable haven at the end of the day with high quality soft furnishings and a fabulous view over the plains and waterhole which saw lots of animal activity. The reception / restaurant / bar / pool area was spacious airy and cool. We enjoyed excellent game drives in the private reserve with Graven our guide and were able to see rhinos as well less elusive animals and finish evening drives with a sundowner in the bush, something we had not experienced on previous trips. Engagement with staff at the resort was a highlight: service was efficient and friendly without being too formal or unprofessional. It seemed management had worked to create an environment where staff had respect for themselves and also for guests.

The pool was fun but in late September a little chilly. We didn't use the hide but other guests were very positive.

Access is a long gravel road from the main , tarred C38 to Etosha NP. The lodge describe it as a good road but it took some getting used to however we arrived and left without drama.

Overall, very comfortable, amazing wildlife and the best customer care we experienced on this trip (and others) - but that is not a criticism of the other lodges"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Etosha Aoba comfort"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"We found the accommodation perfect for the 3 of us in a family suite. The suite was well maintained and furnished, air conditioning effective on a very warm day.

We enjoyed dinner in a boma with other guests from a set menu with traditional singing from staff at the end of the meal. Although checking out next day because of availability we were able to take a morning game drive in Etosha NP which was very well guided. Expert Africa note that many guests self drive in the Park which we also did but a guide offered insights and less familiar views, like a family of cheetahs, which we would probably not have experienced on our own.

Our initial reception was a little brusque but later staff contact was fine; after our game drive we were able to enjoy the setting and lunch with almost nobody else around and felt - and were - in a comfortable location very much in the bush"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"Book early. We traveled as a party of 3 and were unable to get a triple room so ended with 2 rooms on this night.

Bush camp is absolutely fine and we found the bar restaurant area overlooking the waterhole a very pleasant place to enjoy the end of the day, Rooms were well maintained but without minibars / fridges and quite compact. Service was good.

Access to the Onguma site is on a gravel road we though could do with some maintenance.

It was fun to see wildlife at the waterhole adjacent to the camp."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"Second stay as we found the first.

Staff arranged a taxi to our chosen restaurant after a long drive here from Etosha. Everything worked absolutely fine"
Good
Image alt

The Residence, Johannesburg

"Excellent tranquility at The Residence"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"We asked for an alternative to an airport hotel for an overnight in Jo'burg and were offered The Residence which we found to be a haven of tranquility in an upmarket suburb about 15 minutes from the airport. We found some of the most luxurious accommodation, excellent service and good food as well as the only heated pool of our journey.

In our view, quite outstanding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Bayete Guest Lodge, Victoria Falls

"Bayete guest house"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"In contrast to our Namibia accommodation Bayete was a little more rustic and down to earth however had all the amenities we needed and we came to really appreciate the tranquil garden setting.

Access to the town and Falls by taxi was very quickly arranged and took very little travelling time. We booked a day safari to Chobe NP in neighbouring Botswana which we enjoyed a great deal.

Service was good with a welcoming bar and evening meals we did not - despite other reviews - need to prebook."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team