This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs T from Twickenham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Mar 2019 trip

Namibia between 13 Mar 2019 and 2 Apr 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Tom Morris has provided us with an excellent service throughout, from the initial discussions about Namibia, your knowledge of the country and helping us to think through the route, to our lodge selection, tour advice, do’s/dont’s before traveling, itinerary plans/maps etc, and finally dealing with the car issues (needed new tyres), so thank you again!

A truly first rate service!"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 13 Mar 2019
"Our view: 7/10. Room good. Food good, small pool, no view, good service. In the middle of town, and a perfect ‘one night’ stop over option. Friendly and helpful staff."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2019
"Our view: 8/10. Very nice lodges, good setting, lovely and quiet (only 8 guests!), very nice staff, especially Henry, the manager, and good food. Not enough animals to see when on the drive, but to be fair they call themselves a ‘farm’. Two nights were the right amount of time for us."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2019
"Our view: 9/10. Amazing location and view over the canyon from our vantage point on the edge of the escarpment. Rooms are good size, functionality laid out with ‘basic’ luxury to them. No a/c due to Eco label. A tricky place to get to! Took us 2 hours to travel 100 klm over wide gravel road which became a single track challenge!
Good breakfast and food, nice staff, pool to cool off in. Poor WiFi and only at reception."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2019
"Our view: 7-8/10. Amazing cabin in the middle of nowhere. Our cabin had an amazing view, spacious enough, basic but well appointed. Bathroom is small, lighting a bit dim and...no a/c or hairdryer!! Good food at the main lodge, but don’t need 5 courses. Being 7klm/15 mins away is a bit of a pain, but the price of isolation. Average WiFi but only at reception."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert Homestead Outpost

"Desert Homestead Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2019
"Our view: 9/10. A wonderfully isolated place overlooking an enormous plain with large hills behind. An interesting ‘sundowner’ platform but a steep path to get to it and very windy at the top. Very good room, a good size, modern, well appointed. Dim lighting in room. Pool area was very nice and food very good. Service was very good. Good WiFi but only at reception. Bed too hard. Best so far, and there was only us and another couple staying! We were there in March."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2019
"Our view: 7-8/10. very good B&B. House is 1903 and renovated about 15 years ago. A comfortable guest house and reasonably priced. We stayed in the Lord Nelson room, en-suite with separate sitting room. Reasonably well appointed, very good WiFi. the room had a TV! Good location only 10 mins walk to seafront. Breakfast was fine, nice staff. Bed was very firm, too hard."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2019
"Our view: 9/10. Best so far. We had a standard room (which was very good) with superior view, which was almost facing due west and a lovely view. Beds were comfortable. Public areas, pool, were all very high standard and great service. Very good food and a wonderful sun-downer viewing point on the rock overlooking the Ochre valley where drinks are served as we watch the sun set. Shower was poor due to blocked shower head, we had to complain but this was resolved quickly. Lodge is well located to see a number of local sites. Also a black mark as there was no WiFi! And no laundry service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2019
"Overall 8-9/10. Lovely setting and great view from the main area. Good room, well laid out, well appointed, but no view of the savannah. Service was very good across the piece and we had an enjoyable ‘sun-downer’ safari, but quite pricey at 830R per person. Had a great ‘hide’ down by the water hole from which to view the animals. Food was good and definitely good enough, but not excellent. Wine was included with meals which was a nice surprise! WiFi worked well in the room but had broken down in the main area, but was fixed the day we left. Good staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2019
"Our view: overall 8/10. Good layout of only 4 cabins on 10 foot stilts, and it was basically ‘deluxe’ camping with a great view of a large water hole. No pool, average WiFi. Very good service, there was a chef who cooked the meals for us in a kitchen in front of us. We had a very good safari guide even though we saw very little on the evening we went out with him - but then that's the nature of safari sometimes.
The breakfast was very good but dinner was a bit boring, and we were offered Oryx on two consecutive nights - so we had fish instead. Food was mid-European! Why nothing Namibian, and this is a general comment for all the lodges - it’s all been a variation of ‘meat and two vegetables!’ Why haven’t they done some BBQs?
Because of the small size of Treetops (with only 4 rooms) guests generally ate together (for dinner and breakfast), which if there's a language barrier (as we found with some German guests) the meal can be a little 'strained' at times. we could have insisted we ate separately that could have been a bit rude."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2019
"Our view: overall 9/10.
we were in room V9, which had a good view of the bush but with limited wildlife. The room was very good - big, modern, quiet, well appointed with a minimalist feel - probably due to the polished concrete floors throughout. Everything worked well. Good WiFi in room (and main reception area). No air conditioning in the room but ceiling fans were quiet and effective. Small criticism; the towels were poor -too thin to do the job properly, and we put that on the feedback form when we were checking out.

Main reception was an enormous converted hangar (ex farm building) with modern and a slightly ‘university’ feel due the large open plan. It also had a very nice pool and sunbathing area.

Food was very good, fixed menu but no choice of main meal, which is a bit disappointing. Very friendly staff.

A massive reserve and we did one 'evening drive' to see leopards, and we were successful!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team