This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by chris from France

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

2

Namibia - August 2021 with 3 teenage kids.

Namibia between 2 Aug 2021 and 23 Aug 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"It's hard to know where to start. Perfect, amazing, unforgettable.

The personalised advice on the itinerary, accommodation, and activities great from Sabina our local advisor with a true passion for Namibia. Then COVID-19 hit and Sabina was understanding, flexible and made endless changes always with a smile and a laugh. Ultimately it was due to her reactivity, solution orientated approach and ability to adapt and make changes at short notice that we were able to spend an amazing and unforgettable family holiday in an amazing country, indeed were privileged to regularly feel like we had Namibia to ourselves. We were alone on Dune 45 for a good hour.

Sabina was available to reply to all our questions however minor and even helped us with an NEW reservation that we had made directly with the park, she really couldn't do enough to make our holiday amazing.

What a country, we were intimate with wild elephants, lions and a leopard.

For me Expert Africa is the only place to go for a holiday in Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I really struggle to suggest any improvements. The trip was amazing, the service from Sabina and then Chris when COVID made things really complicated was faultless/first class.

The reception at Windhoek from the folk at Wilderness Safaris was a great start to the trip but there is nowhere to rate it on the feedback forms."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"BullsPort Lodge & Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2021
"The welcome at the lodge was rather impersonal. The introduction was limited to a brief explanation of the bar facilities, being provided with the keys to our rooms and told that dinner was at 7pm.

We had been expecting to eat with other guests but this was not possible due to COVID restrictions. While this is understandable we were left to feel excluded as the hosts spent almost the entire time with their German speaking guests.

The hosts were very apologetic following a breakdown of the hot water supply to our rooms but this did result in us having to move both parent and children to other rooms.

Our guide to and the walking excursion the gorge were excellent.

The visit behind the scenes of the farm was good.

Overall and in hindsight we would skip Bullsport and drive the extra distance to Naukluft"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2021
"We really enjoyed the stay at Kulala, from the welcome before we had even set foot in the lodge, to the pampering of the children. Indeed the service was as good as we experienced throughout our holiday.

We were priviliged to be alone on Dune 45 and our guide (Mathew) also took us to Deadvlei and Sossusvlei."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Delight

The Delight

"The Delight review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2021
"There was a mistake with the reservation at the delight which led to us being separated by two flights of stairs from our childrens room. We had to move rooms on day 2.

The rooms were large, modern and clean.

The first room (number 37) was very noisy at night due the adjacent laundry which operated throughout the night.

Service was mixed and ranged from friendly and helpful to rude and apathetic (particularly on the Sunday).

Expert Africa offered to move the reservation to an alternative hotel which in hindsight we should have accepted despite being tired after the journey.

Breakfast was good"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals review"

8 Aug 2021 • Morning excursion

The visit was good, Kevin and Graham were friendly and attentive.

We would have rated the activity as excellent but we felt that we could have spent a little longer in the kayaks.
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

9 Aug 2021 • All-day excursion

We really enjoyed the excursion to Sandwich Harbour. Leon was a really good guide, attentive to the children and we were reassured by his experience. He involved the children in his description of the wildlife and plants in the National park. The dune driving was great too.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2021
"Doro Nawas was amazing. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived and after two days we really didn't want to leave. By chance we were the only guests and we were totally pampered by the staff throughout.

Our guide was Gerarldo who was the best guide during our holiday. He took the time to ask the whole family about their expectations at dinner and went on to exceed them throughout our stay. The elephant tracking excursion was superb a day that the family will never forget and was one of the highlights of the holiday.

All of the staff sang a welcome and goodbye song."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2021
"The service at Mushara was memorable. We were made to feel truly welcome by all of the staff who were amazing with the children. In particular Victoria was really friendly. We didn't take all of the children into Etosha each day and those that stayed at Mushara were pampered by the staff with activities and attention.

It's just a shame the family unit was way too cramped for a family of five despite the best efforts of the staff.

Mushara's close proximity to Etosha was a real plus, the animal sightings were all at Etosha over six days."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2021
"The accommodation at Okonjima was amazing. The "view rooms" were enormous and luxurious.

The staff were great, the food excellent and the leopard tracking really great. Our guide was Denis who took us to a leopard who had just killed a Baboon. Then on our return he took us to a female leopard.

The visit to the Africat foundation was educational and insightful on the conflict with farmers and wild predators.

We enjoyed watching the two Lions, which although captive/rescued were in such close proximity.

We regret not staying longer at Okonjima."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Omaanda

Omaanda

"Omaanda review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2021
"Omaanda was a great climax to the holiday. The family unit was truly luxurious and enabled us to unwind and relax before the flight home. We didn't go on any excursions but just enjoyed the spa facilities, location, views, pool and food.

It was the only lodge that had both a baths and showers. The view of the bush from the baths was a treat and the walk-in wardrobe a delight after 3 weeks living out of a bag.

Although we didn't see them, we heard striped hyena's cry throughout the first night whilst we were tucked up in warm in bed with fires lit in the fireplaces.

The staff tried very hard with the service though it fell a little short of the excellent service we experienced at certain other locations.

The breakfast was really nice with a large variety of choice on the menu.

We wish that we'd spent an extra day at Omaanda"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team