This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 11-20 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"We really enjoyed staying here.

It was obviously of some concern to the staff though that no photographs which showed animals in enclosures were taken. We're not sure why if everything was as above-board as it appeared to be!
" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

6 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
Cambridge

"Wow. Wow. Wow."

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2019
"This camp is Luxury from start to finish. I am pleased we stayed here on our last 2 nights, or it would have been all downhill from here on.

The rooms are fantastic, with a panoramic view while you are laid in bed of the wildlife area. Ours was a standard room, so I have no idea what the people got extra for their extra money. The bathroom is huge and you are provided with everything that you need. The food was excellent, Well Presented by friendly and attentive waiters.

This is well worth the 25 km from the main road to get here.

We went on 2 organised game drives, one that included a sundowner and one the following day, when we saw the Leopard." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Quite an experience at Okonjima Plains Camp"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2019
"Africat Foundation's Okonjima Plains Camp is a remarkable place. Our individual "standard" camp chalets were extremely large and very deluxe, with a huge well equipped bathroom. The chalet overlooks the concession area where we saw the occasional animal. A large open lounge and dining area in the main lodge is artistically designed and has an adjoining well stocked gift shop.
The main attractions at Okonjima are the cheetah and leopards, which we hoped to see on our afternoon and morning drives. Our South African guide Jordi was passionate about the work done by Africat and he proved to be an amazing guide, expressing a personal relationship he had with the animals. He did, in fact, lead us to one of the leopards within an hour of starting to track it.
He provided us with clear and concise information about the work done by the foundation and the relationship it has with the country's farming community.
The meals were of very high standard and dining room service was excellent
" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs L.
Leatherhead

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"Well worth the stay. Very interesting work.

Helpful and friendly staff and definitely worth doing the Leopard drive." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr's W
Victoria

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"Upgraded happily to view rooms, which were very large and exquisitely comfortable, with magnificently large windows.

Much wildlife, and opportunities for self-guided walks and guided tours. Conservation focus was great to see." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Ms B
N London

"Perfect for the end of the trip"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs BW
The Sands

"Great stay"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"Having been on the road for 2 weeks already and having seen plenty of wildlife we were happy to just chill at Okonjima.

The main building and the rooms are very modern and new. Loved lying in bed in the morning looking out the most amazing picture window at the animals out in the veld. Rooms were huge with great facilities and completely private.

We spent the day lounging at the pool and chose not to go on the leopard tracking game drive but friends who did had a great time. We were disappointed that they no longer have free roaming cheetah." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mrs P
London

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2019
"We loved everything about Okonjima" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Florida

"Quality experience, great common area"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"A warm welcoming by staff. Garden rooms offered a peaceful, private, attractive setting.

Shower and sink didn’t drain well.

Good stopover between Etosha and Windhoek.

Would be a great place to spend more than one night.

Enjoyed the leopard game drive! Jordy was a great, entertaining guide!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2019
"What an impressive place. Unbelievable design to the main space - given that this was not the high end of the operation.

Beautiful rooms. Very slick service. Our guide was also very impressive. Again it was good to feel we were putting something into the conservation efforts.

We had a great trip out looking for leopards early morning . " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa