This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Swakopmund Guesthouse
Swakopmund Guesthouse
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse


22°40’56.0"S 14°31’36.9"E

Reviews of Swakopmund G'house

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Swakopmund G'house and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"A beautifully appointed guesthouse, although we found the pebbled floor in the bathroom a little hard on the feet! Breakfast only here but that did not matter was we wanted to return to the Tug restaurant to enjoy their extensive fish menu and wine list. Breakfast was buffet style with hot options if required. Well situated and easy to park." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr & Mr B
Cardiff

"guest house with style"

7 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2014
"For a guest house this gives the service equal to a 4 star hotel. Our hostess Christiana made every effort to make us welcome and organised or advised us of trips in the area as would a hotel concierge.

The property has an attractive nautical theme, spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and very conveniently situated

Good german style breakfast and complimentary hot drinks & cake

Highly recommended" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Very nice and comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"The guesthouse has a great location, easy walking to the waterfront and the downtown. It was also easy and very convenient to connect with the companies offering water and sand boarding excursions.

My only negative comment is that the flow to the dining room and other rooms was disconnected. I had to step around planters, berms, chairs, leave the walkway to get from A to B. Not only an inconvenience ( I am older and not as agile as the young) but could present a safety issue such as tripping." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Mrs H
Bristol

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2012
"Clean, comfortable rooms, nice breakfast and located within walking distance of the town centre and restaurants.

Whilst in Swakopmund, we organised a day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

Great trip with Ernst

Wonderful and informative day trip to Sandwich Harbour with Ernst. He provided an excellent lunch on the beach where the Namib meets the Atlantic and we saw loads of bird life and a few seals. A good day out." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr J C
London

"Perfect place to stay in Swapkopmund"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"An excellent location, and a very helpful and charming manageress." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Ms A
Cambridgeshire

"Disappointingly Average"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"The only disappointing accommodation of my trip. My so-called 'luxury' room was distinctly average. The bathroom can only be likened to a prison cell; bare beige plastered walls, lacked any character or warmth. The fixtures and fittings were looking tired, the toilet seat was chipped and scratched. There was no desk/table in the room, so nowhere to sit and write. The hospitality tray was crawling with small ants. The room opened out on to the street and offered no privacy. I think the photos in the brochure are very misleading.

On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist, who promptly told us that now we've finally arrived, she was able to go home! From 6pm there are no staff present; an emergency contact number is given in the room, but do not expect any sort of service after 6pm. A security guard patrols at night. Staff are only present from 6am to 6pm. I do not think you can successfully run such a business on a part-time basis. The manager was very friendly and helpful the next morning, but that does not help if you have any issues after 6pm.

There was a power cut at 10:30pm, and when I informed the security guard, he told me he had very little credit on his phone, so was unable to phone the Manager, instead he would send her a message. There was a real lack of urgency. The guard had no torch and so had to borrow mine. I wouldn't want to rely on him in an emergency!
Maybe I was just unlucky, but I would certainly not class this as a luxury guesthouse." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr M & Mrs J
UK

"Perfect base in Swakop"

3 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2010
"Guest house was in a good position and easy to find after the first attempt. Close to the main street and walking distance from restaurants but also quiet and off the main road.

Bit disappointing that seating for relaxing outside the room was almost on the pavement.

Excellent trips with Turnstone tours. Guides were very knowledgable and we learnt a lot of history and geology as well as seeing the nature.

Fabulous fish meals especially at the raft in Walvis Bay and the Lighthouse in Swakop." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr B & Mr K
Kent

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2009
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Miss N
Leeds

"Make time for Swakopmund"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2009
"This is a good guesthouse in a convenient location in the city, to be honest we didn't spend a great deal of time in the guesthouse and only had breakfast here. We were able to make reservations for restaurants here, we went to Grapevine which is excellent, The Tug which you need to book in plenty of time and Kucki's bar. If you need money for the next part of your trip make sure you use the ATM's in Swakopmund.

We had 3 nights in Swakopmund which is well worth it if you want to do a number of activities as well as taking in the city. We chose:

Kayaking which Expert Africa pre arranged for us and is really worth it, the seal pups will come and play with you it is such a brilliant experience, and the lady who does the trip is so knowledgable about the local area, the meeting point however has changed from the Mola Mola Coffee Shop I can't remember the new location but is worth double checking when you confirm with her.

Quadbiking and sandboarding which are both really good fun and the guide we had was brilliant, this can be booked in Swakopmund centre we used Outback Orange but there are loads to chose from.

You can also drive to Cape Cross seal colony in an hour as the roads are good salt roads all the way, make sure you look out for shipwrecks on the coast line there is a good one between Swakopmund and Cape Cross." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms H
London

"Clean and central, but uninspring"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"This was the most functional accommodatioin we stayed at in Namibia - very clean, but unfortunately our room was very cold on the first night and there were not spare duvets easily on hand. This was rectified after requesting duvets on the second night, but a single small radiator was inadequate for the apartment we were in. Breakfast was OK.

Avoid Kucki's at all costs; the food was very disappointing, atmosphere very much pub rather than restaurant, and when we complained our feedback was met with extremely rude behaviour typical of somewhere reliant on one-night only visitors, unlikely ever to return. Our pizza at Western Saloon the next evening was a much better experience and there were quite a few locals (who we had been served by in a book shop and who worked for Turnstone Tours) eating there as well, which seemed to be a good indicator.

Our trip to Sandwich Bay with Turnstone Tours was outstanding - defiitely recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 20
82%
20 reviews of Swakopmund G'house by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
12
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (230 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (49 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa