This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Swakopmund Guesthouse
Swakopmund Guesthouse
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse


22°40’56.0"S 14°31’36.9"E

Reviews of Swakopmund G'house

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Swakopmund G'house and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
Manningtree

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2014
"Very well appointed and close to centre and good fish restaurants. Breakfast good." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The W family
Holland

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"Our rooms weer separated from the main lodge. That was a slight minous. They were however good en quiet." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Ms S
Abingdon

"A pleasant stay"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"A good stopover in Swakopmund. The guest house was comfortable, clean and the breakfast was of a good standard.

The welcome was not as friendly as many we had received during our trip but overall we were very happy." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A, Ms S& family
UK

"Swakopmund Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2014
"An excellent guesthouse with very friendly staff who took time to make sure we had a great experience, we have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay. We had a two bedroom apartment which also had self catering facilities. Based within 5 minutes walk of the sea front Swakopmund Guest house is ideally placed to explore the town. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was excellent.

Angela at Expert Africa had recommended the kayaking activity next to the seal colony so we had booked it as part of the holiday itinary. We met Jeanne and Bernard from Eco Marine Kayak Tours in Walvis Bay and initially we were taken on a fascinating 45 minute drive to the starting point, Bernard is extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and the area, he kept all of us captivated during the drive, taking time to answer any questions.

The kayaking was one of the highlights of the holiday, surrounded by inquisitive sea lions (Bernard mentioned sea lions have ears, seals do not) we were actively encouraged to interact with the sea lions who come up to the kayake and play with the paddles. Jeanne took videos of the experience and emailed them without any additional charge, this has meant that we have some great videos to keep. The tour is thoroughly recommended." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"A beautifully appointed guesthouse, although we found the pebbled floor in the bathroom a little hard on the feet! Breakfast only here but that did not matter was we wanted to return to the Tug restaurant to enjoy their extensive fish menu and wine list. Breakfast was buffet style with hot options if required. Well situated and easy to park." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr & Mr B
Cardiff

"guest house with style"

7 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2014
"For a guest house this gives the service equal to a 4 star hotel. Our hostess Christiana made every effort to make us welcome and organised or advised us of trips in the area as would a hotel concierge.

The property has an attractive nautical theme, spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and very conveniently situated

Good german style breakfast and complimentary hot drinks & cake

Highly recommended" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Very nice and comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"The guesthouse has a great location, easy walking to the waterfront and the downtown. It was also easy and very convenient to connect with the companies offering water and sand boarding excursions.

My only negative comment is that the flow to the dining room and other rooms was disconnected. I had to step around planters, berms, chairs, leave the walkway to get from A to B. Not only an inconvenience ( I am older and not as agile as the young) but could present a safety issue such as tripping." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Mrs H
Bristol

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2012
"Clean, comfortable rooms, nice breakfast and located within walking distance of the town centre and restaurants.

Whilst in Swakopmund, we organised a day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

Great trip with Ernst

Wonderful and informative day trip to Sandwich Harbour with Ernst. He provided an excellent lunch on the beach where the Namib meets the Atlantic and we saw loads of bird life and a few seals. A good day out." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr J C
London

"Perfect place to stay in Swapkopmund"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"An excellent location, and a very helpful and charming manageress." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Ms A
Cambridgeshire

"Disappointingly Average"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"The only disappointing accommodation of my trip. My so-called 'luxury' room was distinctly average. The bathroom can only be likened to a prison cell; bare beige plastered walls, lacked any character or warmth. The fixtures and fittings were looking tired, the toilet seat was chipped and scratched. There was no desk/table in the room, so nowhere to sit and write. The hospitality tray was crawling with small ants. The room opened out on to the street and offered no privacy. I think the photos in the brochure are very misleading.

On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist, who promptly told us that now we've finally arrived, she was able to go home! From 6pm there are no staff present; an emergency contact number is given in the room, but do not expect any sort of service after 6pm. A security guard patrols at night. Staff are only present from 6am to 6pm. I do not think you can successfully run such a business on a part-time basis. The manager was very friendly and helpful the next morning, but that does not help if you have any issues after 6pm.

There was a power cut at 10:30pm, and when I informed the security guard, he told me he had very little credit on his phone, so was unable to phone the Manager, instead he would send her a message. There was a real lack of urgency. The guard had no torch and so had to borrow mine. I wouldn't want to rely on him in an emergency!
Maybe I was just unlucky, but I would certainly not class this as a luxury guesthouse." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 24
80%
24 reviews of Swakopmund G'house by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
14
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


94% (272 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well-placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


89% (68 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


88% (64 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (63 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (55 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (32 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


89% (18 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (9 reviews)
Cornerstone Apartments

Cornerstone Apartments

Cornerstone Guesthouse’s three self-catering apartments, each in its own unique location, work well for families or groups of travellers seeking space & privacy within a comfortable, contemporary setting.


95% (8 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


97% (6 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Pearls Beach Pods

Pearls Beach Pods

With a beachfront location, superb sea views and easy access to the amenities of Swakopmund, The Pearls Beach Pods combine privacy with a high standard of luxury.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa