This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Montana

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

A dream trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 22 Aug 2013 and 11 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a trip of a lifetime! The planning was superb, everything just flowed from one place to another. The experience was better than anything we could have imagined.

I am ready to go again.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None. Maruska was fantastic, we were so lucky to have her."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Tamboti Guesthouse

"A lovely haven."

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"After long international flights, this was a quiet, comfortable retreat to recharge our batteries.

The proprietors were very helpful and friendly; we felt very welcomed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"A wonderful lodge in a great location."

4 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2013
"Everything at the lodge was outstanding. We were there for a wedding and the staff out-did themselves in providing an unforgettable experience.

It was magical!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse

"Very nice and comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"The guesthouse has a great location, easy walking to the waterfront and the downtown. It was also easy and very convenient to connect with the companies offering water and sand boarding excursions.

My only negative comment is that the flow to the dining room and other rooms was disconnected. I had to step around planters, berms, chairs, leave the walkway to get from A to B. Not only an inconvenience ( I am older and not as agile as the young) but could present a safety issue such as tripping."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Wonderful camp!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"This camp can't be beat for location within the Park. The grounds are pleasant, the rooms very comfortable, the waterhole great for viewing wildlife and a good location for going either east or west within the park. It is a large camp so interaction with staff was minimal, but people seemed friendly and helpful.

I thought the food was just average and it was expensive. We had a large group and our server was not very good at keeping track of our extras. As a result mistakes were made, not in our favor. Management might want to look at a more efficient method for larger groups."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Nice contrast with Okaukuejo Camp."

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"This camp was smaller and quieter than Okaukuejo, a welcomed change. The grounds were lovely and the overall location of the camp much more wooded and secluded. Our wildlife viewing was disappointing, but not the fault of the camp.

The waterhole has an interesting layout. The water level seemed to be low which may or may not be the cause of very little animal activity.

Food here was the same as Okuakuejo. The service was better but we were no longer with a large group."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"Pleasant surprise"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2013
"This camp was a happy surprise. We wish we had reason to stay longer. The owner is very creative and has spent a lot of time over the years adding quirky, whimsical items to the overall decor. A fun place to stay.

For us it was a little tricky getting to our next lodge at the appointed meeting time, the distance was just a bit too far. We really had to push it. Also the time change on Sunday, October 1st, did not happen in Botswana. At that point, it was the same time in both countries. This was very fortunate or we would have been really late."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"A place of refuge"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"Nxamaseri was a most wonderful place. We were both sorry we had not booked three nights. We were the only guests so had the undivided attention of the staff.

After all the activity of the wedding and traveling with a large group, this was a perfect place to begin our safari experience. Our guide, "Small", was wonderful, very knowledgeable, we loved being in his company. We spent two days on the river, birding and fishing, looking for other water wildlife. We saw many beautiful new birds and the fishing was good.

This lodge did sustain damage in the floods of 2010, I believe, and unless there is some attention to repair in the near future, this camp will suffer. It is something to inquire about. We did share these observations with our host."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Stopover"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"Just a stopping place on our travels. If we were staying any longer in Maun, this would have been a good place to stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Highlight!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Lebala was the highlight of our safari. The camp was beautifully appointed, very comfortable, very exciting with hippos and elephants outside the tents at night. The staff could not have been better.

Our guide, Sughur (sp?), was just wonderful, quietly confident, highly professional. We felt very safe in his and the tracker's company. We had lots of laughs. We had great jeep-mates, coincidental, but it added to the overall enjoyment.

We had many exciting wildlife viewing experiences, some of which made the heart beat faster! But we did not see many cats, a disappointment, but not anyone's fault."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Great wildlife"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"Kwara was a seamless continuation of our bush camp experience. The camp was more rustic than Lebala but for the most part very comfortable. My one criticism was the tents, which were canvas, got uncomfortably hot during the middle of the day, when we were in camp. They need either overhead fans or easily accessible flaps to open. The staff was very professional, courteous, anxious to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The wildlife viewing was fantastic.

Our guide, TJ, was very knowledgeable and a good communicator, but he either did not like me or didn't like the clients in general. He reprimanded me 3 times during our first drive not in a tactful or caring way at all. I was angry and offended. Our last night drive was miserable. He wanted to find the wilddogs, which we had already seen, for a new couple that had joined us in the jeep. So we spent two hours tearing around at a very uncomfortable speed, getting thrown around. I was exhausted when we got back to camp. I think he showed poor judgement in his decision to favor the new couple over the two others who were leaving the next day. You also did not question his decisions on what we were doing. The simple thing to have done was to give us a choice.

On the other hand, our tracker, KP, was a delight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team