This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

222 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 222
Duration
Arrival date
B family
Weybridge

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"Really nice guesthouse in central Swakopmund. Breakfast was delightful and the hospitality warm (Peter the owner was very attentive). A great base for this interesting town.

Also, recommend the kayaking with seals trip with Jeanne...absolutely fantastic!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
D & K
Texas

"Great Place to stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2018
"Very convenient location with large rooms, helpful staff and delicious breakfast. It was nice to have an secure, enclosed place for our car with a remote control to open the gate when entering or leaving.

The staff was very helpful, providing recommendations and directions to places all over the city. The owner was actively involved with helping the guests and making sure their needs were fully met. The breakfast selection and quality was above average, although we had to rush through it the first day to go kayaking.

Our only regret is that we stayed in Swakopmund only 2 nights. We spent the first half of our free day on a Kayaking with Seals excursion, leaving little time for seeing the sights in the town. In hindsight, we'd stay a third night Swakopmund.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
St Albans

"Nice guest house, super service"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2018
"This place is all about the service.

Peter was amazing. So friendly, helpful and informative. Breakfast was great too.

Rooms were ok, bathrooms a little dated. Stayed in nicer places (but also much worse!)" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Highly recommended B&B"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2018
"Room was functional but had everything you needed (including a bath!). Lots of hot water. The breakfast room was lovely and breakfast was excellent (best cooked eggs of our whole trip).

It would have been good to be forewarned regarding the difficulty of booking a restaurant for the evening meal. Had we known of this beforehand we would have booked the nearest good restaurant, The Tug, in advance, for at least the first night. My advice to travellers would be to do some research and book restaurants for all evenings in advance.

Cornerstone was only 5 minutes walk from The Tug." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"A tranquil oasis in Swakapomund"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2018
"This was a very pleasant quiet, well located overnight stay for us. The staff were very helpful in relation to booking a restaurant for us and undertaking photocopying for us in relation to our car hire.

We also appreciated the quality of the breakfast buffet and the care taken with the hot component that was cooked to order. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Alstonville

"Very well run small B&B, near town centre"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2018
"Convenient location near town centre. Very well run, with helpful staff. Excellent breakfast." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
T & T
woodside

"clean, quiet, nice place"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2018
"The Cornerstone guesthouse has relatively small, very clean rooms in a very quiet location convenient to the "downtown" and the beach. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. The room has a nice patio.

It was a fine base for exploring Swakopmund. We combined this with the Turnstone tour of Sandwich harbour which is highly worthwhile.

Our guide was entertaining, our fellow guests fascinating and we met some very friendly jackal, a hyena active in the daytime, seals, and lots and lots of flamingos and other sea birds. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Andover

"Cornerstone was excellent B&B"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2018
"After a long but incredible drive through the Namib-Naukluft National Park we reached Swakopmund and arrived at the fabulous Cornerstone Guesthouse. Our room was so spacious, comfortable and well appointed.

The owners were lovely and obviously take great pride in creating a homely and welcoming stay for their guests. Breakfast was excellent.

Only one night here but made for a restful stopover before travelling on to Damaraland. We dined at The Tug Restaurant by the jetty and enjoyed great seafood overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. " See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Cheltenham

"Great place to stay."

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2018
"The accommodation was on the edge of the town. The garden was well kept and it was a lovely quiet spot but easy to walk into the centre from. Friendly and helpful staff. Parking off road but a tight squeeze!

The restaurants in Swakopmund were plentiful. We were pleased that we had pre-booked the Tug which had a great ambiance. We had a drink at the Jetty but it's closed on a Monday, so couldn't go there for our second night. We went to the Ocean Cellar instead which was a lovely upmarket place with fun staff, thoroughly recommended.

Swakopmund had interesting buildings and good restaurants and the landscape is different from all our other stop overs, as you're by the sea and have the opportunity to see the flamingos but there's not much else here. The main reason for our visit was to kayak with seals and that's not to be missed!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Wakefield

"Quality accommodation"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2018
"A great couple of nights here in Swakopmund. We had rather surprisingly a spacious apartment that was very well appointed.

Great service from all the staff especially Robyn and Peter.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 222
95%
222 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
167
51
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa