This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

222 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 222
Duration
Arrival date
TansySue
UK

"Extremely comfortable and very friendly hosts"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2018
"To us, Cornerstone was more than a Guesthouse - our room was spotless and was fitted to a very high standard with a new bathroom and luxury bed linen. A welcoming snack with tea & coffee making facilities, TV and good Wi-Fi and our own outdoor shaded seating area.

The owners were a very pleasant couple who had time to talk. Breakfast was excellent - such a good array of foodstuff for such a small enterprise.

We were in a quiet residential part of town, set back from the seafront and just a short walk to the centre of Swakopmund. An ideal place to stay and one we can thoroughly recommend." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr K
Maidstone

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2018
"Full and fulsome report entered on TripAdvisor so not re-written here. Lovely people, great service and breakfasts and location perfect for walking into town. Now advised our review has been published" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Midlothian

"A bit old fashioned but so is Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2018
"For us the best part of visiting Swakopmund was the drive up the coast to Hentjes Bay and then over the Namib Desert.

Good breakfast, nice people and close to town centre." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs JW
SW London

"Exactly what it said on the tin"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2018
"A very solid guest house with welcoming and helpful hosts. It is within walking distance of the centre of the town and most of the restaurants.

The room was spacious and comfortable with a separate sitting area.

Nothing great but nothing to complain about." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Excellent position in a quiet residential are"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2018
"A lovely house with all the rooms having their own private patio area.

Gorgeous well maintained pretty gardens. The owners were away but the 2 ladies who ran the place were really friendly, welcoming & helpful as were the staff.

Great dining room with an excellent breakfast served both mornings.Great to be able to put the car safely away & to be near enough to town to sample a good choice of restaurants on foot!

Thoroughly recommend this B&B" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The G's
London

"Lovely Guesthouse"

3 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2017
"Owner & staff extremely helpful. We were given a lovely room with a lounge area for a little relaxation.

My husband needed a dentist and we called in advance and Peter, the owner, arranged an appointment locally and all was done and dusted the day after we arrived.

Excellent breakfast and good location." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Perfect attention to detail "

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2017
"We loved our stay at Cornerstone. It was in a quiet location but only a 5 minute walk to the town centre or the beach.

Peter, the owner, was very helpful and we appreciated the provision of mobile phones so that guests could contact him if needed. The attention to detail was impressive - for example there was a post box for guest mail. The rooms were comfortably furnished and spotless. Breakfasts were good. We enjoyed sitting on our terrace in the late afternoon watching all the birds that visited the garden.

Peter suggested a visit to the local museum - we went there and would also recommend it. Take eye shades for sleeping if you are sensitive to light as there is a street lamp just by the pedestrian gate." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Frank & Cath
Retford

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2017
"A very comfortable guest house, well situated for exploring Swakopmund on foot. It complemented the game lodges well." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr K
Hexham

"excellent"

4 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2017
"we were in the separate apartment, which was fine" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
BarryT
Knutsford

"Beautifully clean with a very good location"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"We stayed here two nights and highly recommend it. It is spotless and only five minutes from the centre of town. Parking is either on site or just outside and they have security.

We ate the first night at Kucki's Pub which was good but really just pub food. The second night we ate at The Tug.This is fantastic but you must book as it is very popular. Its the best John Dory I have ever eaten. We also visited the gem stone factory and the museum which are both worth a visit. We also did the Welwitchia Drive where you must get a permit in town before you go for negligible cost but we were never asked to show it. It is spectacular.

It is noticeably colder in Swakop but a warm fleece is enough unless you are particularly susceptible to the cold.
We then drove up the coast to the seal colony. Amazing site and very smelly. Its a long drive but worth it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 222
95%
222 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
167
51
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa