This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

222 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 222
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Herts

"Very good location for Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Cornerstone was very comfortable and accessible, located just off the main road and close to the City Centre.

They provided info on restaurants and other points of interest.

The Museum and the Krystal Gallerie are both well worth a visit,, and although we didn't get to the Tug or Jetty, Kucki's was very good.. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs K
London

"Spacious, good food and helpful service"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"Nice big rooms with en suite bathroom, a TV and a laundry service, which was very welcome after a week on the road. Excellent breakfast and really helpful staff, who kindly arranged breakfast packs on the day we had an early start.

Only suggestion for improvement would be extractor fans in the bathrooms, as we found the room ended up a bit steamy and damp after we used the shower.

Whilst here, these travellers took a Day trip to Sandwich Harbour. They commented:

Brilliant fun in the dunes!
We had so much fun on this trip - driving over the dunes was absolutely brilliant and we could have stayed there for hours!

It was a bucket-list thing for me to go to Sandwich Harbour, to see where the desert meets the sea - and I'll never forget the drive along that precariously narrow stretch of sand between the crashing waves and the huge dunes. My only suggestion for the future would be if they were to advise where you can see the classic viewpoint of the headland curving out into the sea in the distance, ringed by the dunes - possibly the best vantage point of this would be on top of one of the dunes, but we never quite saw it from that angle.

They also enjoyed a scenic flight over the coast, and said of that:

Mind-blowing, once-in-a-litetime trip!
This was far and away the most exhilarating, inspirational and beautiful excursion we've ever taken! It was a big expense, because we were the only two passengers, but it was entirely worth it.

The first leg of the flight, over the Namib desert sand sea, was phenomenally beautiful - I must have taken a thousand pictures! To see the huge, snaking apricot coloured dunes, Sossusvlei and the Tsauchab corridor from the air was mind-blowing - and something I'll treasure for ever. And after that, we still had Fish River Canyon, mountains and Sperrgebeit, the diamond coastand Sandwich Harbour to go! The tour of Kolmanskopp was great: another bucket-destination that we were pleased to experience but we felt we were hurried out of fascinating Kolmanskopp to get to lunch and the Luderitz tour, which was far less interesting to us.

Nevertheless, the day overall was outstanding - one we'll never forget!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
New Forest

"Good base for a stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2017
"Very helpful and friendly staff - Robyn helped with meal recommendations and reservations and she also managed to explain to me how my local data package worked!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Middlesex

"Cornerstone Guesthouse Review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2017
"We stayed one night at one of Cornerstone Guesthouses' apartments, An der Mole Apartment and it was superb. The wife of the owner who ran Cornerstone was concerned we were late, she escorted us to the apartment and showed us round it and made us feel really welcome. Situated on the seafront, we wish we had had more time to enjoy its beautiful location. The apartment itself was fabulous, with three beautiful bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and an enormous open plan kitchen/ living area. Even in the short time we had there we managed to get a load of washing clean and dried!

The following morning we drove to the Cornerstone Guesthouse for an excellent breakfast.

We would recommend the apartment not only for a stopover, but for a longer stay. You can't do justice to it in only one night!" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H & L
Berks

"nice - a good place for a quick break"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"Nice place - good to have a day of rest! Boys went sand boarding and quad biking, Rob and I went walking round the town.......and ended up buying a black diamond ring!

Dinner at the Tug was good - but glad we had pre-booked or would not have got in. Second night was a pub - also very good.

Stocked up on wine and beer for rest of trip. Hosts very nice and friendly. " See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The E family
Bath

"Cornerstone Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2017
"Very welcoming and friendly, excellent breakfast. Only minor criticism is noise from kitchen at early breakfast time in adjacent room.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Whilst staying here these travellers took a dolphin cruise and commented:
Very enjoyable cruise with very close encounters with pelicans and seals. Very good food with plenty of variety and regular drinks offered. " See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AB
SW London

"Exemplary B&B"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2017
"Cornerstone is centrally located about 5 minutes walk from both the sea and "downtown". It is run with great charm and efficiency by Peter and his staff.

We stayed in the courtyard apartment, which was very comfortable. Breakfast was an extensive buffet, tasty and abundant.

I would definitely stay there on a return to Swakopmund.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Whilst staying here these travellers also took part in a guided trip to Sandwich Harbour, here are their comments:

Sandwich Harbour is an interesting day-long excursion, an example of where shifting sand dunes have encroached on the historic habitation and fresh water lagoon. We were very fortunate to have Bruno himself, who runs both Turnstone and Mundulea Reserve, as our guide. Highlights also included driving at speed along the sand, the key requirement being timing one's return to avoid high tide wholly covering the "road".

We did get temporarily stuck, which was great fun but were easily freed by a combination of a Land rover tow (our companion vehicle) and letting the tires down even further. It was definitely a trip where the quality of one's guide was crucial." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr JM & co
Portugal

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2017
"We stayed at their Moringha appartment which is in centre of town and also close to the actual guesthouse for breakfast.

Great apartment with all facilities, excellent breakfast at the guesthouse.

All sights in town within easy walking distance." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Australia

"Very nice Swakopmund stopover."

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2017
"Very pleasant quiet room for a couple of nights in Swakopmund, great breakfast. Easy walk to the central shops, and to restaurants. Had fantastic meal at "The Jetty"" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ian & Vivienne
UK

"Good option in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2017
"Good rooms which are very clean and adequately equipped. Breakfast is the same daily but, again, ticks the boxes.

The property is well located for walking to the coast,to restaurants and to the very good shopping in the centre of the town. Shop for gifts and souvenirs in this town as there is very little option elsewhere unless you stay in the capital which we did not.

The car park is small but parking on the road is safe and secure." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 222
95%
222 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
167
51
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa