This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

222 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 61-70 of 222
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs S
Surrey

"Am der Mole apartment actually"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2017
"We couldn't stay at the guesthouse because it was full - instead opted for the 3 bedroom apartment (even tho there are only 2 of us !)

It was great - really nice to have all the facilities of home for a couple of nights : a supermarket just round the corner so we actually ate in both nights & relaxed in front of the TV ; a washing machine - to get some clean clothes etc etc. The only issue was that after nearly 40deg temps in Doro Nawas, it was only 16-18 here so we couldn't make full use of the huge terrace overlooking the sea-front.

We could have stayed here a lot longer. The town seems very clean, interesting German architecture & very tasteful shops.

I'm sure there were lots of good restaurants we could have tried too." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mrs B
Gabriola Island

"Swakup retreat"

3 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2017
"This was a great break from our travels in the deserts.

The owners were great, very helpful arranging reservations for tours and meals" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Hassocks

"A short break in Swakopmund."

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2017
"We spent two days here and really enjoyed it.

Our room had everything including a charming terrace with table and chairs set in a lovely interesting garden. The staff here were excellent, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were great. The Cornerstone is a short walk to shops and restaurants.

We had our washing done here; it was quick and efficient and good value. We would definitely come again." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
B&A
Warwickshire

"Far, far away in a small town in Germany..."

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2017
"We had stopped at Walvis Bay before "Swakop" and (apart from pelican sightings) thought the place was a bit sad and run down.
Swakop, as they call it, was just like a small town in Germany. It still is, in many locals' minds, the German Colony it used to be.
And none the worse for that! Those who like beer will find plenty of outlets: Kucki 's Pub was our choice.

Cornerstone Guesthouse was friendly and comfortable. Only one other couple, also from UK, were present at the ample breakfast. Out to explore the shops before a dose of culture at the excellent museum - a "Must See" in our opinion. A great deal of effort had been put into planning and displaying the items.

Tried, but failed, to get a SIM card that worked in my phone but the positive side of that was that just next door was another German pub that did an excellent thick vegetable soup for the gentleman and an equally nourishing Greek Salad for Madame.

We then had our one and only "tourist trap" incident when a little man sold us two completely rubbishy nuts onto which he had carved our names - couldn't say no!

Back to the guesthouse to write postcards and get advice on tomorrow's drive. We were advised not to miss sundowners at Tiger Reef so we went and thoroughly enjoyed the view, the company and the calamari." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss A
Okehampton

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2017
"Fine for a short stop-over - a bit short on character, but very helpful people.

Take a sleep mask, as bright street lights shone into our room all night ( a bit of a shock after Etendenka).

Nice big room and bathroom, with terrace for sitting outside.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Whilst staying here these travellers did the kayaking with seals excursion and commented:

Great fun - especially as the baby seals were just learning to swim.!

Jean was terrific and provided us with all the gear we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole morning - and were amazed to receive her videos of us the same afternoon.

Thoroughly recommend it - though to some seeing quite a few dead baby seals around us on the beach was upsetting: Maybe a bit more of an explanation about how/why etc might be helpful?" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
Cinderford

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2017
"A very nice city guest house. All the facilities were fine. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. The main reason to stay here was the day out with turnstone tours which was a mind-blowing drive over the biggest sand dunes in the world and some excellent bird spotting." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Huntingdon

"Beautifully clean and well located "

3 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2017
"Very friendly welcome and we were very well looked after at breakfast.

The whole place is immaculately clean, although the smell of toilet cleaner was rather overwhelming in the small room.

Great location, easy to walk to restaurants etc." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms J
Northamptonshire

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2016
"A really well run and organised guesthouse.

Friendly staff, great facilities and food." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z
Maryland, USA

"clean, tidy, and right downtown"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2016
"The prices in the mini bar were better than the grocery store!

During their stay these travellers joined a guided day trip to Sandwich Harbour. Here's what they said about it:
We ran down a sand dune, saw thousands of pelicans, and had stunning views of the Atlantic ocean from atop stand dunes." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J from
UK

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2016
"We found the owner Peter and his staff to be very helpful and supportive, particularly with our difficulties with the car company.

Turnstone Tours were brilliant and I would highly recommend them to anyone visiting this area." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 222
95%
222 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
167
51
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa