This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs R from Daventry

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2018 trip

Botswana between 7 Jun 2018 and 19 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wonderful."

Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje - welcome to Botswana"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2018
"This was my first holiday as a single traveller. Everyone was so welcoming, it felt like coming home. A very comfortable place in all senses, very relaxing.

There was abundant wildlife in Chobe and the guide had good knowledge of mammals and birds. My ambition was to see wild dogs and we found them on the first game drive. What luck!

The boat safari gave a different viewpoint and the picnic lunch served on board was excellent. Able to see large herd of elephant and pod of hippos ashore. Found a huge herd of buffalo in the afternoon.

The vehicle was never crowded, usually only three or four passengers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Friendly atmosphere at Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2018
"Tent very cold in the morning, but it’s winter and a tent. Warm and cosy on early drive with poncho and Bush baby (hot water bottle) yes really needed! Guide made every effort to bring us close to the animals and I was pleasantly surprised at their lack of disturbance and relaxed demeanour."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

"Savutii is special"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2018
"This is a Camp I would return to should I travel again in Botswana.

The staff turned out to greet me with a song of welcome which felt really special as I was travelling alone. They were very attentive throughout and ensured that I always had company.

Hippos sang to me through the night. Some lullaby!

The accommodation was first class. I appreciated the the provision of drink-making tray and battery charging plugs in tent.

The guide was knowledgable and we shared some special moments, including a leopard killing a warthog.

I was sad to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"A modern camp"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2018
"The public areas are similar to other camps, with thatch and open sides but I found the rooms too hotel-like. The facilities in the rooms are excellent but I missed the coolness provided by low hanging thatch. The outside shower gives wonderful view of the nearby water and a lion often walked by in the afternoon.

We spent very special time with lion cubs, leopard cubs and wild dog pups. It could not have been better. Also spotted a serval on night drive.

Boat trip nice and calm after all the “extreme off-roading “ with spectacular sunset. Mokoro trip enjoyable too.

Staff and guides very attentive. Altogether a comfortable place to spend a few days."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2013 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 4 Sep 2013 and 22 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We found that the trip was well organised and most enjoyable and we would have no hestitaion in recommending your company . Our only minor problem was that we had expected lower temperature than experienced. We booked for the Sept period because from information given the average temperature was quoted at 25 C Max (ref: notes for travellers page 13). As soon as we left Windhoek
we were in the high 30's and it then it got to 40+. Are the temperatures quoted for Windhoek? At Vic Falls we saw a weather report and it was 25C in Windhoek but it was 41C in VF.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank your team for all of the support given and we would hope to travel with you again."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"We had a comfortable stay and found the location good. Staff friendly and helpful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Good beginning at Frans Indongo"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2013
"This made a good overnight stop on the way north. Really liked the layout of the lodge. Room was spacious and well equipped."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukeujo"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"The bungalow was really nice with plenty of space, comfy beds, was clean and within easy reach of the waterhole, where we saw a big variety of animals..
Good value."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2013
"Another clean and comfortable accommodation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Lovely lodge east of Etosha"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Well presented accommodation though I have to admit I prefer to have the bathroom more screened from the bedroom area.
Nice toiletries, room well stocked with coffee-making facilities etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Loved Hakusembe"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"A very friendly relaxed place to visit. Two nights would have been good.
The manager and his wife do their utmost to make guests comfortable.
Accommodation units face the river and all have outdoor seats. Coffee arrived outside the door at around 7am.
Staff are friendly and helpful. The river trip was fascinating, with glimpses into rural riverside life in Angola.
What's not to like?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Rural Riverside Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"Maybe a little tired round the edges, but the tents were clean and comfy,
Lovely riverside lodge, great atmosphere, relaxed. Love the pottery used at mealtimes.
Guests and management dine together which gives insightful conversation into local issues. Felt like one big family.
River trip good. Guide knows his birds and was extremely patient when pointing out his finds.
Close to the National Park - good stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Not up to scratch"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"We were really disappointed with this lodge.
We found the managerial staff unfriendly with little inclination to inter-react with guests. Guests sat at seperate tables so not much opportunity to converse at mealtimes, and the staff sat together at their own table.
I was horrified to find birds eating the cereals and butter from the breakfast buffet. Toast served on our first morning was cold and soggy - we wondered if it had been out before.
The room was dark, rather on the tired side with no place to put personal toiletries etc in the bathroom. No tea/coffee facilities or early deliveries, just a bottle of water for teeth.
We were booked on B&B but were not offered or given the option of ordering lunch on our full day there.
But worst of all was the feeling of being watched and overheard all the time by the owner and his friend who sat at right angles to diners.
On a positive note, local staff were fine, the river trip and guide excellent.
But we wished we had only booked one night and felt we'd wasted a couple of days.
Would not recommend this lodge and would certainly not return."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Super Muchenje!"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"Would gladly have gone home after two nights at Mazambala Island but Muchenje soon changed all that.
From the moment of arrival this was a wonderful experience and if we go back to Botswana we shall certainly return here
and stay three nights not two!
Excursions were good and guides made every effort to follow guests' interests. Will never forget the carmine bee-eaters on the sandbank!
Liked mealtimes where all sat together including managers and guides. All used Christian names which added to relaxed atmosphere.
Super location, facilities, staff, management, accommodation, atmosphere, activities............"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Different way to see the Chobe"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"Very different experience with a look at local fishermen at work without feeling intrusive.
Liked having own dedicated boat and guide for transfers and excursions.
Service on the houseboat was excellent. How did they share out all the work? Cabin small but spotless, if a bit hot, and bed very comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

"Last stop on the Chobe"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"Very friendly relaxed atmosphere.
Owner dined with guests, making one feel welcome.
Tent set above the river so that the sound of the water was ever present, with monkeys in the tree outside. Good bathroom at rear.
Lovely river excursions with knowledgeable guide.
A good stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Good lodge near Falls"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"A good place to stay near the Falls. Comfortable and friendly.
We had a garden room with access to the lawned area and had a lot of bird visitors, plus warthogs, baboons and monkeys
Would definitely use this lodge again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team