This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

126 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ndhovu Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ndhovu Safari Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Giraffe

50% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 126
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
Canmore

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2017
"This is a casual and well run lodge with a pretty and peaceful setting on the Okavango River.

The problem for us is that it is about a 6 or 7 hour drive to Maun from there plus you lose an hour when you cross into Botswana and the border crossing can take an hour.

We had to forfeit our second night there and move closer to Maun in order to be at the Maun airport to drop our vehicle and catch a plane by 1pm. This was not the Lodge's fault." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Ndhovu"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2017
"We are not sure if the couple in charge were managers or owners. The lady was very friendly and helpful, the man was very off- hand. We had to ask both days for the "donkie" to be lit so that we could have hot water.

We arrived at midday, but were not offered lunch. Perhaps we should have asked, but we waited a couple of hours and then asked if we could have something to eat. We were given a packet of crisps. However when dinner was served in the evening, it was very good.

We were seriously outnumbered by the other German guests. We do not speak German, but the host made no attempt to make us feel more comfortable at the communal dining table." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
M & M of
Auckland

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2016
"A nice set up and location. The tents and lodge were a little tired and could do with a spruce up.

The food was great however the service needed some prompting. It was unfortunate the main host was away and this may have made a difference.

We liked the honesty book for drinks and the boat trip and safari were great." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Hippos grunting in the night at Ndhovu"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2016
"Nice roomy tented accommodation with fully enclosed ensuite, on the banks of the river and set amongst trees that were teeming with birdlife. It was nice in the night to hear the hippos grunting happily and then to wake to the sound of glorious birdsong in the early morning. Elements of the camp did however look a little tired.

The camp is located a short drive from the Mahango National Park and we did an early morning self-drive through this which was excellent.

The camp food was good - we especially liked the smoked zebra on the breakfast meat platter!- and the staff and service were good, even though the friendly host and hostess were apparently leaving the camp a few days after our departure. Communal dining enhanced the evening at the camp

We went on the sun-downer river trip which was enjoyable both for the trip and the company of two of the other guests." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Waterloovi

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2016
"located well with a nice NP within 15mins where roan antelope were seen & elephant very close up plus other game & birds
very nice lodge boat trip was very good with birding & wildlife abundant saw 5 giant kingfishers & otter
very good hosts" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs J
IOW

"A pleasant little camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"The camp and its location very good.

Average game viewing opportunities, though the river trip and our own self drive in Mahango were excellent. The final access road to the camp is about 2km long and very sandy and difficult in places - we got bogged down and needed a push twice.

Ideally we should have had a high clearance vehicle or 4WD, though this was the only place in the trip where it was a problem." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
"Well worn tented accommodation. The owner and manager were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They offer an honesty bar where you help yourself and then record it in a book ready to pay on leaving. We went on a game drive across the river which was led by Ely who looked after us really well and was extremely knowledgeable of the Caprivi Strip.

Evening meal was on a shared table with other guests which is a good way to get to know other travellers. The food was extremely wholesome and tasty." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr J
Hants

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"Lovely location on the banks of the river. Lots of hippo to watch.

Mahangu National Park is just down the road and is highly recommended.

Much smaller than Etosha but with a very good variety of wildlife." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs C
Lancs

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"We slept in the floating pontoon which was a lovely experience with hippo noises around us!

The camp was looking tired and the managers had only been in for a short time as the owner was away. Swimming pool was looking uninviting and the general appearance of the place was in need of a makeover.

However, there was a good viewing area to see the hippos and we spent an hour watching them in the water at close quarters the next day before we left and that was special." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"Another great location"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"Situated on the banks of the Okavango just before the river begins forming its delta. The tents were very comfortable and Klaus, the manager, took us on our own personal safari into Mahango National Park. We saw numerous hippo, elephant and ostriches being chased by around 50 baboons who were after their 12 chicks!

We also enjoyed the sundowner cruise here and saw our first snake - a Western African Green Snake.

The owners dog was lovely as well!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 126
88%
126 reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
52
7
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa