This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Waterloovi

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2016 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 14 Oct 2016 and 28 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"having been on many other safaris can safely say this was right up there with those costing much more
the wildlife has been stunning & if your happy to self drive this is for you
would recommend without question

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

do not talk down the government camps in etosha as they are the best if you want instant access to the park & have fantastic water holes"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch Guest Farm

"Etango Ranch Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"great location for late flights into namibia,owner collects from airport
good for 1 night stay"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"excellent in all aspects except room lacked air con which in the the dry season & 40C made sleep almost impossible
the game drives were excellent as was the food & the main accomodation"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"the camp is superbly located & unparallelled with the floodlit water hole
saw 6 rhinos in 1 night & instantly in the park
if your looking for high go elsewhere but the rooms have air con & you can take breakfast before NP opens"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"location excellent saw both rhino & lions at nearby camp namutoni
the wildlife around waterholes was superb & access to eastern side of etosha was great
air con in rooms a major bonus"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2016
"lovely lodge for a break from game drives with nice pool & relaxing enviroment
closeby etosha but would still stay at namutoni as preference given inside park & air con rooms"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"why stop here?? drive on 2 hours & save yourself a lost day
only activity was a boat trip on a low level water with next to no wildlife
camp dated poor rooms with no air con"
Poor
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2016
"located well with a nice NP within 15mins where roan antelope were seen & elephant very close up plus other game & birds
very nice lodge boat trip was very good with birding & wildlife abundant saw 5 giant kingfishers & otter
very good hosts"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2016
"if the lodge had air con & the boat was running (water level too low ) there is a lodge closeby which has air con which in the dry season i would recommend"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2016
"everything about muchenje was excellent
wildlife was outstanding wild dogs observed , 2 leopard sightings & lions a plenty not to mention elephant paradise also numerous sable antelope
all day game drive / boat safari simply stunning
great hosts with excellent food
rooms & main areas are well managed & equipped
staff superb"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2016
"a real indulgence which ticks all the boxes location & service world class
even the food was value for money although drinks can be pricey
only thing to be aware of is that they want you to vacate your room by 10.30 & this can be awkward with a later afternoon flight although after speaking to manager i was able to secure room to 1pm"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

south tanzania

Tanzania between 2 Aug 2011 and 10 Aug 2011

Trip rating: Good
"apart from land rover overcrowding at mdonya the trip was very good

i do feel the information provided should be clear around the scarcity of the leopard/cheetah/wild dogs in the parks as had we not seen these on our previous african trips this would have been a major disappointment

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

ensure that the specific trip goal eg leopard opportunities is fully understood"

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2011
"biggest disappointment was that we had to share a land rover with 5 others!
also no leopard/wild dogs/cheetah were sighted which given the information
the camp itself met expectations
the other wildlife especially lions/elephant & giraffe sightings were excellent"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2011
"having highlighted the problems (mdonya ) with the manager at this camp we were accomodated with our own land rover
the camp was well positioned & had an abundance of very well conditioned animals with lions prolific - six different sightings with over 70 lions seen.
again no leopard or wild dogs were sighted & cheetah are not seen in Selous. the guide & driver could not be faulted for knowledge & effort
they were very accomodating with full day full on safari
the boat on the lake was also excellent with numerous hippos/crocodile & wading birds"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun (formerly the Holiday Inn) review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2011
"hotel was 45 min drive through busy dar es salem traffic but good quality"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

vic falls & botswana safari

Botswana and 1 other country between 2 Apr 2010 and 13 Apr 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"outstanding trip - botswana has more than lived up to expectations and compares very favourably to other safari's i have been on (south africa/kenya)

the game is superb and the camps/staff outstanding

if going to victoria falls it is more than worthwhile upgrading to royal livingstone

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

as mentioned if staying over in joburg ensure stay is in an onsight airport hotel"

Image alt

Southern Sun OR Tambo, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 2 Apr 2010
"unfortunately flight delay 5 hours left us at joburg airport at 2.30 am, no one was there to greet us and the place was deserted, taxi to hotel taken was scary as we were being followed.

it would greatly help to have been booked into the intransit hotels at airport"
Terrible
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"royal livingstone"

3 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2010
"upgraded to royal livingstone which was a major result with this being an outstanding hotel, the other hotel was more of a holiday camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"lebala"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2010
"outstanding in every way, superb location great rooms and fantastic staff

wild dogs were observed on 3 out of 4 game drives including a successful hunt, there must be at least a 90% chance of seeing these fantastic animals at close quarters. other game was also excellent with leopard sighting being another high"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"kwara camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2010
"another superb camp at least matching if not surpassing lebala.

game drives were awesome, extremely flexible were happy to accomodate a full days safari. Janet the manageress was incredible and could not do enough.

leopard spotted on 2 occasions with great sightings, cheetah also seen on 2 occasions, lions were very prevailent and numerous were seen"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"camp kalahari"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2010
"we were the only 2 guests on day 1 & only a further 2 were there for day 2

if meerkats are the reason to go then this is a must with 2 virtually habituated troops giving some fantastic interactions

brown hyena are no longer resident & other game at this time was thin on the ground (although we did spot a caracal)

biggest bug bear is the incessant mosquitoes which were ravenous and numerous(cover up)

the staff were friendly & not overbearing with acouple of nice surprises. accomdation is adequate"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team