This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Crooks from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Feb 2022 trip

Botswana between 12 Feb 2022 and 19 Feb 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"We really enjoyed our trip. Visiting Botswana in the rainy season was a more positive experience than some had suggested.

The arrangements made by Expert Africa all worked perfectly high was a boon, especially during this time when COVID has made travel a deal more complicated."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2022
"All the staff - from the Camp manager, our guide (thank you, Ike), our tracker to the catering and domestic staff - were very welcoming and professional.

The food was very good and the accommodation was airy and comfortable. Lodges have interesting views over the river.

There are ample opportunities to see a good range of wildlife - animals, birds and plants - and Ike and our tracker James had a very broad range of in-depth knowledge from which we benefited.

As well as game drives we enjoyed our river boat cruise and our short walking safari. Ike and James were able to respond well to our game viewing requests."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Splash Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2022
"Staying at Splash Camp was a fantastic experience with plenty of up-close animal sightings (including around the camp itself). The staff were able to make us feel confident and safe at all times.

The food at Splash was particularly good.

The camp seems to be very well run and there is a very good atmosphere generated between guests and staff. Our needs and requests were responded to very well. We were lucky to have and excellent guide - Turlock - and tracker - Eric."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2018 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 4 Sep 2018 and 17 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa managed the arrangements for our trip very efficiently and they were all delivered without a hitch. The information we received before our trip was very detailed and is likely to inspire confidence in any traveller. This information can be supplemented by your very informative website.

Josh was very helpful when we needed to contact him and in his communications with us.

We feel that EA delivered a trip experience that was just what we had requested. We are very pleased with the service we received."

Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

"Avani Windhoek Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"The hotel and surroundings are having some renovation work carried out which was a little disruptive. Although efforts had been made to work around this disruption signage could have been better about revised arrangements (like how to get to the parking garage or access a working elevator). Staff were efficient and friendly enough and breakfast was good.

Check in and check out we're both well managed."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

"Onguma Etosha Aoba review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Getting to Etosha Aoba was straightforward and the signposting in the property was clear. We received a warm and apparently genuine welcome.

The food was well cooked, presented and served in very impressive surroundings.

Our room was comfortable and the communal areas inviting. We didn't do any activities based around the lodge itself (choosing to spend our time in the Etosha National Park) but spotted the animals noted below during our drive through the Onguma grounds. Did dik also visited the waterhole overlooked by the dining terrace.

Although it was brief we enjoyed our stay here very much."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"Our stay at Mushara was short, arriving soon before dark and leaving for a long drive quite early the next morning. We did not do any activities in the grounds of Mushara apart from a brief stroll to the viewing hide (where we saw an oryx).

Staff were friendly and efficient. The room was very comfortable.

Our evening meal - in the Boma area - could have been better. Breakfast was good."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"This was the largest and busiest lodge we visited on our trip.

The location overlooking Angola and not far outside Rundu was good with interesting views across the river. The check in was well managed and our room was comfortable. The grounds of the lodge were well kept and easy to stroll in.

Our buffet evening meal included a singing and dancing performance by some of the lodge staff, some of whom appeared to be more enthusiastic than others about their participation."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"This was our favourite lodge on the trip. Arrangements for collection and transfer to the lodge were well managed and we received a warm welcome. The accommodation was good and excellently situated overlooking a tributary of the river. You feel close to nature and the wildlife around the lodge.

Our guide was very helpful throughout our stay. We enjoyed the activities we participated in particularly a trip to the nearby Tsolido Hills. There are excellent opportunities for spotting birds.

The atmosphere around the lodge was friendly and relaxing but the staff at the same time were professional and efficient. Meals are served at a communal table which can lead to good interaction between guests."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"The property was well sited overlooking the river and there were good opportunities to experience the wildlife. Signage to get to the lodge could be improved and the maps provided for self drive routes surrounding it were less than clear.

It is a shame that no drinkable water was provided free of charge but had to be purchased.

The check out was not well managed and there were discrepancies in the billing of couples in our group (of 3 couples) with some items finding themselves on the wrong bill."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Tented Camp

"Jackalberry Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"This lodge is in a very remote location, 23 kilometres from the nearest village down a sandy and rock strewn track. Our guide was at the meeting point in the village when we arrived: travel with him!

The Camp has a spectacular view across the flood plain to the river and into Botswana. There are good opportunities for wildlife and bird spotting. We enjoyed the activities we undertook, an early morning game drive and a river trip.

The meals were good. The staff were friendly and efficient - very eager to please.

It was quite an adventure to visit Jackalberry but one that was most worthwhile."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team