This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C & Mrs K from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

26

Excursions taken

0

Our Oct 2014 Zambia trip

Zambia between 10 Oct 2014 and 23 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"As a whole it was an excellent trip. It wouldn't be everyone's idea of a good time. To see the shoebills required a slog for about a mile through a papyrus swamp which entailed sometimes sinking knee deep in the mire but the guides were excellent at trying to show us where we should step and very good at pulling us out when we didn't. The Kapani game drives were amazing. Just about the only game not seen was rhino. The fruit bats at Wasa were unbelievable.

We have a warning about Jo'berg airport that you may want to pass on to others.

Needing to re-check in on SA Airlines, it proved not at all easy to find the appropriate check in desk. Having just arrived from an over night flight and finally locating Terminal B we were pounced upon by a porter (in uniform) as soon as we walked through the door offering to help. This he duly did - it can be done via check in terminals arranged around the stair way. Having done so he then 'demanded' a tip of disproportionate size which being in an unprepared state ( due to the early hour and previous confusion) we proffered. Later calculations, of course, revealed that we'd been 'done'. We felt, upon reflection, that he had positioned himself in readiness to target expectedly confused travellers entering through that route from terminal A."

Wasa Lodge

Wasa Lodge

"Wassa lodge safari"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2014
"The safari drives and guides were good althought the 'game' life was a little limited the birds were good. The trip to the top of a tree drinking sundowners while watching the million or so migratory fruit bats emerging from their roost was excellent. The hippo's in the lake at the lodge ware a daily entertainment.

On the negative side, the huts could take a little refurbishment and the plastic taps used in the shower are very difficult to operate.

The tsetse flies are rather troublesome in some areas at certain times of the day and the warnings about skin coverage and insect repellent are nearly useless. These things are completely unperturbed by DEET and will bite through thin shirts and socks."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp

"Shoebill Island Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2014
"The staff were great and gave excellent service. Food was simple but good and well cooked and generous in quantity.

They found us shoebills on our second day. The drives and walks were excellent especially for birds. Once again the game was limited but that was expected. Black Lechwe were in abundance and there were a couple of surprises like wild pig and jackal.

On the down side. The camp, while expectedly basic, seemed to be taking basic to new levels. The tents were in need of repairs. e.g. the zips on our tent didn't close properly and I saw another tent with a rip in the front flap. The 'ensuite' toilet and shower were in need of attention. The cement floor was breaking up. The use of the plastic plumbing and the same plastic taps as at Wasa caused me real problems here. These were even stiffer and in the end exacerbated the arthritis in my thumb joints which caused pain for the rest of the trip. The one to the wash basin fell off one time risking running out of water to the toilet as all the water was hand filled into our individual header tank. The lights in the main dining room, lounge hut were led lamps powered from an inadequate solar panel/battery system which ran out on the last night.
This sounds like a major complaint but it isn't. I'm just trying to point out some of the short comings of the camp which I believe could be eradicated by the application of of a little effort and relatively small amount of money."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Poor
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Great safari at Kapani"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2014
"Great game drives with good guides. Lovely rooms and good food.

Lots of game including leopard, lion and wild dog."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2014
"Well placed to visit the falls as was the intention. Good views over the river and from rthe evening river trip of the national park in Zimbabwe. The trip to the falls was well guided and driven though the falls were, expectedly, not at their best.

The last evening's river trip or "booze cruise" as it was referred to by the owner and her friends who joined us in the boat having just arrived from the UK was most entertaining and enjoyable!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sept 2012 5088Km trip.

Namibia and 1 other country between 20 Sep 2012 and 13 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"I can't find enough superlatives to describe the overall experience of the trip (despite the few difficulties listed in the wider feedback). In fact, even the tyre problems, listed at the begining of the document, were a part of the overall experience and have now become a signifiicant part of the 'adventure' and of the telling.

This was very well organised and the accomodation excellent. I can't thank Sabina enough.

A great trip though hard work at times. Deffinitely not a holiday for those with poolside inclinations but what an adventure.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Some additional recomendations for any one doing a similar trip at this time i.e probably wanting to see the flowers. Don't miss out a trip round the cape for wild protea. Don't miss out Kirstenbosch. On the journey north take the coast road from Cape Town and take in the West Coast National Park with the Postberg reserve. The flowers are stunning and there are also game and bird viewings to be had. The coast road is good with good tarmac. Make sure your car has a ZA sticker on the back as the Namibian police at the Orange river border will threaten to fine you if you don't get one put on at the service station just after the border.

As soon as you get into Namibia go to the service station anyway and get your type pressures checked and deflated to about 1.80 - 2.00Atm for the gravel roads or you risk having punctures."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"Lovely hotel with really good food. On the first night there was a wine comparison dinner and they let us join in. The prices were quite reasonable too.

There is WiFi in the rooms but not free."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"A really welcoming guest house only providing B&B (unless full) but breakfast was good. They reserved a table for us at a local restaurant/pub which served good but basic food. Nonetheless making us feel special. It was some walking distance from the lodge.
The town is well placed for the mountains, Lamberts bay and the rock art trail.

They have WiFi which they give you a password for if you ask. It's free but you need to sit close to the owners' cottage."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2012
"The guest house was ok. The rooms are slightly quaint but reasonably comfortable. The town (Springbok) feels rather 'seedy'
Lots of liquor stores with guards and drunks hanging around trying to beg. Hence maybe the town influenced our perception of Annie's.
Breakfast was good. One great innovation is a toaster on every table - no lost toast.
There is free WiFi in the rooms.

The nearby national park (by the airport) is charming."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"Lovely lodge. Many of the cabins are a significant distance form the restaurant etc. but the paths are good and staff help to bring in luggage. Most of the cabins have good views over the desert for spectacular skies and sunsets. Cabins are individualy built around natural boulders. They could benefit by having a small fridge provided.

Food is good and on our second evening the staff performed local songs for diners.

The lodge is well placed for the canyon and also for petrol (14Km) at the Canyon Roadhouse but only accesible over ~100Kn of gravel and sand roads from north or south."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Very restful evenings at Eagle's Nest"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2012
"A down side for anyone who wants the restaurant is that it is 7Km away on a less than good sand road. The up side for those who want to is that they provide a super 'Braai pack' for barbeques and sell wood with firelighters. Each cabin has it's own barbeque and a well stocked fridge (beer and soft drinks) plus a good selection of wines.

The views over the desert are stunning especially in the evening. There is a wood fire provided for cool evenings. ( We used it on the first evening.)

The rest of the cabin was well set out spacious and quite 'chic' in a semi-rustic way with a suite, double bed and a single. There is a kitchenette and dining table too with all pots pans glasses and cuttlery.

We two lovely evenings there with the barbeque and wine 'cellar' on the go. ;-)

The garage in Aus, very convenient for petrol, is also the local shop. It also sells and repairs tyres should you be unfortunate enough to require such facilities by the time you arrive there. Watch out for 'Thomas' hawking carved palm nut keyrings when you stop at the garage. He'll ask your name then quickly carve it on one of his wares to make you feel obliged to buy. If you do don't give much more than N$20 - 30 at the very most. He'll ask for 70 or so."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2012
"This is a really nice lodge with a good restaurant. The cabin rooms are well set up comfortable reasonably spacious and private. The outside shower (there is an inside one also) is tastefully shielded for view and great after a hot day on the dunes. The only thing that lets it down is the lack of lighting on the sandy pathway and the need to use torches provided to go to dinner.

The service is really good though and there is WiFi in the reception.

It is well placed for visiting the dunes but only accessible in either direction over about 300Km of gravel road. The one between Sesriem and Walvis bay is particularly bad especially at the Sesriem end.

The Service station in Sesriem is convenient for petrol and also deals with tyres."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"Another friendly guesthouse with superb rooms. Actually the 'room' was a self contained appartment with living, bed and shower rooms plus a kitchen with full size cooker. There were plates glasses and cuttlery but no pans. We purchased a take away from the local fish restaurant (~150m) and a bottle of wine from the supermarket (~350m) and ate in on the first night.

Breakfast was good and the garden is charming. Parking is in a secure compound. There is free WiFi in the rooms.

Kukis pub opposite the supermarket gives good meals but is busy - best to book. Watch out for hawkers and 'education beggars' if you visit The Tug or the Jetty restaurants, very popular with tourists, on the sea front."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2012
"Superb small lodge of individual cabins built around a boulder strewn hill. The outside bathroom would be cold in winter and the evenings did get cold. The views are again spectacular. The cabins are comfortable and spacious but slightly spartan inside.

The service was really good the food and wine also. Their game and rockart drives are good the game drive especially so. The guide seems very knowlegeable.

The clean your car for you but it's dirty within five minutes of leaving as the only access is via gravel roads. The scenery is spectacular though."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2012
"A nice camp set on a dolomite ridge - 20 cabins set on either side of the top. Views from the cabins over the plains are superb with giraffe, zebra (most likely mountain) and antelope often visible. However, due to it's setting and design with the cabins strung out along the ridge and the facilities at one, end moving around can be difficult as the paths are steep and irregular. There is a motorised buggy which will transport you from cabin to restaurant and back Necessarry after dark as the camp is not fenced. Not really a good place for the elderly or infirm.

The rooms are resonably appointed with fridge and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the plains. Mosquito netting is provided.

Food was good and the service 'ok' but we felt they were a little bit overwhelmed by numbers.

Accessibility to water holes is good. There is one just below one end of the camp and the others, all permanent and close by, are well patronised by good game including rhino and lion.

Watch out upon entering the park and paying the park fee. The rangers won't take 200 Rand notes as they say there are a lot of fake ones in circulation. They don't take cards. (At Okakuejo there is a warning about N$100 notes!)"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"A big camp like a small town but in the bush. There are more than 100 cabins plus a camping ground. In high season the restaurant is very busy. You need to reserve a table. When they are very busy the tend to run out of things like plates.

The food is reasonably good and the service is as good as could be expected.

Cabins are comfortable and fairly well appointed many with fridge, kitchenette, braai, separate bedroom and mosquito nets.

The local water hole is well visited by animals especially at night but gets noisy with tourists.

The largeness of the camp does tend to detract from the overall experience especially after visiting many small 'wilderniess' camps as we had but there are good facilities if you need them. Petrol, swimming pool, food and gift shops. The rangers here can take cards for park fees."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"A very unusual camp quite small. The 'view' rooms are large comfortable and well appoited with a fridge overlooking wild velt but fenced off from the 'cats'. There are also smaller garden rooms around a nice lush little garden. Wild warthog are all around the lodge and in the garden in the afternoon but don't cause problems.

The food and service are very good. Game drives we found to be 'variable' but one out of two was superb and both were enjojable. There is free WiFi in the lounge area.

The lodge is reasonably placed for Windhoek and its aiport these being only a couple of hours or so away on good tarmac roads.

A very fitting end to our trip which, for information, took in some 5088Km of South African and Namibian road."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Namibia - Botswana trip summary

Namibia and 1 other country between 23 Jan 2011 and 10 Feb 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"As a whole the trip was excellent. We had the most wonderful and at times exciting trip. The trip was in many ways better than we had expected.

Our main intent for taking the trip at that time was for birds with any animal sightings (which we had been advised could be difficult due to high grass and many water holes away from the lodges) being regarded as bonus. In the event we saw most of the possible animals and in close proximity. We missed cats and rhino. Getting around in our not 4X4 was mostly possible though not without some mud and water problems. These could mostly be overcome with a litle thought and careful manoevering of the car.

The lodgings were all great and all very different. People in the lodges and outside were all very friendly and helpful. Grateful too when we gave them lifts.
As is indicated below we were very pleased with the way Sabina dealt with all aspect of setting up the trip for us and especially the way the problem of the delayed outward flight was overcome.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I'm mostly using this box to feed back other findings from the trip for information which may be useful to others. In our information we were told that we needed documentation and to take the car into Botswana that this would be taken from us at the border and that we'd have to purchase another to take the car back into Namibia. None of this happened. Other than the driver filling in details of the car in a book at each of the four posts (out and into Namibia, into and out of Botswana) they weren't particularly interested in the car as such. However, we did have to purchase documents to enter Botswana. These were - 1 year's road tax and 1 month entry permission (for the car) costing together 160 Rand (we had no Pula). I think our information only mentioned the entry permission. The tax thing may be new.

We were able to use debit and credit cards in petrol (Shell) stations in Bowsana though one insisted (at the junction onto the Trans-Kalahari Highway) in taking an amount from the card before pumping gas.

Information on the difficulties relation to the electrical sockets and lack of adapters may be useful."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jan 2011
"A great little guest house. It was a shame we only had one night there.

The staff were all very friendly and the food was really good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jan 2011
"Overall the stay at Waterberg was very good. The staff were very good. Some parts of the challet area seemed a little bit run down but they had obiously suffered water damage to some of the paving. The roadways could do with some extra lighting. The walk to the restaurant in the dark was somewhat intimidating especially as we had encountered baboons in the road during the afternoon but it has a marvelous setting.

The wildlife/game drive was excellent.

Overall the experience was very good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2011
"Despite warnings to the contrary, there were plenty of animals in the western Etosha area. Birds were excellent. The lodge was very good.

An important point is that they provided universal electrical outlets so that 'phones and camera's could be charged. Converters to the old British 10amp three (round) pin sockets in normal use in Namibia & Botswana (and other parts of southern Africa?) are impossible to obtain and the standard 'universal' adapters we can get cannot be made to fit.

They also provided a fridge. We had good sightings of antelope, zebra, giraffe, ostrich and other birds. The calcrete roads were mostly quite easily passable in our front wheel drive saloon (Nissan Tiida)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2011
"Another very good lodge. With similar facilities to the previous. (electrical and fridge)

They did not provide mosquito nets but they did provide insecticide spray and repellant. We had great sightings of birds and elephant on the way through the park (and other animals).

We had a sighting of warthog with babies in the lodge area on the second evening. There were also mongoose."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jan 2011
"A nice little lodge in a lovely setting on the banks of the Okavango and overlooking Angola. Somewhat difficult to access due to excess water in the Okavango washing away their road.

However thay did an excellent job of getting us in and out by boat and even washed our car which was carrying a large amount of Etosha mud at that point. We were the only patrons.

Mosquito nets were provided."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2011
"Lovely tented lodge on the banks of the Okavango. They do a really good evening boat trip. There were great bird sightings plus croc and hippo. We were the only patrons.

The location is good for the Mahango park and the Papa falls although both were suffering from excess water and we couldn't drive very much of the park roads. Bird and animal sightings were very good though.

Access to the lodge was by boat and then 4X4 as the access road was flooded though we didn't have a problem getting to the boat pick up point where they'd set up a tent 'garage' for the car and posted a lookout to wait for us.

They provided a coffee machine universal electrical outlet mosquito nets and insect repellant."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2011
"The gravel road to the lodge was ok and the Lodge's dirt road was passable though there were many large puddles across the width of it. it only became unpassable (for us in an ordinary saloon car) in the last 100m before the gate where the river had flooded it. They were able to pick us up in a 4X4.

It was a lovely lodge. Ther was no provision for charging in the room (which was huge and beautifully appointed) but it was available at the reception.

The morning game and evening river trips were superb. Great hippo sightings in the evening. Good animals and birds in the morning esp. warthog and baboon.

Mosquito nets and repelant were provided."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2011
"Another very nice lodge. The way in was a little tortuous taking nealy 40 mins by 4X4 pickup and then boat. Their transfer point from pickup to boat is getting further and further from the lodge it seems. The boat is alway needed since the lodge is on an island.

The location is wonderful. At least one of the boatmen (our guide) is very knowlegable in birds. The trips are superb. We had excellent views of fish eagle amonst others.

The staff and owners were very friendly. The open fronted rooms were provided with mosquito nets, insect repellant and repellant burning coils for the night."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"Kalahari Arms Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2011
"A comfortable hotel quite well appointed. The rooms were a little basic by some standards but clean and well maintained. No fridge but they provided ice.

Battery charging is possible via shaver point in the bathroom (and an EU converter). There was a TV (though we hadn't really missed that in other places!) We did have a little trouble finding the hotel as it isn't signed from the main road but it was only a matter of a few minutes. Latterly we realised that it is visible from the main road if you look down the appropriate side road as you pass.

The food was very good."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

"Kalahari Bush Breaks review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2011
"The lodge was easy to find and access and the owners and staff very welcoming. We were the only patrons.

The lodge and rooms are superb. The food was very good and there were soome good animal and bird sightings around. (Warthog, kudu and impala at the water hole) Impala outside the room window in the morning. It was sad we only had one night there."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2011
"The route from the main road to the lodge (~50 Km calcrete + 3Km sand track) was easily accomplished in our car.

The lodge being built of adobe looks mexican but the rooms are beatifuly set out and very comfortable. We, sadly, didn't manage to see porcupine. Again it was sad to only spend on night. The owner was very friendly (as were the staff) and allowed us to over run the official checkout time as we were heading for the airport (at the end of the calcrete road) in the evening.

This lodge provided the best food of the whole trip. (Though all of the food was good )"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team