This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by P & S from Pickering

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Our South Africa & Namibia travels

Namibia and 1 other country between 25 Nov 2016 and 14 Dec 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"South African Airways was a disappointment. O.R.Tambo needed more time on the outward journey due to long queues at immigration.

Hotel, Lodges and Guesthouses were on the whole excellent. Meals were of a good standard.

Some of the driving was not for the fainthearted! Road surfaces varied from excellent tar roads to poor dirt roads, none impassable! As expected!

We had a wonderful time for our second visit to Namibia, very friendly people. South Africa is equally friendly."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2016
"Lovely hotel, attentive staff, we will be happy to return in the future.

Lovely location although we found their map slightly confusing.

We did no activities here."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2016
"At the edge of Clanwilliam. Two nights were sufficient.

We had dinner at Michaels on Park, just along the road. Food excellent. Michael was very friendly and attentive.

The street lighting was sparse for the walk back so a torch is advisable.

No activities."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 1 Dec 2016
"Good for a one night stay.

We had dinner at Tauren Steak Ranch nearby. We did not want to walk any further."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2016
"Overall a good location, well presented.

Sundowner walk set off time was too early, at the viewpoint we had to wait about 40 minutes before the sun started to set.

We had to ask for drinks as none were offered at the viewpoint."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

"Namtib Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Dec 2016
"The lodge could be described as a wilderness lodge! quite a way from Aus the nearest town. We had a lovely welcome, dinner was excellent, very friendly and helpful hosts.

From C13 junction the D707 is quite poor with sandy patches north of Nantib access track. I recommend that a backtrack to C13 is advised.

No activities."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Dec 2016
"We did not take the trip to Sossusvlei, it left at I believe at 6am.. We drove to the Dead Vlei shuttle instead. We spent most of the day in the park and saw all we wanted without the early rise!

If we were infirm the access to the tents(rooms) would have been difficult, stony narrow paths.

No activities."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze Guesthouse

"Sea Breeze Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2016
"Excellent welcome, everyone very friendly and helpful.

Located a distance from the centre of the old town, happily a new-ish mall is nearby with food outlets and a new restaurant "Blue Grass" which opened earlier that week. Blue Grass has a pleasant atmosphere. We had a good meal although the service was a bit slow, it is finding its feet.

We also had dinner at "The Wreck". We had an excellent meal and good service.

Swakopmund has grown a lot since we were last there in 1999.

No activities."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Dec 2016
"Wilderness is a bit of mis-description as the location is not far from Omaruru. They have piped water from the municipality, (faulty at the time of our visit) and mains electricity.

We were shuttled the last kilometre to reception in a 4X4.

Access to the tents(rooms) is up steep paths/steps which were tricky in the dark.

No activities."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2016
"We opted for a game drive into Etosha on our first evening,We saw plenty of game but no Elephants, Rhino or Lion, just our bad luck. The guide was excellent.
In hindsight we should have taken the reserve game drive as they have Elephants and Rhino on the reserve..

The second day we self drove into Etosha, still no Elephants or Rhino although we did see a Lion at the camp waterhole after dark.

A two night stay would have been sufficient time for us."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Dec 2016
"We were upgraded to Bush Camp as this was our last night in Namibia. A very nice surprise. Really excellent facilities.

We took the evening game drive looking for Leopard. We found one and also a thunder & lightening storm complete with heavy rain! The drive was shortened because of the storm but we did see a Leopard!

We also went on the morning game drive and found Cheetah and Leopard, job done. The guide was excellent.

We would have liked a second day at Okonjima, one night was not enough! We had to leave at 11.00 to catch our plane home!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team