This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Annie's Cottage

Reviews of Annie's Cottage

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Annie's Cottage and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Guy and Sarah
Kent

"Lovely place"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"A gem of a guest house in the town of Springbok. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to a lovely room with fresh bed linen. The room itself was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We only stayed here one night but it was a very pleasant place to say within an hour of the Namibian border.

A word of praise for the staff here; we inadvertently left our portable hard drive at the hotel and were not able to make any contact with them for a couple of days. When we did, they reassured us that the hard drive had been found and was safe and they even emailed us some of the contents which we needed for later in the trip. It is customer service gestures such as this that make Annie's an excellent place to stay. I only wish we had had another night." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Annie's Cottage review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"We stayed for two nights and Annie's cottage offers a good option as a base to explore the area and enjoy the flowers!" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D.T.R
Corby

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 22 Feb 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J
Hants

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"I've given Annie's Cottage an Average mark, but it's not really their fault. Springbok can only be regarded as an overnight stay on the road to Namibia - there's nothing there and it was freezing cold on the night we stayed. Luckily electric blankets were supplied.

We booked a triple room and what we were given was really a double with an extra bed by the door. However, I doubt that there is anywhere better in this town. We came, we stopped, we left - nothing more to say. Annie's Cottage was sufficient." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"Annie's Cottage is delightful"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"What a lovely place, lovely 'quirky' rooms, and a pretty garden

We were greeted by Petronella, the owner, who gave us tea and biscuits on the terrace, and then showed us to our rooms, which were all very different. Petronella told us where we could go to see the flowers. She also booked a restaurant for us for dinner.

We were lucky that it had rained the previous day, so the carpets of flowers were fully open, and beautiful.

We had excellent breakfasts, (each table has its own toaster, what a good idea!)

The staff were all superb. Very pleasant and efficient. Petronella made sure she spoke to every guest at breakfast.What a lovely place." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Annie's Cottage - 1 night"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2012
"Only one night as we were just passing through, but there was a warm welcome on arrival when we were shown to our uniquely furnished, but very comfortable room, although by the morning we felt that the bed was not the most comfortable that we have ever slept in.

Long chat with Pet Trumplemann at breakfast who thrives from meeting and talking to guests." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2012
"The guest house was ok. The rooms are slightly quaint but reasonably comfortable. The town (Springbok) feels rather 'seedy'
Lots of liquor stores with guards and drunks hanging around trying to beg. Hence maybe the town influenced our perception of Annie's.
Breakfast was good. One great innovation is a toaster on every table - no lost toast.
There is free WiFi in the rooms.

The nearby national park (by the airport) is charming." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms N & Mr S
Bristol

"A good stop off location"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2011
"We only really used Annies Cottage as a stop over to break a long journey. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Chipstead

"Annie's Cottage review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2010
"The best thing about this place is its charming garden. We were rather put off by a long list of House Rules posted in the bedroom!

In fact, we checked out after 2 (out of 3 booked) nights, but that was primarily because there is little to do in Springbok in the absence this year of the usual Namaqualand floral display. And the restaurant options are dire." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs A
Norfolk

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 14 Dec 2009
"The mosquito nets were decorative not efficent and the breakfast average but the room was quiet and spacious with a good bathroom." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 24
84%
24 reviews of Annie's Cottage by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
6
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge is an elegant Victorian House in the heart of Clanwilliam. Here you'll find four individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with large Victorian baths, separate showers, air-conditioning and fresh flowers throughout.


88% (23 reviews)
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View

High on a hill overlooking Springbok, Mountain View Guest House has 10 suites. Most have a private patio and their own entrance, and outside you'll find a peaceful garden with indigenous plants and also a small swimming pool.


87% (19 reviews)
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

The Farmhouse Hotel is located in the seaside town of Langebaan with sweeping views of the Langebaan Lagoon. An ideal place to explore the remoter west coast.


87% (17 reviews)
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve, a luxury 16-room lodge and spa, offering game drives, visits to the area's prolific rock art, botanical tours, nature trails and hiking.


97% (14 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa