This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Annie's Cottage

Reviews of Annie's Cottage

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Annie's Cottage and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Annie's Cottage"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2017
"A good place to stay for one night. Well-appointed room with place to park the car outside.

Friendly owner.

Excellent steak in town." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
P & S
Pickering

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 1 Dec 2016
"Good for a one night stay.

We had dinner at Tauren Steak Ranch nearby. We did not want to walk any further." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
R & J
Edinburgh

"Annie's Cottage review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2016
"A lovely welcoming quirky place where we felt instantly at home. Wonderful room, bathroom and outside patio.

A perfect base from which to explore Namaqualand and its amazing flowers. Secure parking.

Very good restaurant just down the road - Tauren steak ranch." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"A good place to stop-over"

1 night Arrived 20 Apr 2016
"Annies Cottage is a quirky place in Springbok - which to be honest is a town with not a lot going on. The Goegap nature reserve that would have been good to visit was not possible as we were only there for one night and as we didn't arrive until mid afternoon it would have closed shortly after we got there. But it meant we enjoyed a relaxing afternoon on our terrace before going to the Tauren Steak Ranch which is a bit of an institution and great food/fun/atmosphere.

I would stop here again - but as a stop over again or in the spring season as a base to Namaqualand which is obviously their high season. The town has everything a town needs, lots of 'locals' come into town and it's a crossroads and was very good when we needed to get some medication.

Its a very Africaaner place - but generally we got on OK in English. Not many British go here, so most locals assumed we were German which was quite amusing.

The drive up from Clanwilliam was spectacular and on from there to Namibia - it would be worth going again just for this part of the trip." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Guy and Sarah
Kent

"Lovely place"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"A gem of a guest house in the town of Springbok. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to a lovely room with fresh bed linen. The room itself was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We only stayed here one night but it was a very pleasant place to say within an hour of the Namibian border.

A word of praise for the staff here; we inadvertently left our portable hard drive at the hotel and were not able to make any contact with them for a couple of days. When we did, they reassured us that the hard drive had been found and was safe and they even emailed us some of the contents which we needed for later in the trip. It is customer service gestures such as this that make Annie's an excellent place to stay. I only wish we had had another night." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Annie's Cottage review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"We stayed for two nights and Annie's cottage offers a good option as a base to explore the area and enjoy the flowers!" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D.T.R
Corby

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 22 Feb 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J
Hants

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"I've given Annie's Cottage an Average mark, but it's not really their fault. Springbok can only be regarded as an overnight stay on the road to Namibia - there's nothing there and it was freezing cold on the night we stayed. Luckily electric blankets were supplied.

We booked a triple room and what we were given was really a double with an extra bed by the door. However, I doubt that there is anywhere better in this town. We came, we stopped, we left - nothing more to say. Annie's Cottage was sufficient." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"Annie's Cottage is delightful"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"What a lovely place, lovely 'quirky' rooms, and a pretty garden

We were greeted by Petronella, the owner, who gave us tea and biscuits on the terrace, and then showed us to our rooms, which were all very different. Petronella told us where we could go to see the flowers. She also booked a restaurant for us for dinner.

We were lucky that it had rained the previous day, so the carpets of flowers were fully open, and beautiful.

We had excellent breakfasts, (each table has its own toaster, what a good idea!)

The staff were all superb. Very pleasant and efficient. Petronella made sure she spoke to every guest at breakfast.What a lovely place." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Annie's Cottage - 1 night"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2012
"Only one night as we were just passing through, but there was a warm welcome on arrival when we were shown to our uniquely furnished, but very comfortable room, although by the morning we felt that the bed was not the most comfortable that we have ever slept in.

Long chat with Pet Trumplemann at breakfast who thrives from meeting and talking to guests." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 28
83%
28 reviews of Annie's Cottage by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
8
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge is an elegant Victorian House in the heart of Clanwilliam. Here you'll find four individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with large Victorian baths, separate showers, air-conditioning and fresh flowers throughout.


86% (26 reviews)
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View

High on a hill overlooking Springbok, Mountain View Guest House has 10 suites. Most have a private patio and their own entrance, and outside you'll find a peaceful garden with indigenous plants and also a small swimming pool.


87% (19 reviews)
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

The Farmhouse Hotel is located in the seaside town of Langebaan with sweeping views of the Langebaan Lagoon. An ideal place to explore the remoter west coast.


87% (17 reviews)
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve, a luxury 16-room lodge and spa, offering game drives, visits to the area's prolific rock art, botanical tours, nature trails and hiking.


97% (15 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Newsletter background

Stay in the know with Expert Africa

Join our newsletter. Get the latest on new camps and lodges, insights from our team, uplifting conservation stories and more...

A few more details and you're subscribed

Thanks!

Look out for your confirmation email and exciting updates in your inbox.

Take a look at our previous Bush Telegraph newsletters.
Africa