This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by DeGoler Clan from CA, USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

3

My Jun 2021 trip

Rwanda and 3 other countries between 19 Jun 2021 and 19 Jul 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had the most amazing trip this summer for three key reasons:
1) Expert Africa,
2) Giving Back to Africa,
3) Enjoying the benefits of traveling during Covid.

First, Expert Africa, and in particular Maruska, helped us work through all the challenges that Covid 19 presented during planning. Our original trip was for 2020 so we had to deal with many flight changes and reworked our complicated itinerary several times. When planning for 2021 there were important details Maruska worked through for us regarding transitions between countries, all of which required covid testing and declaration documents etc. It was a little tricky because we were traveling to so many countries over just a couple of weeks, but with Expert Africa's help it all came together perfectly. Having Expert Africa people on the ground in each country understanding the situations and meeting us and smoothing the way at every step made it painless and very VIP. Everywhere we went in all countries the local people were very helpful and understanding.

Secondly, the locals who rely on tourism were so happy to see us that it made our trip that much more rewarding. We felt like we were giving back to them by supporting their important tourism industry all the while we got to experience a most amazing vacation.

And third, we were able to enjoy our sightseeing with limited other tourists which made it all absolutely exclusive and magical. Our transfers and flights were awesome because we had room to spread out. The number of guests at the hotels, lodges, safari camps was still low and again we were able to feel like we had the places nearly to ourselves which was very exclusive and lovely.

Everyone we came into contact with was vaccinated, as it is a regulation of the travel and tourism industry and so we were very safe from Covid and never worried.

This was an amazing trip two years in the planning and so we had very very high expectations that were not in any way dampened by covid details - in fact, we benefited by traveling now when we did. Our trip far exceeded our expectations."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel

"Heaven Boutique Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2021
"An intimate and personal hotel with a lovely pool and amazing restaurant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2021
"A beautiful property with fantastic rooms with amazing views and all the amenities.

The pictures do not do it justice at all. It is 5 stars through and through.

The food was incredible and the service was fantastic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2021
"A perfectly acceptable, standard, modern hotel, restaurant and pool."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

21 Jun 2021 • Morning excursion

Our Gorilla Trek was outstanding.

Guides, Trackers, Porters all very kind and helpful and professional.

They did all they could to make the most of the experience for us and it was all that we hoped for.
Excellent
Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

22 Jun 2021 • All-day excursion

This museum is a not to be missed experience.

It is important for the world to know and never forget the horrible things that the local people have experienced very recently. We must remember this history and safeguard from things happening like this again.

Our teenage children learned a lot from the experience as well.
Constance Ephelia Resort

Constance Ephelia Resort

"Constance Ephelia Resort review"

5 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2021
"A beautiful resort with two beaches to choose from, excellent water activities and diving and spa facilities.

We spent 5 full days here with plenty to do to keep us busy and happy. The restaurants are all fantastic and we made sure to try every one of them.

The villa that we stayed in was tranquil and beautiful and very well appointed and designed. We rode bicycles around the property which was very fun also.

We enjoyed this stay very very much."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2021
"We really enjoyed this property.

We've stayed previously at the historic and grand Victoria Falls Hotel and while it was lovely, we much prefer Ilala's medium size and elegant yet relaxed dining, bar and pool areas. Plus it is even closer to the falls.

The location can't be beat and the food and service were also outstanding. We enjoyed seeing warthogs and monkeys on the property too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

29 Jun 2021 • All-day excursion

This was a very elegant and private cruise experience.

The boat was a stunning and well maintained antique. The cruise was very relaxing and beautiful. We had plenty of snacks and drinks and saw the falls from above, many rainbows, tons of hippos, and a couple of crocodiles.

The sunset was magnificent and our captain made sure to get us the best angles for everything.
Excellent
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

"Sable Alley review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2021
"This is a stunning property.

The furniture, decorations, artwork, design all fantastic. The food was outstanding.

The staff were perfectly wonderful and fun to be with.

Everything was top shelf."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tuludi

Tuludi

"Tuludi review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2021
"We started at the sister property Sable Alley which we loved so much we didn't think it could get better. But the new Tuludi managed to raise the bar even higher. The design of this lodge is beautiful.

The library up top with views out toward the delta are amazing. We saw two herds of elephants slowly walk through. The seating areas for relaxing are many and so beautifully appointed with artwork and curios and designer furnishings. The bar is absolutely stunning. The privates tents are all equally appointed.

We took tons and tons of pictures of the lodge and tents as well as the animals because it was all so stunning and we couldn't believe we got to stay in such a beautiful place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team