This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Loldia House
Loldia House
Loldia House
Loldia House
Loldia House
Loldia House
Loldia House

Reviews of Loldia House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Loldia House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Loldia House.
Leopard

17% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

83% success

Eland

75% success

Aardvark

17% success

Pangolin

17% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Suemac
United Kingdom

"Loldia House review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2024
"A very peaceful place to stay. We did day in Nakuru which was great with rhinos and tree climbing lions." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms Susan
USA

"Loldia House review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2024
"Much less of a safari experience after the Kicheche camps, but this was the perfect end to our trip.

We were exhausted and took advantage of the pool and massages available.

The grounds are so lush, it was wonderful to have a day "off" from driving to walk a bit, admire the birds (amazing bird life on the property! Jacana, Hammerkop, Mousbirds, and those crazy, crying Fish Eagle)." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Tom & Lisa
Plymouth

"Loldia House review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2024
"Loldia House was a great place to relax at the end of our safari. It's not in as exciting a location as the tented camps, and the rooms were a little smaller and less inviting. But what we really appreciated was the chance to slow down, skip game drives at times, and just enjoy a less scheduled experience.

We went out on a boat in the lake twice, both times very enjoyable. We took two night drives, which were both eye-opening and enjoyable in part because they were shorter (at two hours) than a standard game drive. After several days spending long hours in vehicles, it was great to be able to walk the grounds, to swim, to sit in chairs on the lawn.

Our server, Constant, was a constant (and welcome) presence, eager to help in any way, especially for me, since by this point my swollen foot limited my ability to walk very far. We had lovely breakfast and lunches on the lawn, surrounded by a garden, and enjoying the frequent presense of monkeys in the trees and hippos in the lake and grazing on the grass just outside the fence. Dinner was a little more formal and the food, while good, was not at the quality level of our other lodges/camps.

Some of our group had a day trip to nearby Crescent island, which they enjoyed and highly recommended for the chance to walk among animals in their habitat and view a large number and variety of birds.

Despite my caveats, I would highly recommend this place for a two (perhaps three) night stop at the end of any safari.

Unlike our previous locations, the manager was not much of a presence. By contrast, Anne, Lisa's masseuse and on the staff elsewhere, was warm and welcoming." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs C
London

"Loldia House review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2024
"Excellent all round. One caveat-Any traveller considering trips out at any distance from the lodge, the traffic on the roads is terrible which makes any journey quite long." See all these reviews: 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

N&C
Poole

"Loldia House review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2024
"We had stayed at Loldia previously, at the end of 2016, when the New Year was heralded by a Scottish family on bagpipes. The temporary manager at the time was a lady called Rachel, abetted by yellow lab Scotty.

Loldia is no longer actively hosted, as it was by Rachel, and no longer has communal dining at a shared table, but it is still a lovely sociable place.

We previously stayed in Room 1 in the main house, which we liked a lot. This time we had Room 6 which was equally good. It has a huge shower, freestanding bath and a fireplace, which was an asset on chilly afternoons and evenings (we had a couple).

We passed on the day trip to lake Nakuru as we had done that previously. We did go on a boat trip on the lake, went horse riding and visited the museum at Elsamere.

The swimming pool is a lovely new addition to the property." See all these reviews: 20n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

P and S
Chilterns

"Loldia House review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2023
"Very good throughout." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Olga
Dubai

"Beautiful place!"

1 night Arrived 3 Apr 2021
"Very client oriented staff!

Delicious food!" See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

P&JG
Scotland

"Loldia House - a little gem on Lake Naivasha"

4 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2019
"We chose to stay at Loldia House for the last four nights at the end of a wonderfully exciting and interesting three week itinerary. We had already enjoyed weeks of energetic activity, including many game drives elsewhere, so we were really just looking for a few days of R&R in beautiful and relaxing surroundings. Loldia House perfectly fitted the bill.

We had privacy and seclusion in a cottage in the lovely, lakeside gardens. The main house provided all the comforts of a mature family home, with a pleasant drawing room for aperitifs and chat before dinner (make sure to look at the fascinating family album on the piano) and an elegant dining room for sociable dining each evening. Breakfast and lunch al fresco on the lawn outside. The staff were all wonderfully attentive and, during our visit, our host was the hugely knowledgeable Dave Richards, who seemingly knows everything there is to know about Africa's birds and wildlife and has written many books on the subject.

Our wonderful, calm and patient driver/guide Juma had a similarly encyclopaedic knowledge of birds and wildlife and is apparently blessed with telescopic vision, being able to spot tiny creatures during our several excursions locally and around Lake Naivasha. Juma also magicked up two first rate picnic lunches for us on our various outings. We did a final, long day drive north up to Lake Nakuru National Park in order to tick off the one remaining elusive character of the Big Five, and were rewarded by sightings of both white and black rhino.

The perfect end to a wonderful holiday!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Hinckley

"Loldia House and Lake Nakuru N.P."

2 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2017
"Very nice place to stay as a start to a Kenyan safari being within a sensible drive (<3hrs) from Nairobi's International airport.

We were made very welcome on arrival - appreciating the snack we were offered to see us on to lunchtime. The location is lovely - on the fringes of Lake Naivasha - and the house has extensive (private) grounds with its own wildlife. Our semi-detached bungalow was spacious and well presented. In truth we didn't really need the hot water bottles and fire that were set for us at night, but no doubt there are cooler evenings and they were a nice touch. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful throughout.

The day trip to Lake Nakuru N.P. was worth the journey - between two and a half and three hours each way - with good sightings of rhino and Rothchild's Giraffe and a real treat - tree climbing lions (mum and two cubs). Watching a White and a Black rhino having a pushing match was fun (and not seen before by us) There are not many flamingoes there nowadays, but we did see both Lesser and Greater along with many other species of water bird." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-9 of 9
100%
9 reviews of Loldia House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Rift Valley

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tumbili Cliff Lodge

Tumbili Cliff Lodge

Tumbili Cliff Lodge is located on a low cliff on the western shore of Lake Baringo, in Kenya's Great Rift Valley.


90% (2 reviews)
Mbweha Camp

Mbweha Camp

Mbweha Camp is a well-established safari lodge on private land close to the Nderit Gate of Lake Nakuru National Park in Kenya's Great Rift Valley.


No reviews yet
Island Camp Baringo

Island Camp Baringo

The birding magnet of Island Camp Baringo occupies a part of Ol Kokwe Island In Lake Baringo, in the Great Rift Valley in Kenya.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa