This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms U. from Toronto

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

2

My Mar 2022 trip

Kenya between 4 Mar 2022 and 16 Mar 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wow! It took lots of planning, two years of delay, zigging and zagging in a pandemic with various federal and provincial lockdowns, coordinating four people but we finally made it, and it was fantastic! Remarkably, flights were on time and the logistics went smoothly though we did have a flat tire on the way to the airport on the last day, but fortunately, the flight was late (that was nerve wracking). The people in Kenya could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

Kudos to Olivia who was responsible for the planning of the trip originally. Our goals were to experience Kenya and a bit of its culture, see lots of animals, and be active. Goals accomplished and expectations exceeded!! And thanks to Richard for his cat herding skills and organizing, then re-organizing, then tweaking yet again as Canadian travel restrictions shifted during Covid times.

With respect to Covid, since the camps are outside and contact with people is minimized, it was a safe experience. I probably saw fewer people in Kenya in two weeks that I would at the grocery store on the weekend.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Keep doing what you are doing!"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2022
"A beautiful place with the most hospitable staff. The four of us were booked into 2 rooms, but because they had availability, they gave us an extra room so that my son and I could each have single room to ourselves, and the girls shared . It was most welcome since we were arriving from Canada after about 20 hours in transit.
In addition, we arrived at midnight, and were very hungry. The chef made us our requested food (pretty sure he got out of bed for this). Again, that was much appreciated.
It was the perfect place to ease into the safari with great food, quiet rooms, and lovely staff. Everyone was so welcoming, and told us how much they appreciated our business."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

5 Mar 2022 • Morning excursion

A fantastic facility, and it was amazing to see the elephants and keepers. Highly recommend.
Excellent
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2022
"Our first stop on our safari! The location, accommodation and food were first class. Loved every minute. The plunge pool was well used, especially since the generator was off during the heat of the day.

The game drives were fantastic. Our driver/guide was experienced, and determined to find animals. We had exceptional sightings of elephants, giraffes, and also cheetahs including two feasting on a recently killed gerenuk, and on another day - a mom and her cubs.

One small detail which would be an improvement. Since everyone is carrying phones and devices, it would be helpful to remind all patrons and staff to turn off their audible notification signals at all times. Nothing ruins nature more than a ping from a cell phone notification. Many high end restaurants and clubs have this policy, and I'd recommend the same at all the camps."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit

Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit

"Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit review"

7 Mar 2022 • Morning excursion

A truly special place, and we're so glad we had the opportunity to visit the sanctuary. While there were similarities to the facility in Nairobi, here we had the opportunity to talk to the keepers and really learn about the details of their program.

There was a one month old elephant who had arrived recently, and was bonding with his keeper. It was incredible to see the personality of this little guy, and the dedication of the keeper.
Excellent
Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

"Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2022
"It's a long way to get here, but worth every minute. The location was incredible, and even more so, the fact that it is all community run. It is one of the most spectacular places that I have experienced. We loved the accommodation, sleeping under the stars, lounging by the pool, rhino walk, and goat roast which was optional (highly recommended). On the last night, after the goat roast, the staff performed traditional dancing and singing. Just fantastic. And again, all community run which makes the support of this facility even more important.

We visited the village and women's cooperative for beading. We wanted to get a taste of the culture and customs, as well as the challenges facing the people, and feel that we did get a sense of the community.

One note about the "afternoon walk" which turned out to be the hike from hell. What started out a walking safari ended up as a hike up the hillside a few hundred feet high, complete with rock scrambles in 95F heat, treacherous terrain, and high altitude. Not what I signed up for. The guide seemed oblivious, and in the future, I suggest all hikes/walks are better described. I love hiking, but not informing us about the intensity was a big mistake on their part. It could have ended poorly with an accident.

And on a wildlife sighting note, a hyrax was a frequent visitor in the cabin. He seemed to like hiding in the roof, and was noisy at times. Fortunately, the kids were fascinated by their unexpected room mate."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

"Basecamp Eagle View review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2022
"Another stellar place! I'm running out of superlatives.

It was much appreciated that they offered us an extra tent (A and B), so the kids had a bit of space to spread out, and I had my own tent. So lovely of them, and unexpected.

Amazing game drives with our driver."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team