This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp


19°29’2.1"S 22°47’37.5"E

Reviews of Nxabega Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nxabega Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nxabega Tented Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr M
Florida

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2013
"We loved this camp because the staff was so much fun--they enjoyed their jobs and their English was very good. This may be due to the manager, Patrick, who seemed like one of the family with staff and guests as well. He was always fun to socialize with whenever the opportunity presented.

At least four people greeted us upon arrival and departure for our treks, with one of the women making us smile with her wonderful ululating. Our tracker, T.T., even ran alongside the airplane waving goodbye when we left the camp. & Beyond still uses trackers which we think enhances the opportunity to find animals. With the tracker and the guide, K.D., we saw lots of animals., particularly lions. In fact, we almost ran over a pride resting in the tall grass, necessitating us to back up so the tracker could get in the vehicle.

The food here was exceptional and inspired me to try imitating some of the salads and egg dishes in particular. We even had a delicious meal served in the bush with romantic lighting of lanterns hanging in the trees overhead." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Texas, USA

"Nxabega - Unique Facility & Great Staff"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2012
"Good Contrast to Sandibe. Game and terrain a bit different. Wonderful service and food. ( Leg of lamb the last night a bit "gristly") . Guide Flame was terrific.

Long ride from Pom Pom a bit of a pain but view as an extra "game drive". At the very top of tented safari camps!" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Newton Abb

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2012
"18hr mains power with battery power after 11pm. 24 hr hot water. Hair drier in room.

Much too far from the airstrip (90 minutes). They claim to have plans for a nearer strip to be built but no date for this." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Mrs M
Peru

"A good start for our trip"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2012
"We enjoyed our stay at Nxabeja specially for the excellent staff and attention.

They catered to my special dietary needs from the first day. The tents were nice but very cold at night! The game tours were excellent, with very good and specialized rangers." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Dorset

"Nxabega - the best food in Africa !"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2012
"Accommodation - This was our second camp in the Delta (the others being Lebala, Kwara and Sandibe) and we stayed here for 2 nights. The tents are well appointed, with private verandahs to sit on and relax - and we also sat down by the pool area, which is beautiful.

Nxabega is set in a very picturesque area of the delta - coming from Lebala, the difference in the environment was quite striking as we drove through the concession to the camp, over some lovely rustic bridges!

Our first evening was spent taking a small motor boat cruise through the channels, and enjoying a glass of wine/G&T as the sun went down. Returning to dry land, we returned to the Jeep for a night drive, and had a fantastic surprise when we were taken for a Bush Dinner. I won't spoil the surprise for anyone else who happens to be staying at the right time (unfortunately, these dinners only happen once a week - and even that isn't guaranteed) - but if you are lucky enough to experience one, then it is a truely wonderful evening! I especially enjoyed the Astronomy Lessons that one of the Guides shared with us.

As I mentioned in the title, the food at Nxabega is fantastic - the team in the kitchen create the most wonderful dishes at every meal, and we would rate the food here as the best we've experienced in Africa (this is our 7th Safari trip in Africa, so we have experienced a few different lodges). Here, you dine at tables set up for your group - so if you are travelling alone, or as a couple, you will dine on your own table, rather than the communal tables approach taken by the Kwando group of lodges.

Wildlife - We were very fortunate to have two fantastic wildlife experiences here at Nxabega. On our first morning we headed out and stopped by the Hyena Den (there are currently 7 Hyena in the pack) to find the Alpha Female nursing 2 very small pups just at the mouth of the den. The pups had their eyes open, but were clearly far too young to be allowed out from the safety of the den - and to have the opportunity to glimpse them was a rare treat (you know you're seeing something unusual when your Guide is also taking photographs!)

Then that evening we found a Leopard Mother and Cub (approximately 5 months old) with an Impala kill. We watched them for a short while - but then returned the following morning, and found them still in the same place, and had the opportunity to watch as the mother finished eating, and then both were moving around and interacting. The cub is still quite shy, and for a while took refuge behind a log, before putting his front paws up and settling down to watch us!

Again, you will also find the usual array of Elephant, Giraffe, Hippo, Warthog, and various different Antelope species (including Red Lechwe and Tsessebe) - and we also found 2 different species of Frog whilst out on the Mokoro ride, and enjoyed watching the Kingfishers, Fish Eagles and other birds.

The wildlife sightings are often much closer than in other parts of Africa, as the Drivers/Guides and Trackers take you off road. Note - we had both a Driver and a Tracker on every Game Drive, so you need to consider that when estimating the amount of cash required for tips." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Shropshire

"Nxabega Return"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2011
"A short twenty minute flight from Maun brought us to the Pom Pom airstrip (Nxabega's airstrip is unuseable at present) then a 2 hour game drive to Nxabega where we were met and taken to our tent following the usual formalities.

The tent itself was in a very good position and spotlessly clean. At meal times the food was always plentiful and very well presented. Max and Flame were our guides and were always keen to find us birds as well as the animals.

We drove for miles one day just to seek out a leopard - Max positioned the vehicle in just the right place to get the best views.

This was our second visit to Nxabega and we weren't disappointed." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Witney

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2011
"This camp suffers badly from its lack of a nearby airstrip. The journey from Pom Pom takes nearly 2 hours and the roads are appalling. After the delay with the aircraft (see later), it was not a good start to the visit. Although there were some 'champagne moments', the number and variety of game is more limited than the other 2 camps and it would be tempting to be disappointed. In contrast, the bird life was excellent and we did see a pair of Pel's Fishing Owls! We accept that seasonal variations in game and birds may be in play here, of course.

The managers - Dave and Megan Waddington - are newly-arrived 3 months ago and clearly enthusiastic; every minor comment or complaint was dealt with immediately and efficiently which was very gratifying even when it meant we had to move tents after the first night because the deck was deemed unsafe. Query: why hadn't it been checked before we tripped on a loose board?

The food was good and beautifully presented but there was so much on each occasion that we were concerned about the amount that, potentially, could be wasted; it would be good to know that it wasn't." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Greece

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2011
"This was our sixth visit to this camp. There have been many nice small improvements. New furniture in the lodge, small additions to the tents etc. There is also now a cover over the boat which was planned when we were last there. We have always described the cuisine as being exceptional. It sounds impossible but there have also being improvements there thanks to Amanda the catering manager in Maun.

As usual we will not comment on sightings as their presence on the concession is luck. The sudden appearance of a young male leopard at sundowners at the camp one evening was a highlight though, especially when it stole the cushion I had been sitting on two minutes earlier.

This was a good reminder to all that it is an 'open camp' those (not through Expert Africa) who were concerned about this episode were clearly not appraised of this fact by their tour operators." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr B
Washington

"Quite wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2011
"We were delighted by the Nxabega facilities and staff. We had been concerned that because we were traveling in February, during the rainy season, we would not see many animals, etc. Though apparently it did rain heavily in January, it did not rain at all while we were in the Okavongo Delta and we saw a nice variety of animals and a vast array of birds (visitors should be sure to bring their binoculars to the Delta). KB, our guide, was extremely professional and flexible, and really tracked down the animals for us.

The tracking began from the time we arrived at the temporary airport necessitated by the washed out airport at Nxabega. We spent a couple of hours driving to the camp, stopping to picnic along the way, and look at animals. (Plans are underway to build a new airport, but it will probably be awhile). The Nxabega managers, a delightful young couple, went all out to see that our visit was so wonderful. We had a relaxing makoro ride, a beautiful sunset boat cruise, a really great visit to the preferred channel swimming grounds of the managers where we safely (no hippos etc. in this spot) flapped around in the water and sipped champagne, and of course the game rides.

There was an extraordinary surprise "picnic" with huge amounts of good food (in fact all of the meals were quite good). All of the staff went out of their way on our behalf. Quite typically, we experienced this interest in truly serving the visitors a few days after we left Nxabega. The morning we were to leave our next & Beyond camp, Sandibe, my husband couldn't find his cell phone. After a thorough search we decided it must have been left at Nxabuga. The nice managers at Sandibe kindly offered to check. The phone had just been discovered at Nxabega, and no one knew who it belonged to until the phone call from Sandibe. All sorts of elaborate plans were considered to send the phone to us, and then the Nxabega staff checked and figured out that they could bring the phone to the bush plane going to Maun in time for us to pick the phone up at Maun airport, where we were going.

Indeed, when we arrive at the airport, there was a nice &Beyond staff person looking for us with a good sized envelope with our name in bold letters. Throughout, we were very impressed by &Beyond, and this seemed like a special and typical gesture." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Ms M
London

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Dec 2010
"This is a camp set in a stunning location, with a lovely pool and viewing deck.

Sadly the game drives were a bit disappointing, but our guides did make a big effort to ensure that we saw as much as possible. The mokoro trip on the other hand was fantastic (shame it couldn't be a bit longer), and we went on the boat cruise twice because we enjoyed it so much.

Food was brilliant, and we especially enjoyed the candlelit bush dinner, which had taken a lot of effort to prepare." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 34
95%
34 reviews of Nxabega Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
7
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa