This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Greece

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Mar 2011 trip

Botswana between 17 Mar 2011 and 24 Mar 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2011
"This was our sixth visit to this camp. There have been many nice small improvements. New furniture in the lodge, small additions to the tents etc. There is also now a cover over the boat which was planned when we were last there. We have always described the cuisine as being exceptional. It sounds impossible but there have also being improvements there thanks to Amanda the catering manager in Maun.

As usual we will not comment on sightings as their presence on the concession is luck. The sudden appearance of a young male leopard at sundowners at the camp one evening was a highlight though, especially when it stole the cushion I had been sitting on two minutes earlier.

This was a good reminder to all that it is an 'open camp' those (not through Expert Africa) who were concerned about this episode were clearly not appraised of this fact by their tour operators."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A fantastic fifth visit.

Botswana between 18 Mar 2010 and 1 Apr 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"All went very smoothly. A few days of hard work in the first week but with a succesful outcome. Full report to follow."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

The Grace, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"The Grace review"

1 night Arrived 18 Mar 2010
"The service is exceptional when you eventually get attended to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2010
"Full report to follow in due course."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

6 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2010
"Full report to follow in due course. Facilities only average due to state of pool. Activities only good due to boat situation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average

My Mar 2009 trip

Botswana between 12 Mar 2009 and 26 Mar 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Please see my separate full report."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

The Grace, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"The Grace review"

1 night Arrived 12 Mar 2009
"Everything was outstanding as usual.

I have stayed in many of the top hotels in the world and this ranks as one of the best. The service has to be the best."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

6 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2009
"This was our fourth visit and there will be a fifth and more. We tried to stick to the walking and the water activities as the vehicles (URIs) are absolutely terrible. Very rough ride even taking the terrain into consideration. No cover from the sun or rain. On one walk we picked up three bits that had fallen off a vehicle and on a drive part of a wheel jack that had fallen off another vehicle. They are reluctant to start and don't like going through water.

Excellent management, staff, accommodation and food. Personally we would like a little more flexibility in the dining arrangements. Although enjoyable to chat to everyone over dinner we don't like to be rushed into taking our pre-dinner G&Ts to the table – personal view.

We very much like the ambiance of the oil lamps in the evening and after dinner drinks around the fire.

Sorry Little Kwara but we will be back, but may we fly in our own Land Cruiser?"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2009
"This was our fourth visit and there will be a fifth and more. Excellent management, staff, accommodation and food.

The real selling point of this camp is the special 'bush' dining. I will not say more about this as they like these fantastic dinning experiences to be a big secret and a surprise. And what special surprises they were.

This camp is a must. CCA (sorry, &Beyond) have a winning formula at this camp.

It was a big mistake with the re-branding many people think that it is a different company and CCA have sold out. Forget the silly new company name, just go to Nxabega. It goes way 'beyond' any expectations."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

"Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2009
"Sorry didn't go there we just didn't want to leave Nxabega.

Only put average above because the form would not let us continue any further."
Average

Very satisfactory trip

Botswana between 10 Nov 2007 and 25 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was fantastic but the return journey rather long. I don't know why but it seemed even better then last time. Maybe it was because we rebelled and refused to get up at 05.00 and just relaxed in the camp.

Thanks again for a great holiday. We will probably book the same camps for next year except Moremi, perfect, but explanation to follow.

Incidentally we met a young English couple at Nxabega who had booked 'a holiday of a lifetime' through Thompsons. All their connections and bookings were up the shoot. We told them who to book through in their next lifetime."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2007
"Highly recommended, better location than Little Kwara, you only have to sit in the lodge to see the hippos etc outside. The place is looking a little tired. They have now however fitted sliding doors to the tents instead of having to undo 6 zips. There are many things which need renovating.

It has been under various temporary managers for a year. In March it was an excellent training manager. Whilst we were there a new management couple arrived. They are very experienced and had been given the job if they wanted it. They were absolutely over the moon about the place (especially their accommodation). They took over the day we left. We spent quite a lot of time with them and talked about various improvements. I never got to grasps with their names but the lady after day one had five pages of improvements they were going to make.

Everything we mentioned she had already noted. We can't give everything excellent but the staff, the food, the service and location can't be faulted. Our guides were very good but didn't seem to be doing very much tracking. All the other guests very very happy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"Everything excellent. As you know it is a new camp so all pristine. In March there was very weak management. She has left the company and the new manager, Lizzy, is brilliant.

The location is not as good as Kwara as it is not right on the lagoon. But brilliant tents only I couldn't get Henri out of the bath (a luxury we do not have here or indeed hot water). No other comments."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

"Camp Moremi review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2007
"Now then. First we were taken by boat from Kwara but landed at the wrong camp. No complaints we found it very amusing and had already helped ourselves to a beer from their fridge. I don't know where we were but it is right next door. We instantly didn't like it and the management didn't deal with the situation very well - not the beer, but they were completely flustered.

We eventually got to Moremi (5 mins). All we can say about this place is that it is absolutely perfect. Too perfect for us. There was a huge manicured lawn which could have been used for cricket. It had sprinklers on it and was mowed every day. The thatch on the lodge I think had been trimmed with nail scissors. Also they have an electric fence to keep the elephants out presumably to stop them damaging their lawn!

Tents, staff, food, management excellent. We can't comment on location or game drives because we never went out. However there were limited activities as it was on a national game reserve. Also they were not allowed to be out from Sunset to Sunrise.

This gave them a problem whilst we were there because the government closed the airstrip the day before with 24 hrs notice. We had to be shipped back to Kwara for our flight - no problem, great fun. However it gave them a huge logistical problem which was very well managed.

The only small criticism is the bar. Cool boxes are put out at 11.00 with beer and soft drinks. The proper bar doesn't open until 18.30 and when we were there was slammed shut at 22.00. No G&T for breakfast and no second brandy after dinner.

Also they were very reluctant to top up wine at dinner. All in all very OK but we wouldn't recommend it. Not rustic enough, for us, anyway. It could have been a lodge on the edge of Jo'berg. Maybe more for the American market."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2007
"In March we thought that this camp was absolutely fantastic. Laurens Kritzinger and Helga Otto had just taken over as the new managers. Their management style is superb. Everything runs extremely smoothly without any obvious day to day intervention. Many improvements have been made and are planned. I will not list them in any particular order.

We like the flexibility of sitting down to meals when you wish. Within certain time scales of course. They used to rotate the menus 3 times a week this has been increased to 7. Great food, service and staff. The only complaint in this area is the manager Eileen who fed me so much brandy one night I missed most of the following morning. Apart from that she was always on hand and a great manager.

Very well stocked bar. Available whenever a guest was around. I ran out of cigars and Laurens managed to restock my supply from Maun in two hours!

New sitting area furniture was delivered whilst we were there. It is fantastic. The cushions on the old furniture were getting a little tired not helped by the animals trying to eat it. The old swimming pool was just a hole lined in plastic sheeting. A brand new fiberglass one was installed just after we left in March. It is fantastic.

The logistics of getting it there makes interesting reading but is indicative of the standard of CC Africa. There are new loungers by the pool which are proving very popular. There are very nice new rugs in the tents. The old BBQ area was a little bit scruffy. There is now a new one set in a Koral. There are new high standard umbrellas in the sitting and dining areas.

The managers have set up a library next to the lounge. It has very comfortable seating. It is actually the best of the old lounge furniture. And, it has a computer with free Internet access. It was only installed the day before we left but many guests were asking for access in the office so it should prove very popular.

There are brilliant new showers in the tents. It is like standing under one of their tropical storms. Hot water is always available. The wiring in the tents has been improved for safety and improved reliability. The boardings outside the tents are been rubbed down and re-varnished. The tents and furniture are very high standard.

On environmental issues. They have new engines for their boats. These are quicker 4 stoke engines. These give out less emissions and do not pollute the water like the old ones. The managers are changing all the light bulbs to low wattage ones. This keeps costs down of course as the generator requires less fuel. The knock on effect to this is less fuel deliveries thus less damage to the commission with trucks driving across it.

In March we had brilliant guides, Solly and Ace. They have sadly left to pursue other aims. Our guide this time, Basha, was the best guide we have ever had on any safari. He is training up his tracker Jo to be a guide. Jo was absolutely great and could spot a tree frog at a 1,000 mtrs. I haven't commented on the game because we were there, as always, to enjoy the delta, its nature, the scenery and the people. We did however see a lot. And, it is of course seasonal.

So many superlatives but we can't fault Nxabega. Extremely highly recommended to your clients from very critical people in the travel business. We said it before and we say it again, we will be back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team