This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp

Reviews of Tau Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tau Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tau Pan Camp.
Lion

69% success

Leopard

31% success

Cheetah

23% success

Wild dog

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Giraffe

85% success

Elephant

43% success

Zebra

33% success

Eland

25% success

Brown Hyena

23% success

Meerkat

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Kalahari. Dry"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2018
"All the camps in Botswana where dry, they had very little rain so far.

This camp the guide tried very hard to find wild life but hard because of dryness.

Nice room, a bit hot. All camps had great beds. All you had to take any electrical devices to central office to charge.

Pleasant staff nice outside evening fire." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Elliot G
USA

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2017
"Tau Pan was the second of two camps we visited in Botswana and really exceeded my expectations! We came from a camp in the Delta, and because Tau Pan is a more permanent structure the rooms and facilities are a bit nicer. Lodging is very spacious and the views from the front deck are incredible. The food was very good, and the staff was exceptional. On our last night they performed a wonderful number of songs and dances that really made our visit special.

We had a similarly positive experience with our guide (Matt) and tracker (G) -- both were experts and gave us a great safari experience. You can't off-road in Tau Pan, so game drives are a bit more of a patient waiting game, but in some ways that made it even more exciting to see game. Thanks to Matt's great guiding, we had near daily encounters with a pack of three cheetahs and a beautiful black-maned lion, as well as many other great sightings.

Another highlight is the bushman's walk, led by local San bushmen who also work at Tau Pan as trackers. If you visit, this should not be missed. The hunting and survival tactics the bushmen showed us were incredible to witness, and a really special treat in addition to the game drives." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Godalming

"Contrasting experience at Tau Pan"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2017
"We enjoyed the very different conditions here, particularly the bush walk with Scoupe, which was both informative and amusingly put over.

We were, however, not very impressed with Matt, our guide, who spent much of the time on the drives talking to Scoupe and some of the more interesting spotting was done by the guests on the vehicle. We were confirmed in our view by the fact the driver and guide who took us to the air strip on the last morning gave us comparatively considerably more information during a drive of under an hour." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H
Bedford

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2017
"This was an attractive and comfortable camp. The staff were all extremely welcoming, friendly, helpful and keen to ensure that we had the best possible stay with them. The food was very good.
Our guide Obza and tracker Scoopa were both excellent. Obza looked after us extremely well throughout our stay. He and Scooper were very knowledgeable and worked together to ensure that we had many wonderful wildlife encounters. We saw a large number of animals, birds, and reptiles. The Kalahari area was a very interesting contrast to the Delta and we enjoyed a whole day excursion to Deception Valley . We also enjoyed the time spent with Scoopa as he explained the traditional way of life of the bushmen.
This would not be a good place to stay in cold weather. We experienced an unusually cool and wet spell while we were at the camp, and found our room was not easy to draught-proof and the solar powered water heating system was not great. Nevertheless, a good place to stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Kathy
Tucson, AZ

"Awesome in spring time!"

3 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2017
"Loved the absolute remoteness of the site. And it was bursting with life in mid-March. Nice variety of game and birds.

Guides were very good, with lots of background information provided. Game drives were nice and long, and we headed out right at dawn.

Food was good, not great. Showers were weak. But, considering how remote we were, it was pretty darn comfortable.

All in all, a really great camp. I would return." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Bow

"Green Season at Tau Pan"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2017
"We chose to visit Tau Pan during the end of the autumn rains to experience the Kalahari in full foliage before the dispersal of migratory birds and antelope. Our guide (Roggers) and tracker (Vota) responded well to our more general interest in natural history with a comprehensive overview of the surrounding environment and its various inhabitants. We could not have been more pleased with what we saw and experienced.

As we later experienced at other Kwando facilities, Tau Pan Camp was luxurious and comfortable with many helpful and friendly staff members.

See comments by Ms I. from North Berwick for additional details on our shared vacation." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms I
North Berwick

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2017
"This was a great start to our trip. The birders had a whale of a time spotting, I think, over 100 species in a couple of days.

I was very impressed with our guide, Roggers, and tracker Volte (spelling!). Roggers could not have been more attentive to my needs.

There was a fair bit of driving to see some of the wildlife but because my group were not preoccupied with the Big Five, we were able to put the journeys to good use spotting a wide variety of wild life and habitat on the journeys." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Mrs O
Indiana

"Wonderful Kalahari"

3 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2017
"Botswana had fortunately received large amounts of rain and the Kalahari was in full bloom and beautiful. Tau Pan in the CKGR is a wonderful, unique location with great guides and superb service. Our guide Vasco was fantastic, typical of Kwando Safaris. Game viewing in the pans was good, though don't expect wildlife numbers like the delta. The only detail to be aware of is the day trip to Deception Valley is a long, long day and it may not be necessary to do the entire trip." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Rwanda; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Msrvp
harrow

"Great Location"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2016
"Lovely view and very large comfortable rooms with patio. Requests were dealt with promptly.

As we were in room 5 close to the reception, a little more screening from the side near the main building would have been good.

A good variety of activities and very personable staff. Jessica , MP ( the singing chef) and Scooper being the most memorable.

Also enjoyed sitting round the fire early morning and evening." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms TG
London

"Tau Camp: a Jewel in the Kalahari"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2016
"The camp was excellent without excessive luxury.

It was well-run and all the staff were extremely welcoming and efficient. Camp manager Jessica made it a joyful place to be. My guides, Vasco and Scoopa were excellent.

All the outings provided one or more points of interest." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 78
96%
78 reviews of Tau Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
64
12
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel, in the town of Ghanzi, is a practical overnight stop for travellers crossing the Kalahari to or from Namibia.


76% (21 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp is a small camp with only four spacious tents overlooking a permanent waterhole. Surrounded by 20,000 hectares of private game conservancy you can expect to see white rhino, springbok, oryx and eland here.


93% (8 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (1 review)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa