This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp

Reviews of Tau Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

76 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tau Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tau Pan Camp.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

36% success

Cheetah

27% success

Wild dog

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Giraffe

82% success

Elephant

60% success

Zebra

50% success

Eland

30% success

Brown Hyena

9% success

Meerkat

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 76
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C
Harvest

"Tau was wonderful"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2016
"I am so happy you suggested Tau.

The bushman walk was great -- I did it twice" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms C
Ontario

"Tau Pan stay"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2015
"Our stay at Tao Pan Camp was great. The temperatures were hotter than we expected that everything else exceeded our expectations.

We went for a full day trip, which ended up to be very long and very hot. In retrospect, it would have been a wiser choice to go for the regular morning and evening drives." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr K
USA

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2015
"Would have rated Tau Pan excellent in every aspect except for room location. We were in the farthest location from the main lodge and the sand was very deep. Because we are a mature couple, that should have been taken into consideration. Upon arrival a fellow traveler (late 30's) was placed in Room 1
The food, staff, guide and tracker and rooms were excellent.

Highlights: Stargazing, bushwalks, expansive deck, bat eared foxes and lion cubs" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G
Michigan

"Tau Pan Review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2015
"Terrific, it would have nice Togo off road. The people were wonderful." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Surrey

"Great camp in the Kalahari"

3 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2015
"Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Good guiding and comfortable accommodation.

We saw lion and leopard close to the camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Utah

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2015
"What fun to be in the Kalahari! Hot, sandy, but so interesting to see and learn about the "pans"; to learn about the "San" people.

We were told "Cry of the Kalahari" was not completely accurate, however, it was fascinating to read after being there and being in Deception Valley.

The wildlife was interesting and to learn how they cope with little water.

Fascinating end to our Botswana experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Essex

"Very enjoyable, but food was lacking"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2015
"Excellent guide (Joe) and Tracker (Voter). Food was disappointing." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Texas

"A great welcome to botswana"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2014
"What a special place! The staff, the accommodations, the food; all wonderful. Everybody there makes you feel special.

Having been to other Kwara camps, it seems that the welcoming feel is a hallmark of the company. We can't say enough good things about tau pan." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Guidford

"16 lions in 2 days"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2014
"We were the only guests apart from a National Geographic photographer hunting for honey badgers.

We were made to feel very welcome. Helped by a knowledgeable guide, Vasco, and the eyes of a very good tracker, Custom, we saw a surprisingly large quantity of game in just a couple of days, including 16 lions, a leopard and an elusive aardwolf. They respected the fact that we enjoy spotting birds as much as we do larger game.

The water hole in front of the lodge is a magnet for competing lions. We loved the scenery and quiet of the off-season Kalahari and the simplicity of the camp and could have stayed longer. A terrific start to the holiday." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr W
Dyfed

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2014
"This was our first camp of the trip and we enjoyed it immensely. It is unique in our experience. This is not a camp for those who want to have maximum game viewings. However for small mammals and birds and the biggest navy blue sky with a million stars it is superb.

We stayed for 2 nights and felt that this length of stay was perfect. We went on all the game drives and also on the 'bushman' walk which was excellent. In summary a fabulous first stop and one we would thoroughly recommend." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 76
96%
76 reviews of Tau Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
12
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel, in the town of Ghanzi, is a practical overnight stop for travellers crossing the Kalahari to or from Namibia.


76% (21 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp is a small camp with only four spacious tents overlooking a permanent waterhole. Surrounded by 20,000 hectares of private game conservancy you can expect to see white rhino, springbok, oryx and eland here.


93% (8 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (1 review)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa