This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp

Reviews of Tau Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

76 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tau Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tau Pan Camp.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

36% success

Cheetah

27% success

Wild dog

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Giraffe

82% success

Elephant

60% success

Zebra

50% success

Eland

30% success

Brown Hyena

9% success

Meerkat

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 76
Duration
Arrival date
Ms J & Ms B
Canada

"Fabulous camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2014
"We had a fabulous experience at this camp.

Loved the remoteness of this place, The guide and tracker were excellent and very knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C
Dublin

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2014
"I would rate it 2.5 stars cheap and cheerful. The rooms were small but clean. The food was adequate but cheap - chicken for dinner 2 nights and pulled beef 3rd night. Breakfast at 0530 consisted of muffins and tea/coffee. The staff were enthusiastic. The guide Vasco was excellent.

A bit like I imagined Butlins - not that I was ever there" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mrs L
Basingstoke

"Magnificent Lions at Tau Pan Camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2014
"Excellent camp in beautiful position overlooking the salt pan, lovely staff and superb food. The green season is a wonderful time to visit and although long grass can make game viewing difficult, we saw hundreds of Gemsbok and a considerable number of black-manned Kalahari Lions. In addition to hundreds of Falcons, White Storks appeared on the Pan one morning alongside the Gemsbok, Giraffes and Springboks which was an amazing sight. In addition our guide, Timber, and our tracker, PK, gave us a lot of information about wild foods and how to eat them as well as identifying a considerable number of flowers." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Ontario

"Fabulous Tau Pan"

3 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2013
"I spent 3 nights at Tau Pan in early December, 2013 and would highly recommend the camp to anyone. You simply must include the Kalahari on your itinerary if at all possible.

The staff at Tau Pan was simply exceptional, striking just the right balance between involved and giving you some breathing space. The guides and trackers were really excellent. Vasco and Scupa were great to spend my days with and I would particularly like to thank Russ, who was simply not willing to accept that I hadn't seen a cheetah yet and hustled me into the safari vehicle at 5:45 on my final morning - we found a cheetah at 6:05! (I know that was pure chance, but still).

I really liked that Tau Pan had Botswanan management - as I was travelling alone, it made for great conversations for me, learning about local culture. The rooms are gorgeous, the setting is amazing (though of course no animals come to the water hole in rainy season - that would be awesome to see) and the staff was fantastic. The game drives were many and frequent and we even did a full day drive - left at 6am and returned at 6pm. Oh yeah, I was the only one in the vehicle, so I had a full day private game drive! The highlight of the whole trip was seeing a pride of 4 lions devouring a recently killed oryx.

One caution for travellers: the game is less dense in the kalahari and even less dense in December, so you can go long stretches of driving seeing only birds and the odd bat eared fox, but given the flat open terrain, when you do find something, it can be awesome. But because you are in a national park, you have to stick to the roads also." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W
Austria

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2013
"It was great to have the entire camp just to us (especially after Jack's Camp which was so crowded). The location with its views over the vast landscape of the Kalahari is breathtaking, we particularly enjoyed having our morning tee/coffee at the fire watching the sun rise over the desert, watching animal activities at the waterhole (e.g. kudus and giraffes) from the camp's pool as well as having dinner under the stars.

Wildlife was very good, even though the Kalahari was already very dry for this time of the year (early April). We loved the many bat eared foxes (we often saw them quite close), giraffes, and of course the many lions and one leopard (in the middle of the road!). On our last morning, the lion pack resident at the camp returned after they had been away for several weeks and we had the chance to follow them while they prepared for hunting. Alex, our guide, and Vota, the tracker, were very knowledgeable and created a wonderful safari experience, which was very relaxed , informative and entertaining at the same time.

Service and food at Tau Pan were excellent, all staff was very helpful and friendly. We particularly liked the fact that Kwando is a company based in Botswana which takes great pride in employing local people (also for the management). It was great to see how enthusiastic all staff and management were working for this company. Wonderful experience!
" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Zurich

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2013
"Great location with a wonderful lookout of the Kalahari.

My guide Lucky tried everything to show us as much as possible - great.

I recommend the bush walk with the Bushman Scuba. Absolutely great and very interesting." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & family
Sussex

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2012
"We enjoyed 3 nights at Tau Pan just before Christmas. The setting is spectacular, with views over the vast Central Kalahari reserve. The accommodation surpassed expectations - the rooms are the biggest and probably the most luxurious we had in Botswana. Outdoor showers are a bonus. Food was very good (buffet style in the evenings), and the timing of meals is very well planned with a small breakfast, good-sized brunch, afternoon tea before the late game drive, and an evening meal later on.

Game in the CKGR definitely isn't on the same level as in the Okavango Delta, and the park is best enjoyed for its scenery and the vastness of the landscape rather than trying to seek out particular animals (though we did find a cheetah), particularly since vehicles can't follow animal tracks off road or drive after dark. Though Kwando provide a tracker in the vehicle, we felt that the quality of the guides here was generally lower than in the delta - both in terms of expertise and in listening to what we wanted (we ended up on an 11-hour game drive on one very hot day, having asked for a shorter drive in the morning). And this was the only camp where our party of 4 was asked to share a vehicle with other guests (though there is a maximum of 6 per vehicle, in 2 rows of 3 people).

It's worth being aware that the "bush walks" offered are a short stroll to a "demonstration area" near the camp, where a tracker will describe survival techniques used by local people.

Overall Tau Pan is a very good camp and worth a couple of nights to experience the CKGR." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Queensland

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2012
"We arrived as the summer storms set in, and witnessed some spectacular sound and light shows. Saw a solitary collared wild dog contact calling, and also a pack of 8 near the camp. Also saw a previously unsighted group of 1 sub-adult and 2 female lions near Pukwe Pan. Excellent tracking by Voter

Onty (plus OB) and the tireless Ras. worked hard under dIffiicult weather conditions to keep guests happy. Beautiful staff singing before dinner enhanced the experience.

" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Bucks

"Great lodge but animals not great"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2012
"lovely lodge, beautiful rooms, good food, good staff.

But again relatively poor safari drives compared to other countries. It was good to have seen the Kalahari but in all honesty this place is disappointing in terms of animals. We were not sorry leave. It was not exciting." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Brockley

"Lions close by at Tau Pan Camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2012
"Our first camp on our honeymoon - we had an excellent time here.

All the staff were very friendly and the food was fantastic - especially the roast chicken! Great view of the watering hole from breakfast, and lions passed through the camp on several occasions (once only a few metres away from our room!)

Day trip to Deception Valley is worthwhile, though it is a long day. Bushman walk also very entertaining and informative - definitely recommended." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 5n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 76
96%
76 reviews of Tau Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
12
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel, in the town of Ghanzi, is a practical overnight stop for travellers crossing the Kalahari to or from Namibia.


76% (21 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp is a small camp with only four spacious tents overlooking a permanent waterhole. Surrounded by 20,000 hectares of private game conservancy you can expect to see white rhino, springbok, oryx and eland here.


93% (8 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (1 review)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa