This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp

Reviews of Tau Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

76 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tau Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tau Pan Camp.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

36% success

Cheetah

27% success

Wild dog

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Giraffe

82% success

Elephant

60% success

Zebra

50% success

Eland

30% success

Brown Hyena

9% success

Meerkat

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 76
Duration
Arrival date
Ms O
Vancouver

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2012
"We really enjoyed our stay at Tau Pan. The camp itself is lovely with beautifully designed and very comfortable rooms. We particularly liked how well visually integrated the camp was with its surroundings. Staff was very friendly in general and the evening campfire fun.

Our guide, Lucky, and tracker, PK (sp?), were wonderful. They were friendly and extremely knowledgable. We'd never been on safari before and so had no idea what to expect. Lucky and PK taught us a lot and were simply good company over fairly long days. Lucky is particularly knowledgable about birds, and PK's bush skills are fascinating and impressive. The guides were all quite friendly, and we had a great time with them one evening when they regaled us with stories from their guiding experience. Another staff member, Milady, was a gracious hostess.

We saw quite a bit of wildlife including three separate groups of lions, antelopes galore (primarily springbok and oryx, but also hartebeest, kudu, steenbok, duiker), bat eared foxes, jackals, ostrich, lots of birds and an impressive looking cobra. Others in camp at the time saw a cheetah hunt. Birds spanned the range from eagles and vulture through ground birds to lovely little bee eaters.

The bushman walk with PK was excellent and a nice break from the jeep. The trip to Deception Valley is well worth it but LONG and covers some rough terrain.

The food was of generally high quality but the remoteness of the location means there's a little less fresh food than some other camps and more of an emphasis on stews and roasts." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Cate & Becca
Denver

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2012
"Wonderful staff! Beautiful facilities. The food was fabulous. To be truthful, I was worried about the guides not having guns in the jeep, but all worked out well!... My daughter loved the outdoor shower! This was our first safari and a wonderful memory to share with my daughter.

The camp managers Tuso and Nalady were outstanding in their people skills! WONDERFUL CONVERSATIONS!

Thank you!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2012
"Lovely people, average sightings(time of year), great food, very nice accommodations" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Wiltshire

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2012
"Very well run and delightful staff" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Hants

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2012
"A well managed camp with expansive views. We had an excellent guide and tracker and saw most of the animals available in that area. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

The basic amenities and sparsity of this and open style desert camp, and the exposure to all animals around the huts, took some time to acclimatise to.

Personally I was nervous in these surroundings when walking to and from our hut to the main building, others may find it exciting. Future guests might like to know that animals are able to roam throughout the camp, unlike other safari lodges I have visited that are fenced." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Ms A
Nashville

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2012
"We loved the completely different terrain here. This camp is new and very nice. The common areas and rooms are spacious and have amazing views. The food and staff are all great.

We also enjoyed our fellow guests here the most. VERY friendly people visit this camp. I think this is the hottest place on earth that I have ever been. The only recommendation is for a room fan. HOT. ( 38C/100F )" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Seychelles; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Chorley

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2011
"All the staff from the manager downwards were so polite, courteous and gracious.

It was a sheer delight to end our holiday at this camp." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Wiltshire

"Tau Pan Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"Totally different environment but we loved it here. Not so much game but the Kalahari lions were truly awesome. The honey badgers were delightful, the Oryx graceful and elegant.

This might not be everyones idea of the the best safari but we met a lady who had just arrived and was staying for 3 months. We could have easily joined her." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Highgate

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2011
"Our first Camp and first taste of Botswana was wonderful. We had an excellent guide, Alberto, who immediately took us from the 'plane to a young family of lions 10 days and 3 months old- an unforgettable experience. The next 2 days he showed us many birds, more lion adn a beautiful Cheetah. His knowledge of the trees and plant life was also memorable.

He appeared to be less well on the 2 nd evening and it subsequently emerged that he had had an accident earlier this year and there were complications following that. I do hope he got better and was, I hope taken to hospital. Could you let us know please. His illness did not deter his enthusiasm and he tried to continuw but was in pain.

The camp was well situeated and the atmosphere and ambience wonderful. We have no complaints.

We left on time for the next camp." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr T
Oxford

"Great start to safari"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2011
"The lodge was great, the people were wonderful both in the camp and out on the drives.

Loved the long table where everyone sat together including the game drive staff. Sitting around the fire both at breakfast and after dinner was wonderful.

Enjoyed the evenings when the staff sang" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 76
96%
76 reviews of Tau Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
12
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel, in the town of Ghanzi, is a practical overnight stop for travellers crossing the Kalahari to or from Namibia.


76% (21 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp is a small camp with only four spacious tents overlooking a permanent waterhole. Surrounded by 20,000 hectares of private game conservancy you can expect to see white rhino, springbok, oryx and eland here.


93% (8 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (1 review)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa