This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp

Reviews of Tau Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

76 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tau Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tau Pan Camp.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

36% success

Cheetah

27% success

Wild dog

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Giraffe

82% success

Elephant

60% success

Zebra

50% success

Eland

30% success

Brown Hyena

9% success

Meerkat

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 76
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Highgate

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2011
"Our first Camp and first taste of Botswana was wonderful. We had an excellent guide, Alberto, who immediately took us from the 'plane to a young family of lions 10 days and 3 months old- an unforgettable experience. The next 2 days he showed us many birds, more lion adn a beautiful Cheetah. His knowledge of the trees and plant life was also memorable.

He appeared to be less well on the 2 nd evening and it subsequently emerged that he had had an accident earlier this year and there were complications following that. I do hope he got better and was, I hope taken to hospital. Could you let us know please. His illness did not deter his enthusiasm and he tried to continuw but was in pain.

The camp was well situeated and the atmosphere and ambience wonderful. We have no complaints.

We left on time for the next camp." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs A
London

"Great safari at Tao Pan"

3 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2011
"Tao Pan Camp is lovely, small and very friendly. I really liked the Kalahari and it made a great contrast to the Delta.

The pan is great terrain for game viewing and the guide and spotter Dutch and Xsinco were excellent. and I was looked after very well. The only thing I missed out on was the bush walk which had been stopped while there were lion cubs about. There were two lots that I saw, one only ten days old.

The weather was mixed here with some rain and the first morning there was thick fog which hi-lighted the beautiful spiders' webs which were everywhere.covered in dew. And seeing the oryx appear out of the fog was amazing. I also enjoyed the full day trip and lunch out where we travelled about 200 kilometers to get an idea of the country amd seeing the line of giraffes on the skyline as we were having sundowners was a great end to the day." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Tau Pan camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2011
"After three separate camps in the Delta it was good to make a complete change of scenery and take in something entirely different.
This is a new camp and the facilities were more modern than we have found elsewhere.

It was certainly well worth making the trip and there were plenty of animals at that time but not as much variety as in the Delta.
As the area is relatively new for having a camp, I felt that there should be a few more tracks to ensure easier access to some sightings. This is something which may develop with time. In the event we were fortunate with our sightings and obtained good lion and cheetah pictures.

I think it advisable to discuss in detail with your agent contact when best to visit and what you are likely to find.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Mr E
USA

"Tau Pan"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2011
"Very nice camp. Great guides and food. Love the Pans" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Wandsworth

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2010
"The room was lovely. Bit in room the lighting level is low and the wash basins are in a very dim area even with electic lights on.

The all-day drive was not totally successful. The first half before lunch was good but we were behind schedule in the afternoon, drove fast, saw little and omitted visiting Deception Valley in order to return to camop before night-fall.

However we did watch for a long time three cheetahs stalking a herd of Oryx trying to take on of the infant oryx.

The countryside was very different from previous camps, which added variety with enormous flat plains/pans compared with the land at Selinda and the water around the two Okavanga camps Kwetsani and Chitabe Ledibe." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Queensland

"Great accommodation , service, and guiding"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2010
"Accommodation, hospitality, service and friendliness of all staff was excellent. We had a very good guide in Dutch and enjoyed all the activities.

There had recently been rain, and the area was relatively lush with knee high grass. Sightings included oryx, springbok. honey badger, giraffe, bat eared fox and other more common species. Other guests sighted 4 lions on Tau Pan , but we were some distance away and it was too dark by the time we got back" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
H family
Berkshire

"Quiet time at Tau pan"

3 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2010
"We rated activities as average because on our full day game drive there were seven guests in the van, meaning that the spotter had to sit on the front jump seat regardless of risks from lions or other large animals. I now understand this to have been against Kwando rules.

The San Bushman walk was outstanding. The low level of lighting in the rooms made them rather gloomy." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr S
Canada

"Great experience at Tau Camp"

3 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2010
"Together with my 12 year old son we had a very, very pleasant stay at Tau Camp.

From the beginning we had a nice surprise in meeting Hector - the guide I had in Lebala three years ago. Together with Scooper as tracker they are an excellent team that made sure we see lots of animals: many sorts on antelope (oryx, springbok, steenbok, kudu, wildebeest, eland, duicker), jackals, giraffes, bat-eared fox and - of course - the black-maned lion, on our memorable one-day trip to Deception Valley. Various birds were spotted too.

The room was very good - quite large and the showers under the starry skies will be unforgettable. Good food - especially the selection for the breakfast.

We both enjoyed Scooper presentation about the San people customs.

All the people were very nice - worth mentioning BK (the manager) and the quite good natured ...Nature :)

We were sad to leave and hope to be back one day." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Beds

"Tau Pan Camp - a good introduction to safari"

3 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2010
"Three nights here were fine for us as we had come straight from the UK. Otherwise two nights would be enough as the drives were a bit limited by national park rules.

Good animals and birds several of which we did not see elsewhere. Staff were very welcoming and helpful." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The D party
England

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2010
"Although a beautiful camp, there was no hot water in the rooms and the food was very disappointing. For example, not enough food for all the guests, lasagna half-cooked. The team are uncoordinated in general they were nice. The assistant manager was the only one who was on the border of being rude.

Our guide, Eddie, was excellent and really tried hard for us but the trekker, Scupa, was absolutely useless and never looked nor found anything.

On our day out, again the food, the way it was set out was not to level of other safaris we have done and also not at the same level of as a sister camp, Kwara.

We understand that they have to stick to the regulations of the National park but the difference between Kalahari and Moremi National park is that there are more roads in Moremi that allow you come closer to the animals and see more. They definetely need more roads in the Kalari as the space between pans and roads is far to wide." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Showing 61-70 of 76
96%
76 reviews of Tau Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
12
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel, in the town of Ghanzi, is a practical overnight stop for travellers crossing the Kalahari to or from Namibia.


76% (21 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp is a small camp with only four spacious tents overlooking a permanent waterhole. Surrounded by 20,000 hectares of private game conservancy you can expect to see white rhino, springbok, oryx and eland here.


93% (8 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (1 review)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa