This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Excellent safari holiday

Botswana between 25 Mar 2015 and 5 Apr 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Had a great time and enjoyed the contrasts of the Kalahari, Delta and Savuti.

Good choice of camps and lodges and guiding was great.

Our first safari in wet season but was not normal as had been drier than usual which reduced options for activities in the delta but on the flip side made finding cats easier."

Arranged By Megan Green


Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Great camp in the Kalahari"

3 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2015
"Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Good guiding and comfortable accommodation.

We saw lion and leopard close to the camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Lovely intimate camp in the delta."

3 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2015
"Excellent guiding but did not feel as friendly in camp as Tau Pan.

Guides and spotters worked well to locate wildlife and we saw cheetah and lots of lions. We were lucky to have the manager Charles take us on some drives and he was excellent.

Great room in a truly wild location."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

"Very comfortable lodge in Savuti."

3 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2015
"The lodge was very comfortable with great service but felt more like a hotel than the intimate safari camps we are used to.

Our expectations of large elephant numbers were not met due to weather conditions allowing them to be widely dispersed. Our guide struggled to understand at times and did not fully engage with information having to be extracted from him.

We did see lots of lions and a leopard also,"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2012 trip

Tanzania between 28 Aug 2012 and 7 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall an awesome trip which lived up to the recommendations made by Expert Africa based our requirements.

Many thanks for organising yet another great tailor made holiday."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Excellent safari at Mwagusi"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2012
"Had an great stay at Mwagusi. The guiding was up to the excellent standard we had hoped for and the camp was comfortable along with very good food. We were also fortunate to meet Chris Fox who shared his passion for the area and need for protecting hiigh guiding standards.

Our only suggestion for improvement is the inclusion of sundowners on evening drives as these are an integral part of safari and were conspicuous by their absence."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Awesome safari at Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2012
"Beho Beho certainly lived up to its reputation. The accommodation, guiding, hospitality and food were all top notch.

We had an awesome stay with the only complaint being the weight we put on due to the constant provision of top quality cuisine.

Beho Beho is not cheap but certainly delivers.

We were fortunate to meet both Charlie and Sarah Bailey who shared their passion for the Selous and set up of Beho Beho.

The only minor downside we would flag is the distance to the lakes where we ended up driving to frequently to better game viewing but need to add that all Elephant encounters were local to Beho Beho."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Mediocre stay at Southern Sun"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"We only used Sourhern Sun for overnight stay before early morning flight home. We ordered room service breakfast which failed to turn up. Room was ok but a little tired.

Evening meal in Resturant was good."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

My Oct 2010 trip

Kenya between 1 Oct 2010 and 17 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Good
"Overall good trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None immediately come to mind."

Image alt

Own arrangements

""

8 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"No comment."
Good
Image alt

Saadani Safari Lodge

"Saadani Safari Lodge"

5 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2010
"Saadani Lodge has a wonderful setting with lots of potential.

The rooms are excellent, we were lucky to be upgraded to the Maridadi suites so can't comment on the standard rooms. The food was always fresh and well prepared but unfortunately it felt like it was being rationed and portions were very small on occasions. A buffet breakfast would have been welcome.

The lodge was very quiet with few guests and we think this probably accounted for lack of staff and service at times. We understand that they are building a 5* lodge on the river but feel that they need to get the first lodge running effectively and more full first."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2010
"We only spent a few hours at Macushla House as arrived late at night and left early in the morning.

The rooms were comfortable and staff friendly. We would have liked to spent more time there."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team