This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp

Reviews of Nxai Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nxai Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2020, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nxai Pan Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Coventry

"Safari at Nxai Pan Camp"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2012
"Again the Kwando staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly. They even arranged a meal in our room on our last night when we were the only guests - much appreciated.

The guide (Alex) was a temporary assignment from Tau Pan but was very helpful and knowledgeable, especially on the different bird species. He enabled us to have great photo opportunities of two cheetahs at the water hole.. We also saw lions and elephants in confrontation at the nearby waterhole before nearly being joined by two warthogs! The guide was always happy to stop and point out bird-life.

Again the safari vehicles were very comfortable but suffered from being six people in two tiers. This situation was made worse by the roof cover which was necessary to protect the occupants from the strong sun. We were lucky in only having a six person situation for one safari, but the people sitting in the middle had a difficult time. If you are serious about bird watching and/or have a big camera lens the vehicle set up is potentially very problematic. Again the guide tried his best to ensure everyone got a reasonable view whenever possible.

The camp is in a very open setting overlooking an artifical water hole. The rooms are excellent and very spacious and the swimming pool presented a welcome break at midday. The food and drink were plentiful and good quality. Well worth another visit for the friendly staff, knowledgeable guides and a different perspective on wildlife viewing but not for the prospect of being six people cramped into a two tier vehicle." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
York

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"in a word - Fabulous.

Clean, airy ,spacious and laid back and spacious, just what we needed to reflect on our trip, whilst continuing to keep us occuupied. The Bushman's walk was really interesting taken as it was by a one-eyed old bushman (must have been about 70! Really interesting. A lovely touch was a bottle of bubbly in our room which they gave us to celebrate outr wedding anniversary." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Lyme Regis

"Very friendly informal camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 May 2012
"Very friendly informal camp. Glad a started here would have been disappointed if I had ended here.

Game was scarse bu great guide who did invest to track down what was there." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr H
Lancs

"Wonderful Nxai Pan"

3 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2012
"For our three night stay we were the only two guests and were looked after like royalty.Janet was a great hostess , very warm,chatty and welcoming.Our guide was Pax and our tracker was a Bushman called Shoes and both were excellent. with good knowledge and able to answer all that we asked. We had great sightings of the local pride of Lions every day, sometimes at very close quarters . We also saw Cheetah ,Ellies,Giraffes,Antelope [Springbok,Steenbok] and had a great trip to Baines Baobabs with lunch alfresco.All the meals were excellent and the food was plentiful.

From our room we had a great view of the Elephants at the nearby waterhole. Sitting around the camp fire at night we had wonderful views of the stars and milky way.Pax used his laser pointer to show us all the constellations.The beds were very comfy and we slept extremely well.The early mornings and evenings were cool but otherwise it was brilliant blue cloudless skies all the time." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"A less known but no less impressive migration"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2012
"Mid-January is probably the perfect time to visit Nxai Pan, catching the remarkable zebra migration and (our main aim) hitting the peak of the migrant bird season. Given our principal interest, we opted for a private guide and we have nothing but praise for Donald and Kayser, expert guides and great company.

With their help we identified over 115 bird species in four days (the majority of them different to the species we had identified at Motswiri, bringing our total for the eight-day trip to just over 200), with the large and varied raptor population a particular highlight. The drive to Baines' Baobobs was well worth the effort, the bonus being a large flock of lesser flamingo in Kudiakam Pan.

As for the mammals, even in just four days the ebb and flow of the population was clearly visible across the pan in search of fresh grass, bringing sightings of lion and cheetah; and close encounters with elephants were frequent.

The camp is very well run by Janet Shamukuni (whom we had first met two years previously at Tau Pan) and her team and we were very well looked after throughout." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E
Canada

"Open landscapes and knowledgeable staff"

3 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2011
"At Nxai Pan I think we were still a little early for the bigger zebra (and giraffe?) migration: it was very nice to see that literally every game drive we saw more zebras; but I understand that at prime time the field in front of the camp (for example) is filled with zebra. That would have been really special; probably impossible to plan from far away (staff was saying mid-January). But Nxai Pan was by no means 'low' on wildlife. We saw cheetahs on our very first game drive (and also on subsequent drives); ran into elephants 1 minute after we were picked up from the airstrip, saw active lions with playing cubs, best sightings of Kori Bustard and Secretary Bird (alongside Etosha). Moreover, the trip to the Baines Baobabs was really good, with many sightings and a special landscape. In general the landscape was so much more open than in the Okavango; this really set Nxai Pan apart.

We did hear some people complain that the wildlife is further away in Nxai Pan. While this is true, this is not purely bad (at least if you can combine it with the closer sightings in the Okavango): for example it was great to see the cheetahs 'roaming' through the field and observe their behaviour (less aware of our safari jeep coasting in the distance).

Vasko in Nxai Pan was the very best guide/driver; with Keso a really proficient tracker. Janet and Carlos were fantastic at hosting, and really created a good atmosphere (with Janet being very outgoing and sharing great stories). Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Texas

"Many zebra and springbok"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2011
"Knowledgeable guide, Vasco, and San bushman tracker, Shoes, made for lively discussions on our drives. Aside from large herds of migrating zebra and springbok, not much game. The staff were helpful and accommodating, especially the manager, Janet. The insulated rooms helped tremously in the hot, hot temperature, and our large bed was very comfortable. The pool was cloudy and questionable for swimming (we chose not to). The evening when the staff entertained us was very special. Due to the weather this turned out to be the only camp that had evening campfires which we thoroughly enjoy.

My one disappointment was my own fault: I had chosen Nxai Pan Camp because of it's proximity to Baines Baobabs. We had been in South Africa for more than one month before our first safari camp in Botswana, and I had not reviewed my notes, and I forgot that this was the camp for the baobabs! No staff at the camp ever mentioned the baobabs or that a day trip there was an option. So, I missed my only opportunity to see Baines Baobabs.

We spent considerable time searching and watching for the pride of 7 lions that resided at the camp. We saw them twice at a new zebra kill.

Although we enjoyed our time here we would not return to this camp. The scenry becomes monotonous and the animals are too few." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr A
London

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2010
"Wow, what rooms and views!

This was our kind of place, you really had to earn your game viewing. Superb guides and wonderfully peaceful and friendly.

Again, we were the only people, a great bonus." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Brentwood

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2010
"Would definitely recommend Nxai Pan but the ability to get close to animals is restricted by no off road activities. Apparently the authorities are considering putting more roads to cross the pan and this would help a lot.

Good for searching, listening and using binoculars. Loads of Zebra, Springbok, giraffe. Nxai Pan Lodge excellent especially the staff. It was a good time of year to go and a place to end our safari.

We managed to see a Caracal and bat eared foxes as well as cheetah and lions. It was good for seeing birds." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2009
"The camp was very new and was still experencing some minor set up problems but that did not impact on out enjoyment everyone at teh camp was very helpful and pleasent to us

It would have been helpful to know before we visited that you could not do night drives or go off the road

I" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 30
91%
30 reviews of Nxai Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
11
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

Overlooking the Makgadikgadi Pans, Camp Kalahari is great value; come for quadbiking excursions on the salt pans, cute meerkats, excellent Bushman walks, and interesting 4WD safaris.


93% (45 reviews)
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp was the original camp in the Makgadikgadi area, and many still consider it the best. Come for a unique and memorable experience, but not for prolific game viewing.


90% (21 reviews)
San Camp

San Camp

The simple but stylish San Camp lies in a stunning location beside the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, where highlights are quadbiking, meerkats, and Bushmen walks.


97% (14 reviews)
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena Tented Camp is an old-style safari camp, run by an experienced Botswana expert. Overlooking the bed of the Boteti River, it's a great place to relax and watch wildlife at the camp's waterhole.


85% (13 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa