This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp

Reviews of Nxai Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nxai Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2020, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nxai Pan Camp.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Coventry

"Our annual adventure to Africa 6th and final "

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2018
"The room here was probably the best of the whole trip. Friendliness of staff now taken a bit for granted but I shouldn't do that. I must give a special mention to Linsey and Bonney who were both wonderful. If I had been 40 years or so younger I might have asked them to come home with me. Food again was delicous.
Game viewing not as good here as at other lodges but Chester, our guide still managed to find Lion, Bat Eared Foxes, our 5th different pack pf wild dogs and a Cheetah. Bains Baobabs well worth a visiit" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr P
Eastleigh

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2017
"What can I say. I ended up at the camp as the only guest for a day due to the time of year. I was treated just the same as if the camp was full, in fact I probabaly had more attention from the staff as I was the lone guest. The only reason I mark down the activities is because I came from Kwara camp. Being a National reserve no off roading is allowed so the experience straight from Kwara is much different. However after half a day Nxai Pans beauty comes into its own and is a vey special place. I was early and the rains were late so I missed the Zebra migration but still loved Nxai and fell in love with its unique beauty." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Kathy
Tucson, AZ

"Zebras, Elephants, Lions"

3 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2017
"In late March, the area was full of game. Water hole out front of camp (at a distance), with lots of zebras and elephants and a bit of everything else.

Saw lions and cheetahs several times on drives. Downside of nearby water hole with lots of zebras is that there were a lot of annoying flies at the camp. Not a problem in the rooms, only in the central/dining part of the lodge. Food was especially tasty. Rooms are very large and comfortable.

Was disappointed in the guiding. The guide was knowledgeable, but rarely shared any background information on animal habits, the locale, etc. Tried unsuccessfully to pry more info out of him. Also we spent too much time sitting in the truck and waiting for carnivores to wake up and walk around.

There were signs of wear around the camp - our deck had a couple boards buckled, for example." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs G
Herts

"The rains came, prior to our arrival"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2017
"Our stay was dominated by the effects of weather prior to our arrival. After 5 years of below average rainfall throughout Southern Africa, the rains arrived late summer 16/17, but in January and first 2 weeks February were exceptionally heavy culminating in the after effects of the passage of typhoon Dineo, where even Windhoek received more rain than usual in third week Feb.

So arriving 4th week Feb, the condition of the roads in clay mud areas, particularly near the camp was appalling and got worse over the 3 days. Sand roads in the pan and further afield were still good. Although tired, the driver guides struggled manfully on, bolstered by the presence of Jessica to assist with guest relations. She persuaded our guide {Mr T!} to do the full day drive to Baines Baobabs, which was the highlight of our stay, showing varied landscapes and vegetation.

As expected animals were limited except for the large number of zebra present having migrated from Chobe and is the wildlife highlight at that time of year.

The rooms were spacious, and comfortable and the food good.." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Nxai Pan Review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2017
"We had a beautiful time a Nxai Pan during the Green Season.

The rooms are expansive, and zebra plentiful as their migration was in the area." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Tring

"a disappointment"

2 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2016
"Accomodation poor. No pressure so no hot showers in evening.

Safe broken, Ants in room, Basin doesn't drain off the water, patio doors in front of bed dont open - staff were told but did nothing.Poor lighting. Made to walk back to rooom after sunset once alone, which is not policy. When we got to our room had to sit in dark as no electricity. Swimming pool dirty, no filter.

The area is a poor chice for the wet season. Roads a nightmare. Got stuck and took hours getting through. Only one perimeter road and 2 roads in park so everything was too far away in the long grass to see. They need to maintain their very few roads and open some more up.

Guide seemed bored -Chester. Shoes the tracker was charming. Safaris started late especially in afternoon and had to finish by 7 pm. Very good food.

Management need to spend money on the infrastructure and the park officials need to open more roads into the Pan and maintain their roads" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr C
Harvest

"Really excellant"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2016
"The Baobab trees were my reason to go, but the elephants at the waterhole were something else." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Nxai Pan was just great!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2014
"The trouble with our holiday is that we chose the best camps to stay in and while they were all different they were all 5 star.

We loved every day and were treated like Royals." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Queensland

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2013
"Game viewing was very patchy as the rains had only arrived at the time I did. I took a gamble and it misfired. Nevertheless an interesting and enjoyable change of environment. A well appointed and well run camp with very attentive staff under the management of Bonnie and Clyde !!!!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
Somerset

"The Perfect Start to Our Safari"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2013
"Nxai Pan camp was the first camp that we stayed at on our safari. It was, for us, the perfect place to start.

The managers were very friendly and welcoming and created a very relaxed atmosphere - a real 'homely' feel in the camp. This was probably helped by the fact that, for the first 2 days of our 3 day stay, we were the only guests!

Our guide, Partner, and tracker, Shoes, were also very friendly, but very knowledgeable and we felt totally relaxed and safe on our game drives.

Highlights were learning about the San customs with Shoes, the trip to see the Baines baobab trees, the traditional meal eaten with our fingers around the fire and, of course, the leopard sighting!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 33
91%
33 reviews of Nxai Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
12
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

Overlooking the Makgadikgadi Pans, Camp Kalahari is great value; come for quadbiking excursions on the salt pans, cute meerkats, excellent Bushman walks, and interesting 4WD safaris.


94% (56 reviews)
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp was the original camp in the Makgadikgadi area, and many still consider it the best. Come for a unique and memorable experience, but not for prolific game viewing.


89% (25 reviews)
San Camp

San Camp

The simple but stylish San Camp lies in a stunning location beside the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, where highlights are quadbiking, meerkats, and Bushmen walks.


93% (20 reviews)
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena Tented Camp is an old-style safari camp, run by an experienced Botswana expert. Overlooking the bed of the Boteti River, it's a great place to relax and watch wildlife at the camp's waterhole.


83% (13 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)
Migration Expeditions

Migration Expeditions

A seasonal safari camp in Nxai Pan National Park focussed on the area's annual zebra migration.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa