This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from York

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful Experience

Zambia between 15 Jun 2016 and 27 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"As this was a return trip to the same camps as 18 months previously we were concerned that we may not be so enthalled. This was certainly not the case - we were welcomed back magnificently and had the time of our lives and saw some amazing sights.

The trip organisation went without a hitch, we especially appreciated being meet by Tours Africa on arrival into Lusaka and had to be rushed through immigration/visa etc as flight was late coming in. If the tours Africa rep had not been there to help we would probably missed the connection."

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Great to be back!"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2016
"Fantastic game drives with Daudi and a lovely peaceful atmosphere in camp, even saw an elephant approach the swimming pool.

Our second trip here and the experience beyond our expevtations"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Great feeling of being in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2016
"A great camp with a very "wilderness feel" Incredible walking safaris and feeling of priviledge in sharing the animals habitat. The shower head in Tent 5 incredible piece of innovation!

Meeting Cristobel and Thomas again was great. The river crossing was a magical experience!

The walking transfer to Nsefu (about 3 1/2 hours ) was a magical experience"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Masses of game in wonderful habitats"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2016
"Our second trip to Nsefu and it was just as good as we remembered.

Although the dining area had been washes away the dining table set with proper chairs under the trees was spectacular.

Game plentiful and the walking safaris memorable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Lions giraffes and the pontoon!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2016
"Just as we remembered in the emerald season, although less water!

Incredible games drives and thrilling experience crossing the river on the pontoon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Comfortable stop over"

1 night Arrived 26 Jun 2016
"Relaxing peaceful end to our holiday with good food and attentive service. Room decor looking a bit tired around the edges but public areas were all fine with fascinating decorations.

As our flight was at 21.25 we had to wait all day for taxi pickup, theHotel very accommodating and helpful in keeping us occupied. Wandered about the immediate area of hotel, no great shakes but did not feel threatened."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Fanrastic Experience

Zambia between 31 Jan 2015 and 11 Feb 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our second safari (Expert Africa had arranged a trip to Botswana in the dry season in 2012) and so were anxious beforehand that we might be disappointed - this emphatically was not the case and the trip exceeded our wildest dreams.

Practicalities The services of Tours Africa in facilitating our passage though Lusaka Airport were very welcome and suggest that they should always be there on hand to help and advise

SAA flights were much better than BA and we would prefer to use them! Especially as you can prebook the seats without extra cost months in advance. The Proflight flights although cramped were perfectly adequate and would not put us off using them again

Latitude 15 hotel was very comfortable and of high standard of cleanliness, cheerful atmosphere and incredible cheap food. To be recommended. Very swift check in, good portering service and welcome sparkling wine drink!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really I'm afraid, so this feedback will not be that helpful as everything went very smoothly!"

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Wonderful start to our trip!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2015
"Incredible welcome after a long journey from York (36 hours!) from Polly and Sebastion and team who made every effort to welcome and befriend us.

Accommodation spot on, food wonderful and the atmosphere relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble they even prepared a surprise Bush breakfast for us on an Island for our last lunch there and made us feel very privileged.

The game viewing was superb and the transfer by boat everytime exhilarating."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Super river safaris"

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2015
"Really enjoyed the seclusion and friendliness of Nsefu, we we lucky enough to have the place to ourselves so really benefited from the attention.

Brayston and Thomas made a complimentary team for our trips out, especially the walking safaris. Going up river we were lucky to find the lions that we ahd heard roaring and were able to stalk them on foot _ a once in a lifetime experience.

The staff friendliness was incredible and they did evertnig possible to make our stay memorable"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Great walking from Nkwali"

3 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2015
"Kiki and Chilumbe were very welcoming and the game drives and walking exhilarating - it was quite something to be within about 50 yards or 11 (yes eleven) giraffes.

To see leopards and lions almost daily was quite a privilege for us' especially the lion up in the tree! The bird watching for us 2 enthusiastic amateurs was stupendous. The accommodation (Room6) was sumptuous and the food incredible, they even provided a candle lit private dinner for us on our last night - magical."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Comfortable modern Hotel"

1 night Arrived 10 Feb 2015
"Comfortable modern hotel with great ( and inexpensive food - we had fantasic meal for eqiv £45 for both including v good bottle of wine). To be recommended.

The services of Tours Africa in collecting us from and taking us back to the airport were excellent and really made the holiday travelling stress. ( Their services of guiding us through the transfer at Lusaka airport to the Mfwue flight on the way out were very helpful, essential even, as I'm sure we could have been a bit bewildered otherwise)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Sep 2012 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 5 Sep 2012 and 17 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Am aware that have not been able to offer any constructive criticism! It was beyond our expectattions and would offer the following.
Your advice regarding the itinery was spot on:
A break in Livingstone set us up after the long journey
Leballa - a really great introduction to Africa, the attitude of the staff was tangibly happy
Kwara - enabled full activities and so was a good mid point
NAxi Pan - peaceful and laid back, a great place to finish our trip.

Most impressed by all the transfers which all went off without a hitch, the drivers/pilots/airport staff all very keen to help, however a pocketful of $1 bills probab ly heped!!. Perhaps in you notes you could list a rough exchange rate for Rands, Kwacha and Pula as we got a bit confused at times esp in the airport souvenir shops! At one point were intriged to have a bill for 1.3 milliod kwacha for out Zambezi Sun extras ( about £170!). Perhaps beware of the prices in the Camp souvenier shops, pricey but there again reasonable when you consider having to transport it all there.

Really had a fabulous time and have started saving up for a repeat trip, perhaps in the rainy season next time.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Soory to not have any suggestions, really impressed by your service - better than your rivals!!

The animal book you sent us was great, just enough to whet the appetite, they guides all carried very detailed books in the jeeps for really detailed identification. The availability of laundry facilities allowed us to cut down on our packing, we both managed on 10kgs total and so had no probs with getting our cases on the small planes. Your notes for travellers were very detailed and helpful"

Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"Very enjoyable with lovely airy room (3333). Glad that shampoo etc was provided so reducing need to bring from UK. Great free access to Vic Falls which was unlimited a great plus as we went 3 times!

Food generous and plentiful and really enjoyed tha peaceful atmosphere, esp the "nauture trail" where we were enthralled by the weaver birds buuilding their nests. Went on a "River Safari" a bit pricey - $80 each_ b ut a great time. We were offerd a free afternnon tea at Royal Livingstone for our 40th Wedding Anniversary.

As elsewhere in Africa we were treated with cheerful kindness everywhere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2012
"A wonderful introduction to Africa. The Guide - Thabo- and Tracker -Shoes - were tremendous and full of wit and repartee. Nothing was too much trouble and the atmoshere was tremendous. Food great and the game viewing incredible. Again everything we needed was provided including mosquito repellent. Another time we could really reduce our packing.

Perhaps the most memorable experience was the journey from Livingstone. Private Taxi to ZAmbezi River then chaotic customs at riverbank, then private speedboat across river to Safari jeep to KAsane Airport again via chaotic customs post and then flight in 6 seater plane to Leballa all in 2 1/2 hours !! Our drivers were all very helpful in guiding us through the visa/customs post, we would never have managed without them!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2012
"A diiferent atmosphere, we did not click so well with our guide, but on reflection perhaps we had been very lucky with our introduction in Leballa.

Plane trnsfer very slick, no waiting and very swift. Perhaps the facilities a bit dated but game viewing v good. HAd to mend the Loo - the plunger had got stuck, but to be fair as we managed to sort it we did not let the manager know. A busy shedule with lots to do river trips, walks, mokoro rides and game drives, perhgaps not the ideal camp to finish a safari but great when we were all keyed up and keen!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"in a word - Fabulous.

Clean, airy ,spacious and laid back and spacious, just what we needed to reflect on our trip, whilst continuing to keep us occuupied. The Bushman's walk was really interesting taken as it was by a one-eyed old bushman (must have been about 70! Really interesting. A lovely touch was a bottle of bubbly in our room which they gave us to celebrate outr wedding anniversary."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team