This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Bruce from Harrogate

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

2

Remarkable and special

Namibia between 29 Sep 2016 and 26 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa and their team made this a hugely successful adventure. Their response when we had a significant problem with our car was timely and effective and they certainly saved our bacon.

Expert Africa pride themselves on knowing their territory and so it would be without hesitation that we would recommend them to anyone as the company to advise you on a similar trip.

Wilderness Safaris were excellent partners in Namibia and the reception team in Windhoek air worthy of special praise. IN this respect Nandula Malango was a star.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Driving in Namibia is not straightforward as we discovered.

Although the metaled roads are excellent, and similarly many of the dirt roads, a high wheel-base, 2WD is adequate,

But where it is known that the dirt roads are very difficult, varying from smooth to lengthy distances where the surfaces are dangerously rugged , a 4WD should be recommended.

This is especially so in some of the central areas (Sesfontein, Dora Nawas to Palmwag, to Swakpmond) where the roads have been graded directly onto the underlying rock and not built up with gravel or limestone.

In these domains a four wheel drive vehicle is really essential and an extra spare necessary too. Punctures are normal experiences here and the thin tyres for urban use are pathetically inadequate."

Arranged By Megan Green


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2016
"a really relaxed stop after a long journey from Yorkshire.

Great food and informal ambiance."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"We wanted to understand the challenges of farming in arid conditions and because both owners and family all sat with guests at diner and breakfast we were able to listen to their commentary of their lives. we felt very welcome on this farm and were able to walk freely over the huge territory they own.

Cake and tea is set out at 16:00 hrs and the backdrop of their mountains and the veld was fantastic.

A wonderful drive and walk down the Naukluft Valley which is a must for any visitor. so much to see with wonderful animals and birds and plants.

Perhaps the only comment was that the food was just OK. But it was the same food that everyone was eating and I loved being all together at the table, but we would certainly return."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2016
"What a wonderful place and certainly a lodge to thoroughly recommend.

Wonderful trip at dawn to the Sossusvlei reserve and a really knowledgeable guide who also turned host at lunchtime serving us a great picnic on a white linen table cloth in the shade of a thorn tree! Ridiculous but wonderful at the same time!

Super pool and probably the best cooking we enjoyed on our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2016
"charming and helpful owners and comfortable room. Smooth operation and well placed for all activities and sights.

Safe parking and well positioned. Will recommend it warmly"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Dream Kayaking adventure"

6 Oct 2016 • Morning excursion

What a great morning! Good kit, warm and safe even if the day was cold.

Excellent and charming Jeanne was a prfect and sympathetic guide. Seal colonies amazing and amazing numbers of birds.
Excellent
Desert tour

Desert tour

"Tommy's Amazing Tour"

7 Oct 2016 • Morning excursion

Tommy is one of the most enthusiastic and able wildlife educators I have ever experienced. He thoroughly deserves his success. He opened our eyes to the remarkable wildlife that survives in the barrend sandune deserts and there was never a boring moment. Especially good with small children of every age (5 to 75 years!)
Excellent
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

"Safari to savour!"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"This family rightly deserve their reputation for these five star safaris. Three nights and four days of adventure and dramatic scenery, Challenging belief Andre flew us in and out of canyons and along the endless strand, landing at apparently any spot where he fancied. We always felt safe and his knowledge was encyclopedic. Great camps and excellent food prepared by long serving teams at each camp.

Sympathetic relations with local people and an understanding of the local game which included desert elephants, lion and Rhino's.

A life experience for anyone's bucket list.

Bravo Andre and team."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Singing oasis!"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"greeted with the Dora Nawas chorale led by Hendricks the maitre d'hotel we were made to feel really welcome at this this hill top lodge/hotel. Busy centre and not far from the airstrip at D.N. Close to lots of other attractions it is somewhere which could make an excellent base for exploration.

Fantastic help from the hotel staff (especially Hendricks) when we faced meltdown with car problems."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Experience"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"Amazing place and really remote. Saw lots of game in spite of the rugged scenery including a very close encounter with lions!

Dennis our host was gracious and laid back, and Bonny and the other guides (Bonny and Boas) made this one of our star place to stay for us.

Communal dining, great food meant we made several good friends there. Super, albeit understandably small swiming pool too.

Daytime bush walk was not really much of a walk and perhaps could be shorter or faster and further! Game drives remarkable.

We would warmly recommend to anyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Wonderful lookout for Etosha first night"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"Amazing setting but what a pity there was really no evidence of anyone in charge. Lodges are strung out across 400 metres of the ridge of one of the few hill ranges in Etosha.

But the lodges really needed a critical eye passed over them. Every window zip was broken in our tent and if the weather had been anything other than queit and hot they would have allowed wind, rain, and dust dust to pour in. Electrical plugs a shambles and probably dangerous. Any of these issues could be easily sorted with a program of regular preventative maintenance.

But what a setting and such nice staff with good food and remarkable views."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Busy Caravanserei"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"A busy oasis and one of the great crossroads of Nambia; also one of the main entry gates to Etosha

In spite of its business, this place is really successful and works well for all tourists. Excellent base for self drivers.

Good food and helpful staff, comfortable lodges and a famous water hole floodlight all night long. Well worth the two nights we spent there.

Good facilities including garage and post office but the shop is awful and really rather sad.

Credit cards worked well at all the NWS lodges."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2016
"What a wonderful welcome and fantastic setting and accommodation!

But the food was possibly the worst we had on our trip. Mediocre when every promised so much."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima, a must!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"Special visit and a memorable end to our three weeks. Fantastic staff andwarmest of welcomes. This place sets out to be good and achieves this in spades.

Angel the Manager was excellent and runs a tight ship with everything done to perfection. Attention to detail justifies its success. Helia his assistant must be mentioned too.

Game drives to see Leopards and Cheetahs fantastic and Previous, our Zimbabwean guide, a fund of knowledge about every aspect of the work of this big cat sanctuary.

The early morning walk to see the cheetahs hunting was a fantastic privilege.

Lovely people and lovely place with fantastic accommodation. A must go-to place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangement in JNB

"Johannesburg is still worth a visit!"

5 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"So much has changed and still so much gong on.

Many people are working so hard at building the new South Africa and although its reputation is not all sweetness it is well worth stopping over to see what is going on."
Excellent
Food
Good
Activities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team