This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert tour

Desert tour

Reviews: Desert tour

Below are independent comments from 8 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-8 of 8
Date
safari lovers
UK

"Exceptional "

16 Mar 2020
"Spent a fascinating 5 hours learning about the flora and fauna of the desert with Douglas. Highly recommend." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr & Mrs N
USA

"A great way to see the desert"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 19 Jan 2019
"Guide was very knowledgeable, excellent lunch, drove very safely..." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Great day out with Bruno"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 21 Nov 2017
"It was great to meet up with Bruno again after 15 years! We were the only clients on that day so it became a personalised tour.

Bruno drove us out into the Namib to see geological features and desert plants. We also saw klipspringers and ostrich.

Bruno is an excellent guide and easy to talk to. We had lunch in the desert with tables, chairs & tablecloth.

A fantastic day out." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Prof B & Mr K
Delhi

"An extraordinary glimpse into the desert!"

Based at Sandfields Guesthouse on 2 Feb 2017
"I can't recommend this trip highly enough. Through the dunes, the dolerite dykes and the dry riverbed, Bruno was a brilliant guide. He opened up the desert for us: exciting and unusual sights followed one another in quick succession as we saw rare plants and animals, looked at strange rocks, learned about the geology and current threats to the environment. The picnic lunch was delicious and we came away feeling that we'd had our fill of memorable experiences." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr Z
Maryland, USA

"Enchanting Welwichia"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 23 Nov 2016
"Messim crater had the most enchanting plants I've ever seen--welwichia that are nearly 4,000 years old! This day was extraordinary." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Bruce
Harrogate

"Tommy's Amazing Tour"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 7 Oct 2016
"Tommy is one of the most enthusiastic and able wildlife educators I have ever experienced. He thoroughly deserves his success. He opened our eyes to the remarkable wildlife that survives in the barrend sandune deserts and there was never a boring moment. Especially good with small children of every age (5 to 75 years!)" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Norfolk

"Fascinating"

30 Oct 2013
"After the excellent Sandwich Harbour tour the day before, we went with the same guide, Ernst, on this lower-key but equally fascinating half-day tour.

Ernst's passion for the flora of the desert conveyed itself to us and he was extraordinarily knowledgeable. Seeing thousand-year old welwitschia plants was a highlight." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs J
UK

"Desert Tour"

Based at Swakopmund Guesthouse on 18 Dec 2010
"Bruno was excellent (and apparently not feeling too well we heard after), very interesting trip , thoroughly enjoyable. We learnt loads about the history, geography, geology. flaura and fauna." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
100%
8 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
8
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team