This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Prof B & Mr K from Delhi

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

2

The trip of a lifetime!

Namibia between 26 Jan 2017 and 11 Feb 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"A truly memorable trip, filled with astonishing beauty, strange and wonderful sights, and warm hospitality. I wish I could do it all over again!"

Feedback response

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
1. The estimated driving times mentioned for our trips from one place to the next were far less than what we actually took. They seemed to be based on the assumption that we'd drive without stopping to look at things, when in fact we drove slowly and stopped often. We quickly learned to double the estimated time to get an accurate sense of how long our drives would take.

2. While the map was very accurate, Okonjima Plains Camp was a bit hard to find (we'd expected it to be closer to the preceding town to the north and kept thinking we'd overshot it and had to stop and ask a roadside workers' gang). Stating the distance in kilometres would have helped.

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jan 2017
"A quiet and restful place to recover from our long flight."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2017
"The Lodge has a beautiful location but I wish our spacious room had better ventilation (it was very warm; we couldn't draw the curtains to keep put the sun enough; no fan or air-conditioning).

We went for a walk with Jobi, who was enthusiastic but couldn't answer many of our questions about geology and plant life. The lodge didn't have guide books to aid us either."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2017
"From the moment we arrived and were greeted by John Mwaendanawa, we were delighted.

The lodge is beautifully designed and the rooms are well-appointed. Excellent service.

John was a very well-informed and engaged guide who made sure that we got the most out of our trip to Sossusvlei and Sesriem. (Only one suggestion: please make sure that the Lodge has reference books for birds, plants and geology.)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jan 2017
"A quirky, out-of-the-ordinary place to stay amidst breath-taking scenery. We loved walking on the ridge behind the lodge, looking at the rocks and the staggeringly beautiful landscape.

The room was a bit cramped and we would have appreciated a coffee/tea maker since the main dining area was a short walk away.

The father-son team managing the place (sorry! can't remember their names) were friendly and supplied us some useful reference books (which we'd been keen to consult) so we could look things up."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Sandfields Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2017
"Excellent on all counts: beautiful room, friendly and helpful owner, terrific breakfast!

Whilst here, we organised two day-trips for these travellers:
One to Sandwich Harbour, about which they commented:

One of the best days of my life!

Burger took us to see the salt pans with flamingos, pelicans and other birds and then the lagoons between the ocean and the dunes. Sandwich Harbour is fabulous and we had the place to ourselves, soaking in the sun and the wind and sea, enjoying the strange plants up close and glorying in that vast serene expanse.

... and another into the Namib Desert, about which they commented:

An extraordinary glimpse into the desert!

I can't recommend this trip highly enough. Through the dunes, the dolerite dykes and the dry riverbed, Bruno was a brilliant guide.

He opened up the desert for us: exciting and unusual sights followed one another in quick succession as we saw rare plants and animals, looked at strange rocks, learned about the geology and current threats to the environment.

The picnic lunch was delicious and we came away feeling that we'd had our fill of memorable experiences."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"One of the best days of my life!"

1 Feb 2017 • All-day excursion

Burger took us to see the salt pans with flamingos, pelicans and other birds and then the lagoons between the ocean and the dunes. Sandwich Harbour is fabulous and we had the place to ourselves, soaking in the sun and the wind and sea, enjoying the strange plants up close and glorying in that vast serene expanse.
Excellent
Desert tour

Desert tour

"An extraordinary glimpse into the desert!"

2 Feb 2017 • All-day excursion

I can't recommend this trip highly enough. Through the dunes, the dolerite dykes and the dry riverbed, Bruno was a brilliant guide. He opened up the desert for us: exciting and unusual sights followed one another in quick succession as we saw rare plants and animals, looked at strange rocks, learned about the geology and current threats to the environment. The picnic lunch was delicious and we came away feeling that we'd had our fill of memorable experiences.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2017
"What a delight to arrive after a long day's drive to be greeted by a group of people singing you a welcome song!

Doro Nawas was full of such sweet touches. The warmth and competence of the staff was truly remarkable. Our guide Markuz was fantastic too and seeing desert-adapted elephants with him was a special treat.

Doro Nawas also stood out for its beautiful design, especially its gorgeous rooms that harmonised with the severe beauty of the landscape.

So much to see in the surrounding area, I wish we'd stayed an extra day at least."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2017
"This was the only let-down in our trip.

While the Park staff did their best when approached, it was hard to justify the horrible food at dinner (cold slop, hardly anything for a vegetarian) and, worse, the incompetence of the guide (he wasn't forthcoming with information -- we saw a pair of blue cranes and discovered quite by chance later that there were only 35 of them in the world; he hadn't been provided with binoculars so he had to borrow ours to identify birds; he forgot to hand out warm ponchos until mid-way on a very chilly ride in an open vehicle).

There was a lot to enjoy on the drives we took on our own but the experience would have been much more enhanced if we'd had the kind of superb guiding that we had with Turnstone Tours."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Poor
Food
Terrible
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"After Etosha, Okonjima Plains camp felt like we'd gone to heaven!

A gorgeous design, great meals and superb wildlife drives with Rohan van Wyck. The high point was getting up close to a cheetah as she ate from a springbok she'd killed.

I only wish we could have stayed longer and explored the place a bit more."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2017
"A superb location with a great view.

The staff stood out for their warmth and humour and helpfulness."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team