This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

93 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Brown Hyena

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 93
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Wilts

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Elephants as small as ants!"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2015
"Not that easy to find unless we just missed a road sign - we came upon the waterhole first and spent a long time watching giraffe, zebra, oryx, warthog and elephant - and a few ostrich- looking up we could see the buidings blending into the dolomite hill behind - a splendid location - and next time(!) we will spend two nights here.

Our road here was the less travelled one -- at one point we had to weave among springbok and zebra just sitting and standing on the gravel road as if no cars had been passed in a long while.

Not a place for those afraid of heights but the view from our room really did make distant elephants look like ants.

Meal times were a bit weird with long waits while food came from the kitchen to one of the two dining rooms." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Lovely camp in quiet part of the park"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2015
"Great location, built on a ridge with rooms stetted along its length and not fenced in - buggy transfer provided after dark.

Wonderful view across the plain from the room and the bar and a nearby waterhole which was visible from the camp but only by walking a bit further than the paved track. Not to be done after dark!

Friendly service although not always efficient- e.g. there didn't seem to be a way of alerting reception of arrival at the car park at the bottom of the hill - we were lucky that a vehicle was already transporting someone else but we saw someone else left for about 15 minutes even after we told reception about it.

Good food and good value wine.

Good game viewing at the waterholes. Some of the game were quite inquisitive possibly because they were not as habituated to vehicles as in other parts of the park as access is mainly for people staying at Dolomite. This part wasn't open when we last visited so it was good to be allowed in. A fun experience" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Feb 2015
"Our first visit to the now opened West side of the park via the Galton gate. The Dolomite camp is stunningly situated on the side of a crest with great views over Etosha.

The problem with the camp is that you are totally reliant on a golf buggy to get around the site as some of the climbs if you are elderly are just too much in the heat and as the camp was full, you spent a lot of time waiting for transport.

As it was fairly dry the game was concentrated around the water holes with especially good viewing at Renostervlei , Rateldraf and Arendsnes." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr R & Ms L
UK

"fabulous position but watch out for oryx!"

1 night Arrived 9 Jan 2015
"A fairly long drive to the western end of the Park with some stop-offs along the way brought us to Dolomite. Situated in a pass it has a dramatic position. The deal is that you leave your vehicle in a car park with covered bays, at the foot of a rocky ridge and are ferried up to reception. Because of bookings, we were only able to stay one night here and would suggest that future visitors should try to get at least two nights.

We also ended up in a hut at the far end of the ridge, away from the reception/bar/pool etc. This had a small 'plunge' pool on the deck but more importantly for us, it over-looked a water hole and as we were looking out over the bush about 5 minutes after arrival, a herd of around a dozen elephants crossed below us, on the way to water. As always the staff were great but there was a slightly confusing set-up, with two huts where meals were served, for no reason other than fitting everyone in as far as we could tell. But possibly because of a shortage of staff in the quiet season, there was some delay in getting served and getting a drink - nothing serious but given the status of Dolomite as a jewel in the crown camp, it needs looking at.

When we got a buggy down to the car park the next morning, there was some excitement and when when we got to our car we found that some roaming oryx had wandered through the car park overnight, and seemingly attracted by reflections from moonlight on the cars, had butted them. We had just one dent, but a large 4x4 from South Africa had some serious dents along one side. We took photos and gathered names etc for possible insurance claims. Then we set off to leave Etosha by the Galton Gate. Strictly speaking we had exceeded our time in the park by a few hours but the gate staff assured us that this was not a problem." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Disappointing Dolomite."

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2014
"This is not a very well run camp. The receptionist and lad who collected our bags were great but it was downhill after that.

We noted 3 staff relaxing in the residents lounge who were not very happy when we looked in, so we didn't feel welcome there.

The chalets were very hot and airless when we arrived at 4 p.m. when they were in full sun. We were advised not to leave the chalets after dark and to summon a guide by phone to take us to dinner. The telephones in Rooms 3 and 4 (where my sister and her husband were) did not work so we were stranded when we wanted to go to dinner and we had to risk going on our own. No one seemed concerned!

Dinner was a very slow affair with a sullen waitress who didn't smile. When dinner arrived an hour and quarter later, Jen's was embelished with beetles and their larvae which meant she had no main course that night and it put the rest of us off our food!

We only stayed here to gain admittance to the western end of Etosha but the only waterhole worth visiting was the one nearest the camp, all the other waterholes we visited were dry. We wished we had just stayed 2 nights at Okaukuejo." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Good
Mrs D
Southampton

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"We have only rated Dolomite as good, as it is in such a stunning location.

It would appear that there are management problems here, or should I say lack of management. The staff mostly appeared to have little idea of service and did as little as possible.

Under good management, this camp would be superb." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Dolomite Camp"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"It was a smashing idea to let us drive the whole way across Etosha and the Dolomite Camp was a fundamental part of that.

The views across the plain were excellent, but the camp suffered from its design. The tents were much too hot in the afternoon and the little golf buggy which plied regularly was noisy. The pool area was lovely and provided much needed shade when we arrived in the afternoon.

We weren't offered any trips on arrival, but it didn't matter too much as it was only an overnight stop and our own drive through the Park to the camp was a trip in itself." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Maidstone

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"A disappointment - this did not live up to our expectations. As the newest camp in the NWR we expected more but it seems to be treated as the poor relation and a remote outpost, not the flagship.

Staff here seem to have been relocated from Okaukuejo and not knowledgeable about the area, there were no maps left and the shop was virtually empty. At checkout there seemed to be random allocation of drinks to room bills which took a while to sort out. N.B. Expert Africa voucher had this as DB whereas it was DBB as standard with only drinks being extra. Service was very slow one night and the food disappointing (convinced we had watered down tomato ketchup soup one evening!).

Wi-fi was stated as available but was very, very slow and didn't work on Apple devices at all.

The room was fine and had great views.

One issue the camp has is that it is built on several levels with extended walkways. Transport is by buggy - don't forget anything or leave anything in your car as it will take you 40 minutes there and back. One of the drivers was obviously practising for F1 racing!!

The location was fine, and it is well worth while visiting the western part of Etosha for the wildlife and putting up with the camp's shortcomings, but there are far fewer waterholes accessible than they state." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Miss & Miss H
Sussex

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"Setting for this is wonderful and system of golf carts worked well. However this was ruined by unacceptable food. This ranged from no butter for rolls, to no jam for toast at breakfast on one morning and no sign of marmalade ever. On one evening there were several nationalities and about 18 people. NOT ONE PERSON finished the main course regardless of what they'd ordered. Most food was inedible and undercooked and even veggies were hard. Service was VERY slow. Veggie evening meal consisted of a little shredded cabbage as a starter. Main meal was 2 slices courgette, v small beetroot, rock hard piece of broccoli which couldn't be cut, and a little potato. On requesting some cheese, I was given another small dollop of potato with some melted cheese on top.

A great pity as this spectacular setting has the potential to do better

We were disappointed that we still are unable to access some roads and found it hard to cope with a lack of toilets-- only one between the gate and large area of western region

We had chalet 13 and it was WONDERFUL. Even had leopard drinking from our plunge pool one evening" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 93
86%
93 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
30
8
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa