This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

93 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Brown Hyena

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 93
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2014
"We were disappointed on arrival to have to hike up the steep hill to reception in the heat of the afternoon but once there we were greeted with cool drinks, cold towels and cheery helpful staff. We knew in advance that we would have to change rooms due to NWR having made errors with our booking; the reception staff assured us that they would get our luggage moved for us the next day and, indeed, as we set off for breakfast the next morning the porter/buggy driver confirmed that he would sort the transfer. We were allocated a waterhole view room for the first night and then moved to the best room in the camp (13) for the second night. The views from both rooms were great with the second having the bonus of a large deck from which we could watch the waterhole in the early morning. The surrounding rocks were home to a large group of dassies whose antics were highly amusing. They seemed as fascinated with us as we were with them!

Both rooms were well equipped (even a hairdryer) though the first was a little small. Food was very good though sauces lacked imagination (3 meats all came with the same sauce served on the side). It might be helpful to tell guests which dining room their room was allocated on check in – you do not have a free choice of which to use. There was a reasonable wine list but virtually none was in stock.

Throughout our stay we couldn’t fault the friendly, helpful staff (the buggy driver even ran to fetch our key from reception to save us having to go up and down the steps). This was in marked contrast to our previous stays at NWR camps.

Dolomite would be very difficult for anyone with walking difficulties as even the closest room to the main facilities is up a steep and uneven slope. To get to the furthest rooms took a good 10 to 15 minutes which, in the heat of the afternoon, along uneven, undulating paths was something of a pain.
There was good game at the waterholes both morning and afternoon though it is a shame that so many of the waterholes at this end of Etosha are still closed off. If these were opened up we would very happily stay for three nights next time and hope for room 13 despite the hike to get there!

In fact we might well simply spend the day on the deck watching the waterhole - wonder if the buggy driver could be persuaded to deliver drinks and lunch????" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"A stunning and wonderful camp. Wish we had stayed longer than one night.
Great service, helpful staff and a more intimate atmosphere than Doro Nawas.
Views from small verandha across the savannah was amazing. Seeing elephants and zebra wandering around just metres below us was unbeatable.
Food very good and they supplied a great packed lunch at a very reasonable cost when we left to travel to next camp." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
R Family
San Diego

"Great experience"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"Adventurous ...the uniqueness helps to cover the little inconveniences.
Now that the west part is open to public...not necessary unless you want the experience.
Very special design and atmosphere.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2014
"This camp is in a wonderful location and we were lucky enough to stay in room 13, one of only two rooms with direct views over the waterhole 200 m away. We were lucky enough to see lions playing around the waterhole at 5.30 am.

The rooms are amazing - wood, glass, thatch and canvas structures on stilts clinging to the side of the hill. We had a plunge pool on the deck, a separate balcony with views across the plain, a very comfortable bed and clean shower / toilet areas. The walk up the hill to the camp and to the rooms is hard going though - so guests with limited mobility will need to rely on the availability of the electric carts (these were not offered to us on arrival or on departure). The food was again very good - limited menu but very good quality.

The reason we have only rated this as 'good' is that the staff service was appalling. Very friendly and pleasant, but they were invisible at times and pretty ineffective the rest of the time. The person who escorted us to our room in the dark did not provide any light for us to get down the steps to the room, they literally just dropped us and left; on check out there were no reception staff - one poor staff member trying to take guests out on a game drive ended up taking our money for our bill and telling us he would sort it out..... At the same time as trying to get 8 waiver forms signed and get on his way for the game drive.

There are also a few minor maintenance issues that need to be addressed before they get worse (big gaps under all of the doors in the rooms letting big drafts in on all sides, the start of wood rot on some of the shower fittings, sliding doors that come off of their runners). This is a shame as it could - and should- be the jewel in the crown in the park. We would not have missed it and would go back, it is good, just have limited expectations of the staff!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs E
Bucks

"Dolomite camp - introduction to Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2014
"Another camp with a long walk to reception - not a problem however.

Food was very good but the staff have a bit to learn regarding service which was slow. A couple of basic items ran out but there was no effort to bring in supplies ahead of schedule.

There was a leopard in the camp one night but we did not see it. There was also some lion activity rather close to our hut - again, heard but not seen.

There are a couple of excellent waterholes close by with large herds of zebra, oryx, elephant and other plains animals." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Taylor family
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2014
"Stunning location! Set high up on a hill in the previously restricted western reaches of Etosha NP, this camp was amazing. You unload your bags at the top then drive back down to park your car. It is then an almighty trek back up to your tented chalet, but the view makes the effort worthwhile. The staff carry your bags, which was a relief! The views over the plains are amazing.

There was a lovely refreshing swimming pool and bar area and despite it's remote location drinks were very reasonably priced. Dinner was not a buffet but a set menu and was fine. The beds were lovely and comfortable and surrounded by mosquito nets so there was no problem with bugs.

The only downside is that the view directly over the waterhole seems to be reserved for a select few exclusive chalets. If you are on the other side you cannot see the waterhole, and there was no viewing area. You would have to drive to the waterhole.

However, don't let that put you off as the surrounding views are stunning and you really can see for miles. Sunset was beautiful. I was told by a member of staff that they already have bookings for the next couple of years, and I can understand why! An amazing place to stay." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Nice idea, shame about the lodge..."

1 night Arrived 20 May 2014
"This was the biggest disappointment of our trip.

We love Etosha, but unfortunately we can't recommend Dolomite Camp. The idea is good, but the execution is poor. There is a long and steep walk to most of the rooms, with no certainty of assistance carrying your bags.

The staff seem rather uninterested and don't really understand what their guests need from them." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr D.T.R
Corby

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2014
"Bad meal service and food 1 night. Waterhole not best location for camp" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr M & Mrs S
UK

"Dolomite camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2013
"We had a wonderful view of the waterhole. Staff very helpful." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
New York

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2013
"The camp itself is beautifully designed and situated-public spaces, individual rooms and a really nice pool. We especially loved the rooms with balconies that were so private and peaceful.

The food in the dining rooms was good and staff , when we were there, pleasant. We left by taking the longer road out to the gate because there were water holes noted on our map. All but one of these was closed and we wished the we had known this before we chose this route. We did not take any of the drives." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 93
86%
93 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
30
8
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa