This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Herts

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2014 trip

Namibia between 1 Aug 2014 and 17 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"From out first contact with Tracy to the end the help, advice and service was superb.
Tracy gave us plenty of tips on the various camps, pros and cons of some of our choices which helped our final decisions on places to stay and kept us informed throughout of flights, costs etc.

The holiday was better than we had imagined and any slight reservations that we may have had about drivng oursleves about were soon put aside with the empty roads and clearly marked map that Tracy supplied.

We enjoyed the mix of camps that we stayed in and meeting the many staff members that made our stays so enjoyable. It is a shame that the NWR have not invested in Okaukuejo because the location is so good. It was like staying at Butlins after a night at Claridges.

Our previous African trip was to Botswana, only staying in the reserves so this time having the mix of wildlife and real life made for an overall better experience and a small taste of Namibian life.

Thank you for organising a great trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
No.
All the literature was superb and service 100%"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2014
"Lovely guesthouse.
Very welcoming with cold drinks and towels to refresh ourselves on arrival.
Helped us to book a local restaurant for dinner and a taxi to take and collect us.
Comfy room.
Very good breakfast."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2014
"Good location, just a few minutes walk from town and the beach.
Nice room and superb breakfasts.
Bettina was very welcoming and helped us to book a restaurant for dinner."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2014
"Good welcome with cold drinks and towels.
Friendly, helpful staff.

Dramatic setting and a chalet with stunning views across the hills.
Very comfy room with a great verandha to enjoy the scenery with a drink.


Bit odd; tea bags and coffee sachets in room but no kettle or hot water.

Evening meals good.

Would have liked a guided walk but a large American tourist group had booked all guides. We were warned though to book in advance to guarantee an activity. Walked alone which was fine as camp visible for miles for orientation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"A stunning and wonderful camp. Wish we had stayed longer than one night.
Great service, helpful staff and a more intimate atmosphere than Doro Nawas.
Views from small verandha across the savannah was amazing. Seeing elephants and zebra wandering around just metres below us was unbeatable.
Food very good and they supplied a great packed lunch at a very reasonable cost when we left to travel to next camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2014
"We didn't like the camp very much as so large and very noisy but we had been warned that this was the case.
The place needs an urgent refurbishment in every area. The room was dull and drab but clean.
The food shop was awful with very little stock and uninterested staff.

However, the food in the restaurant was good though the system of some self service and some waiter service during the evening meal was a bit chaotic with not enough staff for the number of tables.

The main draw, as advised, was the waterhole. During the afternoon we saw many zebra, giraffe and antelope but the 'stars come out at night'. On the first night we saw three rhinos and a herd of 20+ elephants but on night two, 10 individual rhinos both black and white, two females with calves and a herd of 30+ elephants. This made up for the average camp."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2014
"Reception, lounge, dining area is stunning. The largest open sided thatched building that we have ever seen.
Makes for a very dramatic place to eat and chat.

Tent was beautiful and very well laid out with many individual touches and thoughtful additions.
Even though the verandha was small it was nice to sit out and hear the birds and animals, or as George can testify, see, as a family of warthogs trotted past him.

Staff were superb and a credit to the owners."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"A great experience and very special place to stay.
No luxuries but we didn't expect them however the beds were comfy and the ensuite, fitted with animal skulls and a turtle shell for a soap dish was great.
Food was some of the best we had with Bruno and Tommy creating miracles with a camp fire.
We were so lucky that no other people had booked while we were there so had Bruno all to our selves. His knowledge and enthusiasm is unrivalled and for anyone interested in the whole ecology of Namibia and not just the 'big five' it is a wonderful, educational three days.
Need to be hardy as five hours walking in the heat during the morning was quite tough but it was worth it. The evening walk of two or three hours was easier though avoiding the acacia trees was a full time event!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2014
"I think this was our favourite camp overall.
We loved the location and views from the three different seating areas that we had at our tent. The elevated position of the tents with none overlooking another was great.
Food was superb and staff very cheerful and helpful. Dining area and bar deck are in a great elevated position overlooking hills, bird feeder and waterhole.

Guided walks were good with knowledgable guides and a good pace.

Self guided 'map' very poor. Needs to be improved with more information on length of each walk and how they are way marked. We abandoned one as could not find pointers and made up our own walk on obvious trails.

Minor point; linen was looking shabby with small holes in bed sheets and towels but they were clean."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team