This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss & Miss H from Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2014 trip

Namibia between 25 Aug 2014 and 12 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Despite problems arising so near to departure this holiday lived up to our expectations. Highlights were camp waterholes and we were able to watch numerous animals and birds. As we were only able to get out of car at toilets we spent much of the day in the car with a/c on as temperatures reached over 30C. Also white dust got into everything.

Pleased car gave no problems and was comfortable

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Clocks changed on Sep 7tth and would be helpful to tell clients
Petrol can now be paid for by credit cards at all pumps in Etosha but there are no ATMs
Problems with getting cash from ATMs at airport and elsewhere.
No diesel at Waterberg for those needing it
Would be useful to have list of toilets in Etosha"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

"Rivendell Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2014
"Just what we needed after a long journey.Very helpful, quiet and delicious breakfast. Even ordered a Chinese take away for us as we were too tired to cook or go out! However it arrived an hour early!!

Easy to get to road to Etosha"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2014
"Though camp close to Etosha quite a drive to reach gate. Didn't do any drives in reserve other than to get to Etosha.

Enjoyed sitting in dining room area and lounge overlooking small waterhole especially at sunset"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"Really enjoyed the long night drive. Guide was excellent and spotted unusual animals. On moving to self catering realised there was no light working in the kitchen and it was dark. This was fixed very quickly. We found all staff friendly and helpful.

Pleased to see black rhino and other animals and birds at waterhole which we visited every evening. Well worthwhile

Enjoyed cooking our own evening meal as vegetarians are not really catered for. Usually no protein except at breakfast throughout whole trip with one exception."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Activities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"Highlight is fenced waterhole which is easily within reach. Had numerous sightings here at various times, including Black rhino very close, elephants, lion and hyaena. Jackals wandered around the dining area!

Once again did not really understand what a vegetarian needs but happily acquired some baked beans to add to a soya mince we'd cooked previously, and heated it all for me"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"Setting for this is wonderful and system of golf carts worked well. However this was ruined by unacceptable food. This ranged from no butter for rolls, to no jam for toast at breakfast on one morning and no sign of marmalade ever. On one evening there were several nationalities and about 18 people. NOT ONE PERSON finished the main course regardless of what they'd ordered. Most food was inedible and undercooked and even veggies were hard. Service was VERY slow. Veggie evening meal consisted of a little shredded cabbage as a starter. Main meal was 2 slices courgette, v small beetroot, rock hard piece of broccoli which couldn't be cut, and a little potato. On requesting some cheese, I was given another small dollop of potato with some melted cheese on top.

A great pity as this spectacular setting has the potential to do better

We were disappointed that we still are unable to access some roads and found it hard to cope with a lack of toilets-- only one between the gate and large area of western region

We had chalet 13 and it was WONDERFUL. Even had leopard drinking from our plunge pool one evening"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Terrible
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"Service here was excellent with everyone appearing happy. Worth the long journey from Etosha to stay here and we spent some time relaxing though very little else to do if you weren't on an organised trip. Most people were fully inclusive and were able to plan their programmes the night before.

ALL staff were willing to help in any way even to having a conversation in the 'click' language when asked. Food here for veggie's was cooked specially at each meal and was delicious - sometimes more than enough! and there was also usually a good choice from the buffet.

Morning desert elephant trip was enjoyable and was interesting to see the younger ones sleeping during the heat of the day. We booked an extra trip to the rock engravings which were fascinating and well preserved. Was v hot but guide found shade in a few places."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"Not signposted as an NWR camp from road and we drove a further 8ks before we realised our error. At reception was asked if we really wanted self- catering as there were none in the room. Brought a 2 ring stove and some plates and cutlery but no other implements or mixing bowls etc. Cannot be classed as self- catering.

Morning drive left at 5.30 and no rugs, ponchos etc were provided - we were all cold despite wearing many layers. Should have been warned to bring even more. Guide then killed time by chatting as was too dark to see anything. Could have left 45 mins later and still been at waterhole to wait for animals. Had good sightings of roan and klipspringer and a few other animals and birds. Overall no comparison with Etosha and a bit of a disappointment though unusual setting

Plenty of trails around camp but not always easy to find and boots needed in places as a bit overgrown. Plenty of baboons around."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Activities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team