This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by R Family from San Diego

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Amazing educational and surprising!

Namibia between 2 Aug 2014 and 19 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We set to see a lot in a considerably short time.
For some places we wished to have more.
No regret as it was interesting and lots of memories of very special places and people we met along the way.
Accommodations were sometimes off as we couldn't imagine they fill up so quickly
The hardest part are the distances...but it is very rewarding.
We loved the sunrises and sunsets and all in between.
It was an adventure of a lifetime but hope to come again as there is more to see."

Image alt

Maison Ambre

"Great bed and breakfast"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2014
"You can't ask for a better welcoming and feeling good and safe.
Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated including all you need, roomy and comfortable.
Great breakfast and pleasant outdoor area.
Best recommendations and assistance for places to visit or restaurants.
Would go back anytime."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Best camp location"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2014
"We had a good experience
Also being close to the water hole was an advantage.
Food is limited and the buffet stile is not always rewarding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Nice camp..."

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2014
"Well outdoor maintenance
Food not organized well...people standing ...lack of care to renew empty servings.
Our assigned rooms were too far apart
After long conversation at the front desk we got stories they thought we are two families
While we knew the information we gave was of helping us maintain safety and closure to our son.
When we finally got the closer rooms....we found out that the new one...was much better maintained and equipped compared to The assigned ones. By the way this repeated to be true in other places we needed to ask for a room change."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Great experience"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"Adventurous ...the uniqueness helps to cover the little inconveniences.
Now that the west part is open to public...not necessary unless you want the experience.
Very special design and atmosphere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Didn't want to leave it!"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"A bit too far from attractions.
An oasis ...beautiful , charming and intellectual
Nice activities and friendly atmosphere.
Great nature guide and fabulous dinners.
Individual attention and special care.
It was a wonder that with all that this place has to offer
Our shower wasn't working well and we woke up both nights because of sewer smell."
Excellent
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Gratitude to Sam"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2014
"Our designated room was really crowded and small
Sam gave us an extra room for the first night and moved us to the family penthouse for the second.
He went out of his way to help, assist and advise.
Even encouraged us to take sandwiched for the way the day we left.
We also enjoyed the dinners and special wines."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Weltevrede Restcamp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Surprisingly disappointing"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"We got a very enthusiastic welcome but when we saw the rooms it was downhill compared to others.
Food wasn't prepared well either...low quality.
In the morning we expected a breakfast to go
Instead we got a new pack bag with thermoses ...which no one explained why
We took the sandwiches and left it on the table as there was no one official to talk to.
Coffee and tea were suppose to be available ....but not!
Accommodation and facilities needs to be updated."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

"An experience not to forget"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2014
"If not for my husband calling your office we had to repay for accommodation
After expert Africa got involved we got rooms closer to each other and my son even got a tent with more open space for restrooms.
It was freezing at night...but we had enough blankets.
It is almost like living outdoors.
In warmer season...probably nicer experience.
It was funny that from all other better facilities this one had an outdoor entertainment TV set."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Image alt

Zum Waterkant

"Old time Germany"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2014
"Clean comfortable rooms. Beautiful view.
Breakfast like home.
Detailed decorations and great welcoming owners.
They took great care of us and have been very helpful.
Strange neighborhood... Dogs barking every night.
No shampoo or body soap only hand soap available."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Disappointing"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2014
"We may have gotten their worst room
It was one of the last end...even got lost to find it after dinner
Room was small, heating didn't work ...it was damp and smelly and caused two of us to wake up with runny nose.
We were told there is no other room available.
I had to hang one blanket over the window ...for my son who slept under it...not to get more sick.
Especially at dinner but also at breakfast the team was checking our plates and how much food we took...made it very unpleasant.
The place is run for profit...not enjoyable...and they really don't offer much.

Not recommended...could have been great as the area is beautiful."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Loved it"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2014
"Again some misunderstanding with the rooms.
The ones kept for us were too far apart.
We ended having one room only and they compensated us by not charging for the morning game ride.

The place is magnificent ...very nice architecture. Wonderful view. The best sunset.
Feels like you are living the safari dream.
Very pleasant team and a great place to wrap it up for the end of our great adventure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Maison Ambre

"Great to be back"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2014
"It was nice to end up were we started
Again it's a great place for a home away from home."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team