This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by BarryT from Knutsford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

25th anniversary holiday

Namibia between 23 Sep 2017 and 15 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We cannot stress enough what a fantastic holiday we have had in Namibia due in no small way to all the staff at Expert Africa in particular Tom, and Chris.

The organisation is superb and the customer service outstanding. To have the MD call you on a Sunday morning after BA delayed our flight for 24 hours to see if he could help was amazing and we were very grateful. They could teach BA what customer service really means.

Namibia is a beautiful country, safe ,with spectacular scenery and wildlife.. All the places we stayed were excellent with welcoming staff, very good food and some amazing views. We have fabulous memories."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Extremely welcoming and 1st class"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"We drove straight to Hoodia after arriving in Windhoek as we had already lost time through our flight delay.. Roads are in the main good and it took us about 3 hours.
We loved staying here. The staff are brilliant and the chef is a magician. We stayed in Chalet No1 which has an uninterrupted view towards the West so you get fantastic sunsets. The room was really good and the lodge facilities were excellent.

It is easy to visit Sossusvlei under your own steam so we did not need a guide even so the guide told us exactly where to go and what to do.Take their advice and do dot be tempted to drive past the first car park even if you have a 4x4. The sand is very deep and even the professionals get stuck. The dunes are stunning, a photographers dream but they are a tough climb. The walk through to Dead Vlei is spectacular.
One tip. As the buses to the dunes from the first car park get busy walk to Sossusvlei to catch the bus back"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Beautifully clean with a very good location"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"We stayed here two nights and highly recommend it. It is spotless and only five minutes from the centre of town. Parking is either on site or just outside and they have security.

We ate the first night at Kucki's Pub which was good but really just pub food. The second night we ate at The Tug.This is fantastic but you must book as it is very popular. Its the best John Dory I have ever eaten. We also visited the gem stone factory and the museum which are both worth a visit. We also did the Welwitchia Drive where you must get a permit in town before you go for negligible cost but we were never asked to show it. It is spectacular.

It is noticeably colder in Swakop but a warm fleece is enough unless you are particularly susceptible to the cold.
We then drove up the coast to the seal colony. Amazing site and very smelly. Its a long drive but worth it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Truly atmospheric with great staff"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2017
"Perched on the top of a small hill giving fantastic views of the plains. Excellent food and lovely rooms. Not for those with walking difficulties though as the rooms are some distance from the main lodge and you have to walk up the hill.

We took a guided elephant safari at 16.00 with Marcus. Absolutely brilliant with a superb guide and we saw a family of desert elephants really close ending the day with a sundowner in a dry riverbed. Fabulous.

We visited the Organ Pipes and Burnt mountain ourselves. Interesting but if short of time go to the Damaraland Living Museum instead. Its a really great experience and we had a very nice girl showing us around. Well worth supporting.We also went to Twyfelfontein to see the rock art which is excellent.

Wine was included with dinner and our waiter explained the menu both in English and Click language. Brilliant.
Dont leave too quickly after your dinner as the staff put on a great show of African singing once everyone has finished eating."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"A truly memorable view"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"We drove here from Doro Nawas and it takes about three hours but we had a puncture outside Palmvag. An interesting experience! The lodge is at the very top of the Pass and the view you get is outstanding. Its the view you always see on TV of the flat top Entendeka Mountains.

The rooms are small but comfortable and the food is good. The road through the pass is very tricky with lots of loose gravel but the road up to the lodge is even trickier. Unless you really know what you are doing let the lodge arrange transfer. We saw Black Eagles and lots of birds and Dassie but could not go on a self guided hike as there were lions present. Its a great place for an overnight stop.The onward journey to Kamanjab was easy and we got a new tyre fitted and cake in the garage cafe in this busy little town."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"A fantastic camp right in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"This camp situated on the Western side of Etosha is first class. It is perched on a hill and you have to walk up a long drive to reception and the chalets are stretched out across the hill. We were in Chalet 14 which was quite a distance to walk but they have a golf buggy to take you there and back especially at night as the camp is not fenced.

It is a truly spectacular location our chalet being one of two that overlooks the waterhole. We saw elephants, giraffe, scores of oryx, zebra and impala and at the various waterholes close by saw lions, kudu, and vultures. The food is good except breakfast which was poor with a lot of things having run out and no one from the staff noticing.The bar was nice although the barman gave the impression he wanted to go to bed somewhat earlier than the guests. Special mention must go to the Manager who was very helpful and told us the best places to watch animals. Etosha is amazing but you cannot leave your vehicle so be prepared to sit in the car and patiently wait. It is well worth it.

Be prepared for fairly long drives between the waterholes and note some are better in the morning than the afternoon. No complaints from us though as we saw everything we wanted to see."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"A fantastic lodge with its own waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"Of all the excellent places we stayed this one was exceptional.

The location although outside the park on a private game reserve was outstanding. We drove through Etosha to Okakuejo as Ongava is close to the Anderson Gate. Quite a long drive and we hoped to fill up with fuel but the station was out of diesel. We waited for about three hours for the fuel truck to arrive.

Okakuejo is a busy camp with a variety of accommodation and is popular due to its floodlit waterhole. Ongava is reached through its own private drive and adjoins the Etosha boundary, We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely with inside and outside showers and a huge bed and the Management had put a bottle of chilled champagne in the room for our anniversary.The staff are brilliant.

The food was stunning and the restaurant overlooked the waterhole. It also had its own hide where you could get really close to the animals. We saw white and black rhinos including a mother with a baby and lots of game.

This is a fantastic lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Excellent cheetah and leopard tracking"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2017
"The home of Africat is one of the best places to see the big cats and we were not disappointed.

Brilliant guide Martin made sure we got to see the cats up close and we even walked to within fifteen metres of two cheetahs. Truly memorable experience.

Once again we were upgraded this time to the Bush camp as the Plains Camp was full. Excellent large chalet with massive windows overlooking the plain and a separate Rondavel where you could sit during the day with a glass or too and watch he wildlife.

We went on several safaris and saw cheetah and leopard plus impala, warthogs, and kudu.After leaving Ongava we drove through Otjiwarongo which is a great place to stock up. Lots of petrol stations and supermarkets. We thought Okonjima would be less luxurious after Ongava but we were not disappointed. Great staff, lovely food, and brilliant guide make this a place you should not miss.Don't miss the afternoon tea just before you go out tracking."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team