This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Australia

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful Namibian Holiday

Namibia between 26 Apr 2017 and 25 May 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful trip, we really enjoyed our slow drive around Namibia. Claire fulfilled all our requests for specific rooms (i.e. far from main areas, with good views) as well as booking us a balloon trip in Sossussvlei and the best table at The Jetty in Swakopmund. All our expectations were met.

2 points which will be useful: 1) There are no longer ATM's in Etosha, and petrol stations do not take cards. You have to arrive in Etosha with enough cash.

2) Nam $ 3000 in cash was stolen from a hotel safe - luckily our passports and credit cards were not taken. Best to keep cash and cards with you at all times. Of course this could happen anywhere in the world, it's just in Namibia we were carrying more cash than usual."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Good Windhoek Transit"

1 night Arrived 28 Apr 2017
"Villa Violet was quiet and clean, room was a bit small, lovely breakfast - a great place for overnighting in Windhoek. Appreciated manager's recommendation to eat at Joe's Beer House - quirky venue with wonderful steaks, very close by."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Great overnight stop at Kalahari Anib Lodge"

1 night Arrived 29 Apr 2017
"Very nice comfortable lodge with a walking track, good restaurant, lovely shop, room was quiet and spacious, slept really well."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

"Kanaan Desert Retreat review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2017
"Situated in awesome setting, really enjoyed early morning drive to their private vlei and evening drive to the dunes. Observing their 2 cheetahs in "rehab" very interesting. Appreciate their efforts to help oryx by getting in volunteers to remove kilometres of old farm fences. Great food, well worth a visit."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"See Deadvlei before the crowds arrive"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2017
"Staying at Sossus Dune Lodge allows you to be in the national park long before the crowds of tourists arrive. The lodge will take you into Deadvlei by first light (or you could drive yourself if you have a 4x4). Great deck with desert view to have a sundowner or a meal. One of the better National Parks camps in Namibia."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Very nice Swakopmund stopover."

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2017
"Very pleasant quiet room for a couple of nights in Swakopmund, great breakfast. Easy walk to the central shops, and to restaurants. Had fantastic meal at "The Jetty""
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Beautiful Lodge in the koppies."

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2017
"Very beautiful lodge built amongst the rocks - a few different walking trails which can be done with a guide if preferred. Great food, really enjoyed Erongo. Lots of stairs and levels though, so if mobility is an issue, this might not be suitable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2017
"Had a large room with a wonderful view out to the wilderness. Really enjoyed rooftop barbecue. Felt we should have had a mosquito net around the bed as we were bothered by mosquitos - but apparently nets are due to be installed soon."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Great experience with rhino trackers"

4 nights Arrived 11 May 2017
"Incredible to see how hard the trackers work to monitor the rare desert rhinos. (There is other game to see as well) Very friendly staff, excellent guide, great meals."
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Wonderful Camp in the hills."

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2017
"On the far west of Etosha, rooms built in the hills overlooking a huge plain, with good amounts of game to be seen. Well worth a stay here. (There are steep areas but a golf cart is available)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Big busy camp"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2017
"This is the main camp in Etosha and as can be expected, large and busy. It's great feature is the waterhole which is lit after dark with a fascinating parade of animals coming down to drink all through the night. This makes Okaukeujo a must on a trip to Etosha"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2017
"A national parks camp, quite busy, with a waterhole which is lit at night. Looks a little bit tired."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Fantastic stay at Onguma Tree Top Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2017
"Had a wonderful 3 nights here, so peaceful after the crowds of Etosha, saw lots of game from our deck, did a sundowner drive and saw a cheetah with 5 cubs. The tented camp also looks wonderful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2017
"Reviewed at beginning."
Excellent

Trip to Ruaha (4 camps) + Zanzibar

Tanzania and 1 other country between 6 Aug 2014 and 23 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"James Denny did an excellent job organising our trip. We asked for quiet accommodation, and we got it at all camps.

All transfers went absolutely smoothly apart from a slight glitch at Zanzibar airport where Eco & Culture were late to pick us up. (Our plane had arrived late) However they were very apologetic, and were in good time to take us back to the airport at the end of our stay.

Overall we have been very impressed with Expert Africa and won't hesitate to contact you for our next holiday.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Very Happy with Service"

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team