This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dune lover from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

Our 40th Wedding Anniversary trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 5 May 2019 and 27 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip as a whole was simply outstanding.

We cannot thank Tom of Expert Africa enough for helping to plan this most memorable trip. All of his suggestions were worthwhile as we saw different landscape and animals at each location. Even our least favoured location (Dolomite) was worth seeing for the views and the variety of wildlife. Shame about the Camp. All the other recommendations by him were spot on and would happily return to any of them.

The variation of Namibia's landscape was incredible and we still cannot believe that we were actually there. I had dreamed of Sossusvlei and Deadvlei and it was just magical when we were there. Every place visited offered its own adventure. The Namibian people were friendly and helpful wherever we went. Driving on the dirt roads was an experience and when we encountered a tarmac stretch or road, we became as excited as if we had seen a rare animal!!

We have no hesitation in recommending Expert Africa to other travellers - Tom was able to deal with our exacting and specific requests with no difficulty.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

More advice on driving on dirt roads for first time travellers would have been helpful. We would emphasise paying great attention to the mechanics of changing the wheel when the spare is chained under the vehicle and also checking tyre pressure before leaving the city for the first time."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2019
"The rooms were well appointed and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Food was excellent.

This was a good way to start our holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2019
"We all loved this lodge, there staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Our guide Rachil (the only female guide at this location) was great fun, full of life and enthusiastic. We also found her informative and keen to show us the local environment. Great location for Sossusvlei. We loved the tented chalets and attention to detail.

We stayed for two nights but could easily have stayed for 3."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2019
"This hotel was very comfortable and had great laundry facilities.

Our concierge Jeffrey was excellent and went out of his way to arrange a scenic flight to fit in with our schedule. He was exceptionally helpful with giving us information on the locality and made great recommendations.

We would recommend travellers use the opportunity whilst staying here to have the inside of the car cleaned of the dust collected whilst driving on the dirt roads to Swakopmund."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Fun at Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2019
"We particularly loved the design of this lodge which merged so well with the environment. We thought the outdoor bathrooms were fun and loved the main room at the Lodge.

The safaris were excellent and the landscape stunning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2019
"We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this lodge.

The staff were amazing and we loved the feel of it being a conservancy. It certainly felt as if the staff were all stakeholders in the venture. They took a personal interest in making sure that the guests enjoyed themselves and we were treated to an iced cake in celebration of our 40th Wedding Anniversary.

The only adverse comment we could make (although we feel it churlish when everything else was excellent) was that the design of the individual chalets meant that at night when the door was closed, they were rather airless making sleep a bit difficult. However, we would not cite this as a reason not to go there as our stay was so good in all other aspects.

We took a day out, rather than another animal safari, to take the Damaraland cultural tour (including visiting a school and a village) and would certainly recommend this to other travellers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 16 May 2019
"This is a state owned camp inside the West Gate to Etosha National Park. Upon arrival the place initially looked good. However, it soon became apparent that it was sadly neglected. Round the pool some decking had rotted and the walkways needed repair.

The views from this location were unparalleled so we were not unhappy that we stayed one night there, however the overriding feeling is that the staff are not motivated and generally could not be bothered. When we were in the restaurant we had to find the staff (as we were going out on a night drive) to serve supper. They were all clustered round the television in the bar area! A great pity that the lodge felt sad and tired as the location was simply stunning.

Not sure we would recommend this Lodge."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Safarhoek the heavenly Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2019
"This was simply outstanding. We felt this was the best Lodge of our holiday. Practically perfect in every way!!

We had a super comfortable room with indoor and outdoor showers. The staff were incredibly attentive. Food was excellent and we loved the décor of the main room. In addition there was a wonderful balcony on the main room where one could eat and look down at the waterhole at all the animals gathering.

There was a hide and we spent considerable time there viewing the animals. We would have been very happy to have spent longer here. We saw a herd of 30 elephants at the waterhole during the evening (the waterhole was floodlit) and on the second night the guide drove us down to the hide and we took amazing photographs - seriously up close and personal. We saw many creatures not listed below such as waterbuck etc.

Definitely a place to add to any travellers' itinerary."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge Reivew"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2019
"Our stay at this Lodge was also excellent (although anything was going to be a difficult act to follow after Safarihoek). The chalet was well appointed and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the main room in the Lodge very "out of Africa" looking.

One comment we would make was that it just had a slightly more commercial feel to it after all the other Lodges we stayed in. However, we enjoyed our stay and the surroundings were very pretty. It was a great location to explore the eastern side of Etosha and we thoroughly enjoyed the Lodge's own safaris. We would recommend using a Lodge safari as the guides are in communication with other guides and they advise each other where to go for the best animal sitings at the various waterholes. However, despite seeing lion tracks, we only actually saw one lion. Got the most amazing photos of a leopard chasing a young springbok. We should have made a note at the time of which animals we saw at each location but we were too excited taking photos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

"Okonjima Plains Camp - we were upgraded here"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2019
"This is a difficult review because we were only here for one night and we had been upgraded to the suite which was a short journey from Okonjima Bush Camp so a double upgrade. We had made good time in getting to this Lodge as we wanted to go on the afternoon drive. On arrival we were given the induction and then told we had been upgraded. We then drove on to the Bush Camp and were told we had the Suite which was a short journey away. There was another induction which meant that it was then rather a rush to get to the Suite and then to get back to the Bush Camp for the Safari.

The suite was amazing but we were not really there long enough to enjoy it. The rooms opened up completely and this meant wonderful views of many more animals than listed below. The only problem with it was that we had to drive between the main lodge and the suite, which was a disadvantage after a safari and supper when we were tired. It meant we didn't freshen up after the Safari before coming in to the dining room to eat. At least two nights should be booked at this location whether you are in the Plains Camp or the Bush Camp to appreciate it and the work of the Africat Foundation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2019
"A convenient stopover on our way to the Victoria Falls. Easy to walk to from the terminal - you don't even need to go outside.

It was functional but no more. It served our purpose. Staff were helpful."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge Review - beware the baboons"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2019
"The hotel itself was well appointed with good facilities. The staff were helpful and the main rooms and dining area well decorated and well laid out. It was a short walk to the Victoria Falls and so the location was excellent.

The town of Victoria Falls has limited attractions away from the river and the Falls themselves. the hotel is surrounded by street sellers which made the walk to the Falls unpleasant and they were very persistent. Any street sellers we encountered in Namibia were always friendly and courteous and would leave you alone if you did not wish to buy. No such luck in Victoria Falls!

There was a waterhole in the grounds of the hotel and we frequently saw elephants. There was also a very persistent presence of Baboons! Never leave anything outside your room no matter which floor you are on!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"River Cruise Surprise"

24 May 2019 • All-day excursion

We were not sure what to expect from this cruise as it was part of our booking for Victoria Falls. It exceeded any expectation we might have had.

The guide and boat captain were very knowledgeable and informative. We saw hippopotami, crocodiles, amazingly beautiful lilies and a variety of bird life with wonderful plumage. Amazing flora and fauna. On the shore we saw monkeys and mongoose. Breakfast on the river not to be missed.

A real treat.
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team