This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp

Reviews of Ongava Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

145 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Tented Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

17% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

96% success

Black Rhino

78% success

Eland

44% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Sable antelope

9% success

Roan antelope

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 145
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G
Alstonville

"Good wildlife viewing here"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2018
"Good area for wildlife, particularly around the camp waterhole. Enjoyable camp environment." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

T & T
woodside

"Excellent!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2018
"This is a very intimate, quiet camp where all the tents and the main eating area look out on a water hole. The water hole provides an endless supply of animals who come to drink -- all kids of anteopes (oryx, red hartebeast, kudu, eland, Springok, waterbuck, black-faced impala came by. At dawn hundreds of silly Guinea Fowl show up. It's too much fun watching the animals directly from the deck.

One interesting thing about this camp is that you can't leave the walkways, and you can't walk from building to building at night unescorted because there's no fence. The animals are right there. For our excursion we went out and found a bunch of lions who had killed a giraffe and were eating it. We got very close to some very bloody looking lions. We met a mother white rhino and baby at a waterhole. That night a whole family of rhinos came to the waterhole and splashed around while we were eating dinner, looking like pale ghosts in the moonlight.

The next morning we went to Etosha. We saw huge masses of zebras, gnu and antelopes politely taking turns one species at a time at the waterholes, Huge bull elephants slowly approached like some huge container ship and splashed into the waterhole for a drink, all the other animals giving them a wide berth. In camp a funny fat hyrax munched on leaves in a tree, and the Monteiro's hornbills came to our table again. Way fun! Our tent was comfortable -- but it is a tent, it gets cool at night in winter, although they do put a hot water bottle in the tent which sure helps. It was fun chatting with other guests. Our guide was great." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Wonderful luxury tented camp"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2018
"We stayed 2 nights here. Upon check-in, when we had been at the lodge for 5 minutes, we saw 3 elephants & zebra at the waterhole in front of the lodge.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff & service was impeccable. Our room was pretty far from the waterhole, so they immediately switched us to the one closest to the waterhole.

There were only 1 or 2 other parties the day we checked in, so we inquired on whether we could have a jeep to ourselves for the first game drive & they asked if we wanted our own jeep, the next day as well, even though the camp was full the next day.

I fully expected to be charged extra, but they didn't, so we made sure to tip our guide Michael as if he had a full jeep both days. And Michael was amazing! We saw lions eating a giraffe within 10 minutes on our first drive & got to approach 3 rhinos on foot, maybe w/in 10 meters or so. Plus so many other sightings! The tent was very comfortable & we had a lovely time at Ongava." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs F & Mrs G
Kent

"A super camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2018
"The second of the camps we stayed in. Extremely comfortable camp with good food, excellent accommodation. All the staff were very friendly. Our guide Bono was very knowledgeable - and found white rhino for us to see. Drinking a Sundowner G&T with rhinos is something not be forgotten. Paska the Ongava manager was extremely helpful and welcoming.

The camp's waterhole is a big bonus. At breakfast we had three elephants walk across the waterhole and come very close to the camp, great fun. We flew in from the previous camp - which saves a lot of time.

Trips into Etosha National Park were good, however there are insufficient fenced off stopping places there for a coffee stop. Where we stopped had lots of rubbish piled up as well, probably because they want you to go to the main restaurant facilities.

Thoroughly recommend Ongava camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"spectacular water hole"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2018
"The room was large with a desk and armchair and great bed.
Kettle and water provided.
Plenty of wild life, on arrival while at lunch a Giraffe came to the waterhole 20 metres away.
Comfortable relaxing area.
Disharmony and unhappiness among the staff.
Our guide was good and we saw much wildlife.
We really loved Namibia." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr J
Birmingham

"Wonderful all round"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2017
"A very close second to our favourite in Namibia. The accommodation was good with indoor and outdoor showers, plenty of space inside and out but the communal areas were so good that we spent most of our time, when not on game drives, there. There were plenty of comfortable chairs under cover and outside facing the waterhole, which was regularly visited by a variety of animals. The small pool was also very welcome.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and there were nice extra touches, such as cold towels when returning from game drives, but hot towels after we were caught in the rain. The Kaluha afterwards was good too.

Game viewing was also excellent, especially the number of rhinos we saw. Good to see they have an anti poaching squad." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Horsham

"Ongava"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"Ideal location for Etosha although the game drive was better at Ongava than in Etosha.

We saw lions being chased by black rhino then saw a white rhino. The water hole was interesting and well positioned to be able to watch what was happening there while we were eating.

Good accommodation." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Paul & Nicky
Keswick

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"An absolute pleasure to stay here. You need to book well in advance; we could only get in for one night despite booking many months in advance.

An exciting, open camp, not for the faint hearted. We had lions very close to the tent and enjoyed having dinner watching two white rhinos at the camp waterhole. Excellent staff, outstanding tents with first class facilities and very good food. Out guide, Bono, was an absolute professional and of the highest calibre. We very much enjoyed the game drive on the Ongava Reserve which is so much more peaceful than Etosha.

We were taken on a game drive into Etosha, which although flush with game, it is also full to capacity with vehicles, large tour groups that are often noisy and we were disappointed with the atmosphere in Etosha. However, that is a personal view and it really reflects our desire for tranquility." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Dr A
Cleveland

"A terrific experience"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We had a great three nights at Ongava. Situated just outside the Anderson gate, within its own reserve, we were treated to game drives both within Etosha (mornings) and on their own ground (afternoons).

We saw a huge number of animals - the radio contact between drivers within Etosha meant that we saw more than we would have on our own, including a fascinating encounter between lioness and jackels over a zebra carcass.

The camp is very comfortable, with the communal area looking out over a waterhole - we saw a beautiful giraffe drinking here at sunset. Food is excellent too." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs E
Camden

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Very good, the only drawback is distance from the gate if you are visiting Etosha from here." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 145
93%
145 reviews of Ongava Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
108
27
6
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa