This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp

Reviews of Ongava Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

145 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Tented Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

17% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

96% success

Black Rhino

78% success

Eland

44% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Sable antelope

9% success

Roan antelope

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 145
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A & Mr M
London

"Wonderful game drives"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2018
"After the Desert Rhino Camp, Ongava seemed a little more formal and, although small, guest dining was not communal which perhaps added to this perception of formality. Service and food were of a high standard (again no problem about my food intolerances) and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The Tents were very well set up and equipped and it was a luxury to be able to catch up with the world after a few days without internet.

We were delighted to learn that Jason, our guide, had been trained by Enos (from Hoodia Lodge) so we knew we were in very good hands. We had three excellent game drives with Jason, two in the Ongava reserve and one in Etosha and in each drive Jason managed to lead us to lions, elephants and rhino (black and white).

One of the highlights of staying here is the waterhole so close to the communal areas so you see elephant, giraffe, white rhinos, and various buck at all times of the day and night." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs F.
Aylesbury

"Comfortable tents - very close to animals"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2018
"Exciting to be in the bush, surrounded by wildlife. To hear the lions, we'd seen at the waterhole, roaring during the night as they wandered the camp was thrilling! We also saw a group of 9 white rhinos up very close several times as well as many lions.

A good guide, prepared to listen to what we wanted to see - he spent 3 hours trying to find us elephants but failed. Later that evening an enormous bull silently appeared at the waterhole while we were having supper. Just brilliant!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr M & Mrs R
London

"Dining/lounge area/pool overlooking waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"I was amazed to see giraffe at the water hole right in front of the reception area when we arrived. A variety of animals drank there during the day.

The large dining area overlooked the water hole but otherwise it didn't have much character. It was set out with separate tables and felt like a cafeteria.

The accommodation was fine.

We stayed at the camp for access to the Etosha National Park, which was like the Kruger National Park, where you had to stay on the road to see the animals, apart from two areas where there were large water holes. There were lots of animals there, and also lots of vehicles. Since our return home we have spoken to a number of friends who have been to Etosha and all of them were disappointed with their experience there, saying that it was a bit like a UK safari park.

The camp was situated in, or had access to, a large reserve with plenty of animals, and there our guide could drive wherever he wished. The scenery there was stunning, with long golden grass, trees and wild flowers, and with dark mountains in the background." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Herts

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"A good camp and one of the best guides of the trip.

The trip to Etosha wasn't as good as the drives we had around the reserve. Etosha we thought was rather overrated." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Ongava Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"Ongava Tented Camp has a lovely traditional feel with comfortable tents and wonderful views over the busy waterhole.

We spent all but one of our drives in Ongava's private reserve to avoid the big roads and busy waterholes of Etosha. The wildlife in Ongava was plentiful and varied with fantastic sightings of White Rhino with young, including a baby only days old.

We had to drive away quickly from an angry Black Rhino and spent time with 3 prides of lions.

It was interesting to see lots of birds for the only time on the trip including several Kori Bustard." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Prof. R
Goring

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"Overall a very enjoyable visit, with some exciting drives and overall very high quality tents.

Highlights: walking up to three rhinos and having the waterhole visited late in the evening by a black rhino!

Comment: my wife very much disliked the use of margarine in various dishes - surely, butter is better!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Ongava Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"Excellent guiding by Michael, he made every effort to ensure the game drives were most enjoyable and interesting.
I paticularly liked tracking the white Rhinos on foot. The sightings everyday were plentiful.

The waterhole in front of the camp is entertaining all day (and even at night with Rhinos coming to drink).

Ongava Reserve has a lot to offer but the camp itself in my opinion could improve on their level of attention to details. I would have much preferred a verbal "knock knock" than a phone call for wake up. I found the management service level and attitude rather impersonal. " See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2018
"Our first game drive was into Etosha and the second one was on the reserve. We preferred the reserve drives because animals were not surrounded by cars.

On the reserve we saw lions and white rhino which were spectacular. Again, we could walk a short distance to the rhino, which is not possible in Etosha.

On the best waterholes, with regular visitors, including rhino!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"Another amazing wildlife encounter at Ongava "

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2018
"Our stay here was most memorable. On our afternoon safari we headed off into the bush and saw several giraffes, then proceeded to a spot where a pride of lions had killed a giraffe. Three of them had obviously had their fill and were lolling around, while the other 5, including twin cubs, where supping on the giraffe. As the lions were gainfully occupied we were able to get quite close to them to observe them.

Off we set for our sundowner, and then a bush dinner to watch the eclipse. As we arrived in the dark, at the location for our dinner, we were immediately struck by the effort staff had gone to to set up tables with white cloths, wine glasses, candles, warming fires, and yet more candles in paper bags to circle the dinner site, and we thought wow. Then the lights of our safari vehicle highlighted the two lions sitting on the banks of the dinner arena watching the proceedings! We had a short delay while staff shooed the lions away - we hoped. Next day we found out that there were actually 12 lions and of course the staff were keeping a very close eye on those lions.

Next morning our drive seemed quite mundane in comparison as we 'only' saw white rhinoceros and a few giraffes! Unfortunately we missed out on the opportunity to walk with the rhinoceros.

It is great when the guide, as our guide did here, talk to you, only when they have stopped the vehicle.

Our welcome here was warm and as we had had lunch we were offered a fruit platter. We can't remember breakfast as we were too busy watching the animals around the waterhole. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 11-20 of 145
93%
145 reviews of Ongava Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
108
27
6
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa