This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge

Reviews of Lagoon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs S
Surrey

"Shame about the road"

1 night Arrived 13 Apr 2017
"We stayed here to see the birds as it was billed as being right on the edge of the lagoon - but we were very disappointed to find the main (VERY busy !) road was between the lodge & the lagoon. We saw more birds on the previous days trip from Swakop to Sandwich Harbour - so we wished we had not stayed here but had an extra day (or 2) in Swakop.

The rooms were perfectly nice & we sat in the garden (too cold to go in the pool) - after having asked if there were any beds to use they produced some old-fashioned canvas deck-chairs.
The lodge is run by a Frenchman, who is quite a character, and his wife.

We had a lunch-time drink at the Raft, just down the road - there were lots of sea-birds flying around - but we couldnt see them because the windows were too dirty. We also had dinner there - good fish." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr B & Mrs C
Glasgow

"Probably best coffee in world!"

3 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2017
"Some bad news . I am slightly handicapped - cannot walk very far! The excellent Sabina at Expert Africa had informed all the accommodation in advance . All of the other 6 lodges had taken this in account . Here we had a back door entrance , a long walk with our luggage ( no help offered) , many steps , a small room and a doorway sized window/door to the tiny balcony.

Some good news . 'The coffee is good because it is the coffee we drink ' - said the patron in response to my compliment . He was warm , charming , interested in us as people and customers . He is the greatest asset of the loge. The roof top deck is a hidden asset . Superb location a road away from sea.

I loved the sea schemed decor in our room with the wardrobes as changing huts - brilliant . My wife hated it as OTT. Breakfast good with excellent pastries ." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Cardiff

"Good accommodation overlooking the Lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2017
"The rooms at the Lodge all overlook the lagoon and as bird watchers we spent much of our first day walking along the 5km tarmac walkway observing at close range the flamingos and other water birds. It was nice to be able to leave our vehicle behind and just walk out of the guest house and across the road.

The staff were very friendly (as was the dog) and helpful and the room was comfortable, quiet and spacious. Breakfasts were good.

There is a nice rear garden to sit in - we didn't make use of the pool." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Swindon

"Lagoon Loge"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"The interior is arty rather than practical. Bedside lights are dreadful, too bright and shine straight in ones face. But we were comfortable and service and breakfast were excellent. The local restaurants added an extra dimension to our time in Walvis Bay. We had lunch and dinner at the Raft. We thought lunch in the bistro was better than dinner in in the very crowded restaurant. The Anchor at the Walvis Bay Yacht Club we though was easily the best food of the three restaurants we tried. The Tug at Swakopmund was good but not to the same standard as the Anchor." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms Q & Mr B
USA

"Lagoon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"This European standard BnB suffers from being on the wrong side of a heavily trafficked road from the actual lagoon.

The salt mine has drastically increased production south of town so that during daylight hours there is a steady stream of large lorries plying the road less then 40 meters from the front door of the rooms. The owners are lovely, friendly people and provide conscientious cleaning and breakfast service. The pool and garden, while small, are maintained to a a very high standard as are the rooms themselves.

Comfortable beds and well stocked toiletries are nice touches.

Whilst in Walvis Bay these travellers enjoyed a kayaking excursion to Pelican Point; here's what they said about it:
Interesting way to see the huge colony of seals. Started with an enjoyable drive with commentary by Jeanne Mientjes the tour leader.

The kayaking itself is not an adventure outing, very suitable for people with no experience in a kayak whatsoever. the attraction of course is to be so close as to be able to touch the frolicking young seals while observing the behavior of the adults on the beach. It was all worthwhile.

Jeanne provided suitable water protection gear with nice (but probably unnecessary!) snacks. Best of all she sent us all pictures she snapped of ourselves in the kayaks with the seals.

They also enjoyed a guided day trip to Sandwich Harbour; here's what they said about that:
Our tour was led by Bruno Nebar, the world famous wildlife biologist and rhino breeder. We were unaware of his fame until almost the end of the trip but by then we were not surprised given the knowledge he flooded us with over the course of the day.

Our trip was very fun, as it was a small group of just 6 of us, including two Expert Africa employees, and the whole group was pleasant and appreciative of the overall experience. From the morning drive to Sandwich Harbor racing against the tide to follow the beach we never had a dull moment. Bruno shared so much information about plants, history, wildlife, weather, local mining industry, that it took me 6 pages of notes at the end of the day just to capture the highlights.

We had some difficulties getting up the dunes, Bruno had to take several runs at the main exit route but between his attitude and everyone else on the trip we all ended up enjoying ourselves immensely. Bruno's demeanor actually helped keep me calm, despite my tendency to fear of heights and car sickness, and in hindsight it was probably a much scarier outing then I realized while participating in it." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr H
Michigan

"Lagoon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G
Herts

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2016
"A true B & B. Fine position on sea front. Good breakfast.

Good recommendations for evening meals.

Best meal on trip at Anchorage (once found). Excellent sea food." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Expedition flag
USA

"great location for walvis bay and kayak trip"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2016
"check in opens at 14:00 (strictly enforced), spacious room" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"Lagoon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2016
"There are pros and cons staying at Lagoon Loge. It's a 20 minute walk to the nearest restaurant (The Raft) and the many salt lorries passing are noisy (although they didn't work on the weekend). An additional irritation was that the cleaners moved everything around each day and I was very concerned that I might leave something behind because it had been moved out of sight. This is offset by the wonderful view from the room of the pelicans and flamingos in the lagoon and the excellent breakfast (we recommend the pancakes).

If you want to canoe with the seals in the lagoon or go to Sandwich Harbour then it's much better to stay in Walvis Bay than Swakopmund." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms L
Leeds

"Good location opposite the flamingos"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"We were glad to stay in Walvis Bay rather then Swakopmund. We found Walvis Bay a place where ordinary locals stayed rather then a tourist town and we liked that. The location couldn't have been better as it is right opposite the flamingos which is why we stayed there.

We ate at The Raft and had a lovely meal with views over the water and a good beer. Our sea kayaking trip was really good value and excellent. We paddled round the water playing with the young seals and our guide was great fun and very helpful.

We organised a Pelican Point Kayaking trip for these travellers whilst they were here, they commented:

A wonderful experience. I was a bit concerned that at 68 and with two hip replacements I might find this difficult but that just wasn't the case. The guides were very helpful and made sure I could get in and out of the canoe easily. The location is remote and mysterious and just being there was wonderful. Paddling round the young seals was really fun and they were as curious as we were. Definitely worth it." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 47
90%
47 reviews of Lagoon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
12
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa